We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean room, nice staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Miami Airport

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Miami Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Miami Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5301 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #90 of 130 Hotels in Miami
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“clean room, nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Average standard of Comfort Inn. The room doesn't have microwave inside though. But good price bc we were staying there for the New Year's Eve, and pretty close to the airport.
We didn't get the breakfast bc they started late on Jan 1st, which makes sense, it's a holiday anyways.
Other than that, clean room and nice staff, 24 hour hot water and coffee in the lobby.
The parking area is big, and it means you might walk a little bit from your car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    88
    101
    56
    67
See reviews for
103
96
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Booked through travel site, so we got a decent rate for two nights over New Years weekend. Having been deployed to Iraq for a year makes you appreciate just having clean sheets, a clean functioning bathroom and polite, professional staff. All of which we found here. Only reason I gave them an average rating was the bait and switch they pulled when the manager commented on the "low" rate we paid.

As we discovered, we got put into the older, shabby side of the hotel. There were stains on all the furniture and carpets, even those in the halls. A pile of wiring, including a huge power strip under the night standand little hairballs in the corners of the bathroom.

But the bedding was clean and comfy, the shower was clean and everything worked.

Blessed is civilized life.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I am a retired Flight Attendant so I have stayed in hundreds if not thousands of hotels around the world and this hotel will go down as one of the top 3 WORST hotels I have ever stayed in. It was dirty, seedy, and the staff were rude and abrupt. If I did not know better I would have thought we were in a third world country and not the USA. The bath tub was so dirty I would not use it. The carpets were so filthy we would not take our shoes off. There was old sugar packets and straws in the corner of our room from the in room coffee. The sheets were dirty and torn. Everything was falling apart. This hotel needs a major renovation, although I think I would just implode it and start over. The area where it's located is very seedy and some of the persons hanging around the lobby were just plain scary.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here, stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel is in bad need of a complete overhaul. Our stay was a pre-cruise overnight stay and we were looking for a free airport shuttle and they had a shuttle($10.00) to the Port of Miami. The Airport and Port shuttles were ok. The hotel is dirty, old and smelly. The staff where nice and upgrade us to a suite, we had not ask they just did it of whatever. The term” suite” didn’t mean much just more dirty space. There were people hanging around the lobby that didn’t seem to be staying there. I wouldn’t have my wife go down stairs by herself. We have stayed in a lot of hotels and this is an older “ 1 star” hotel. If you pay more than $50-$65 for this hotel you just got taken, also expect it to be dirty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff by the Sea, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

First thing this morning when i walked in the bathroom a huge cockroach walked over my foot! Traumatic! American airlines put us here when our flight was canceled unfortunately! Should have known from the dirty shuttle the hotel would also be filthy! Very outdated and the bathroom reeked of mildew! Gross! Don't normally review but wanted to warn you all!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived in Florida early and decided to upgrade our first night stay. We did use points so it was affordable. The room were large but carpet was dirty stains all over. Bed was good. The breakfast area was way over crowded and if we hadn't tool this on points wanted $8.95 per person which the meal wasn't worth. Pool area and fitness area was nice. Wouldn't pay to stay there the area around we not a nice looking area although we didn't have nor hear of any problems.

Room Tip: Wouldn't stay there cheaper better kept places near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were forced to stay here because of a cancelled flight and this was the cheapest hotel we could find that offered an airport shuttle at 4 am. You certainly get what you pay for, but usually Comfort Inns or Suites are much nicer than this dump, In fact, last year we stayed just a few blocks down the road at the brand new Comfort Suites on Minola Drive, which is like a palace compared to this place. STAY AT THE COMFORT SUITES ON MINOLA DRIVE - DO YOURSELF A FAVOR!!
I feel badly for anyone who books this hotel for their stay in the Miami area because this hotel does not do Miami justice. First of all it is an airport hotel, so it's not in the best location - very busy road. It appears to be undergoing a renovation yet there were none of the typical signs "please excuse our appearane while we are renovating". The lobby doors were blocked off with yellow tape because the driveway was being repaved, but the lack of curb appeal made this tape look more like a murder scene! The entrance had cigarette butts, trash and the doors and windows looked as if they hadn't been cleaned in years. There were shady characters milling about and it gave us a very unsafe feeling. When you walk in there is a very odd restaurant and our only thought was "who the heck would eat there" - and why is there a restaurant in a Comfort Inn. The lobby was right out of 1960 - dust inclulded! There are renovated rooms and non-renovated rooms, so of course, we requested a renovated room. The room was surprisingly quite large with a flat screen tv, and ok furniture. The carpet appeared new as did the bedding. But, the bathroom was barely big enough for one person to fit in. Not good for an airport hotel when family are usually rushing to catch a flight.
The doors don't close correctly which lets in lot of hallway light and NOISE! Why do people insist on slamming their hotel room door? Do they slam doors at home? And why do people feel the need to carry on a lenghty conversation in a hotel hallway?
But the biggest problem was with the rollaway bed we requested. It had to be the very first rollaway be ever made! The springs were all poking through and when you sat on it the entire thing caved into the floor. I seriously thought I was on Candid Camera! What a nightmare.
There are way too many better choices than to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Miami Airport

Address: 5301 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 130 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Miami Airport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Miami Airport
Comfort Inn & Suites Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Comfort Inn Hotel Miami
Comfort Inn Miami Airport
Miami Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Suite Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;