We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection! (but with an asterisk)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3401 NW Lejeune Road, Miami, FL 33142-5628   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 130 Hotels in Miami
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Perfection! (but with an asterisk)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Please note my overall rating is entirely based on my personal expectations of what a 'bargain' hotel is supposed to offer. This location exceeded ALL expectations in that regard. Thanks Red Roof Miami!!

I arrived on 2/22/14, in the evening, and I found the inn very easy to locate, even in the dark. Front desk host David was quick and accurate with every step of the check-in process, and offered assistance for any additional questions. My 4th floor room was closest to the elevator and facing the airport runways. My initial concern was quickly a non-issue, as my room was quiet and my sleep (on a comfy bed) was excellent. The upgraded room was a HUGE improvement of some other RRI locations, and it provided me with everything I needed, and all was in good working order.

The neighboring restaurant (former Bennigans) cooked up some delicious wings for an enjoyable late night dinner. Nothing about the immediate area felt unsafe to me.

I got up early and visited a nearly empty breakfast room. It was properly stocked, and the few items offered were rather tasty. At no time did I ever see anyone looking for a seat. It was now time to head to the airport (I booked park/fly package) and Genesis made the check-out process fun with her personality. The was also a manager there who seemed pleased that I seemed pleased. Everyone I encountered at the desk spoke perfectly clear English, and had a smile on their face. The shuttle was quickly available and the short trip to MIA was easy easy. My car was parked in their gated lot, and I had very minimal concern about leaving it there. Again, this location had met or surpassed all expectations, so I readily offer it the highest rating.

Now, upon my return to Miami I encountered some challenges with return shuttle connection (prior to Noon). I was skipped by one as the driver apparently didn't know where to look for me. After 30 mins, I frantically flagged down the next one and ran to catch up to it. Challenge overcome! The ride was smooth with a safe driver. Upon arrival at the hotel, I requested some driving instructions from Sergio, who not only accurately answered my question, but grabbed a piece of paper and drew me a map. Great guest service impression!

I'm returning here two more times this year, and will look forward to the repeat experience. I might even try to request the same room assignment. This review is about my experience ONLY, but I have zero concern with advising others they should stay here. Thanks, again, RRI Miami. Well done!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Sergio, David and Genesi will be happy to read your comments, they work very hard to satisfy our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and service, and that the hotel's location was ideal for you. Since we are the first hotel off the airport ramp it is easily accessible. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Thanks again.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    463
    302
    91
    96
See reviews for
401
259
98
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel was very clean and nicely decorated but our room was a little shabby--cracked plaster and rusty pipes around the AC. The staff, however, was extremely helpful. Skip the "breakfast": stale pastries and bagels and rotten oranges. Ick.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience, We are very happy you find our hotel to be clean and our staff to be friendly and helpful. We took note of the AC area and it has already been replaced. I see our convenient location close to the airport and all the major highways was important to you. It is really easy to get to all the shopping areas, downtown Miami, the American Airlines Arena and South Beach. Thank you for staying with us, we enjoyed serving you. Hope to see you on your next trip to Miami.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed here for a month and was very happy with the accommodation and extremely helpful front office staff genesis , nora, and kessia. They were very professional and always went an extra mile to ensure my stay was delightful. I would definitely recommend anyone visiting Miami to stay at the red roof inn.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed here because after a cruise, we couldn't get a flight home that same day. So, I spent one full day here and 1 night. The rooms have been updated with hardwood floors and granite countertops. for the price, it was a decent place to stay. the walls are thin and there was a lot of noise throughout the night. i noticed some stains on the walls and headboards which grossed me out, but the bedding was fresh and clean. the bathroom is somewhat updated, and clean. the pool is lovely, and we spent most of the day there. Genesis at the front desk is a lovely, helpful girl and this hotel is lucky to have her!

**Note - they are VERY close to the airport and planes fly over loudly every few minutes. It didn't seem to bother us at all in the room, but out by the pool and outside, it is deafening.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks for submitting a review, we are delighted that you liked our newly renovated hotel with free Wifi, boutique like furnishings and outdoor pool. I see you had a chance to spend some time at our pool before you left us, hope it was warm and to your liking. Genesis will be happy to read your comments, she surely brings something special to the team. We hope you will think of us when next you visit Miami, it was pleasure serving you.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The best bedroom is on the first floor near the parking behind of the principal room.
There's a good bed and a good bathroom.. I was there on November 3th 2012 with my dad. We've there to 2 nights and on the last one we've use the shuttle to Airport it's a big diference when you need to get the hotel during the night at 4 am with your bags.

Room Tip: The best bedroom is on the first floor near the parking behind of the principal room. There's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Google Translation
Obrigado por nos enviar um comentário sobre a nossa propriedade. Nós estamos felizes que você gostou nossos novos quartos e nosso pessoal de serviço. Ficamos felizes em atendê-lo e ansioso para vê-lo na próxima vez que você visita Miami.Thank você.
banheiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here the night before our cruise on Jan31 2014. Check in was no problem at all. The rooms were very well presented. I would prefer more hotels getting rid of carpet and putting in hardwood/laminate. Very satisfied with the room. We couldn't hear any airplanes at all. The morning is very chaotic however, but I anticipated it because of all the reviews. I imagine it is like this on most weekends because of all the cruisers. I simply grabbed a tray, put my oranges, muffins and bagels with cream chesse on it, grabbed a few to go coffees and we all had a quick little breakfast poolside. We opted out of waiting for the shuttle. We got a taxi to the port for under $40 and were on the boat by 1030. We will stay here again for sure next time we are down.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience, we are very happy you liked our new look with hardwood floors, flat screen TVs and Serta Comfort bedding. Our double sided windows keep the sound of the airplanes to a minimum affording you a good night's sleep. I see you sampled our continental breakfast by the poolside away from the crowds. Sorry you did not get a chance to use our one-way complimentary shuttle to the Port of Miami. Thanks again for your recommendation and we hope to see you the next time you visit Miami.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We saw every other shuttle bus pass by the "Arrivals" area at least twice before calling the hotel and were told the driver would be there in 10 minutes. Another 30 minutes go by and another 4 rounds from every other hotel chain you could think of, so I called again and get the same story from a man this time.. and the driver must have stopped for gas. I called Otel.com to see what their refund policy is because after 15 hours at airports crossing the country, we just want a room to sleep in. Due to the fact "Free shuttle from airport" is not listed in their services on Otel's web site, there would be no refund. We waited just over 1 HOUR for our shuttle bus and upon arrival, which took less than 10 minutes, the girl training not sure what she can do for us, the manager working next to her finally says to upgrade us to the King room rather than putting us in 2 double beds. Much appreciated, but I would pay more for a better run hotel! Fluke? Maybe, but this hotel won't ever get my business again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are sorry that you had to wait 30 minutes for the shuttle bus. It leaves the hotel every half hour on the hour. Even though we are only 5 minutes form the airport we do experience rare circumstantial delays. Otherwise it goes around clockwork every half an hour. We thank you for choosing our hotel where we are located closest to all major highways and the first property off the north airport ramp, offering free wifi and transportation to the port of Miami. Hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport

Address: 3401 NW Lejeune Road, Miami, FL 33142-5628
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;