We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport to your Saves list
Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3401 NW Lejeune Road, Miami, FL 33142-5628   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

When we booked this hotel, we were already a bit suspicious because there were so many good reviews from people with only 1 or 2 reviews. We generally only trust those if they give 1 star. If only we had listened to our intuition.

Pros:
- Clean

Cons:
- Check-in was very unfriendly and unhelpful. After giving our room key, the girl at the reception turned away to her computer. We asked how to open the parking gate and after several seconds she answers while looking at us with an "are you stupid"-face and immediately turned back to her computer. We figured we'd find the answers in our room since most hotels have an explanatory map, but there was nothing.
- Breakfast was a joke. Not just because there was such a small selection of food (bagels, apples, bread and rolls), but mainly because there were only 6 tables for 200 (!) rooms. Outside there were 5 more tables, but then you had to deal with the thundering airplanes and smokers. Needless to say, finding a spot to sit was impossible.
- Internet was horrible. We tried booking a hotel for Orlando, but managed to load only a couple of pages in an hour.
- You couldn't make coffee in your room. This wouldn't have been so bad if you could get hot coffee from the lobby, but they only refresh it during breakfast. Considering this is an airport hotel, you'd expect hot coffee to be available 24/7. There was also no fridge or microwave.
- The A/C works with cool/warm instead of the temperature itself. It was hard getting the right temperature.
- The sound of the airplanes is somewhat lessened in the room, but it's loud enough to wake you up every now and again if a plane flies by closeby (and we're not light sleepers).

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review on our hotel. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are also delighted that you found our hotel to be clean. I would also like to apologize for your check in experience. We will take this as an opportunity to retrain the check-in personnel and to ensure that coffee is coffee is refreshed on a timely basis throughout the day. We will also add the gate access instructions to the Map located on the front desk countertop. For future references, we also offer specific room types that come with In-Room Coffee Service, Microwave and Micro-refrigerators. Thanks for your observation on the airplanes our double windows are effective in minimizing sounds. We trust that we have addressed your concerns and hope to see you on your next visit to Miami.
Thank you.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    494
    347
    107
    106
See reviews for
442
288
107
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Excellent property, clean and great service.
Free airport shuttle.
Free wifi, breakfast.
Free shuttle to port of Miami .
Will always visit them for my next time in Miami, it is great value for the price you pay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience here. We are delighted that you enjoyed our new rooms with boutiques style furnishings, spa inspired bathrooms, free wifi and our complimentary shuttle service to the Port of Miami. We truly enjoyed serving you and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My first time in miami before going in a cruise. Wil stay here next year and the rest of my friends agree with me. Thank you Nora for all your help. Breakfast was
Good and the free shuttle to the port of Miami super convinience. Good for Miami property.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks for your comments regarding our hotel. We are very happy that you liked our new rooms and services. I have shared your comments with Nora and the rest of our service staff. Hope you had a wonderful cruise and we look forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

A very nice experience, clean rooms, John the Manager was help profesional and I would like to thank Miss Nora, she made my stay pleasent. the locación and billingual staff is great guest aleáis deserve a service like this

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks very much for submitting a review on our services. We are delighted that you were able to communicate effectively while you visited with us. We do have a diverse group of personnel with the capapbility to serve guests from all over. I will share your comments with Nora. We enjoyed serving you and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Miami area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. Nice staff and very convinience. You can ask bilingual staff all you need, during our chek in there were a lot people speakiing in spanish and is very nice :))))) just stay with them

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are very pleased that you liked our newly renovated hotel with new rooms and the services of our multi-lingual staff. Nora will be delighted to hear your c omments. Please do not hesitate to call us on your next visit to the Miami area. We look forward to hosting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Friendly front desk staff greeted us for our recent stay this August. Despite the proximity to the airport, what sounds we did hear in our room were very muted. The property is well maintained and up to date. Our room was comfortable; slightly above from what you might expect in this price point in Miami. As we have a daughter in school in Miami, we will very likely return many times.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0255, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you very much for submitting a review on our hotel. We are delighted that you liked the cleanliness and location of the property. Our staff takes great pride in maintaining our newly renovated hotel with boutique style furnishings and spa like bathrooms. As we are so close to the airport we have installed double sound-proofed windows to ensure all our guests have a good night sleep. We would like to wish your daughter all the best in school and we hope to see you when next you visit her.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport

Address: 3401 NW Lejeune Road, Miami, FL 33142-5628
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Miami Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.