We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the place to Stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Miami Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn & Suites Miami Airport to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites Miami Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5301 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #89 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Tijeras, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not the place to Stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel is in bad need of a complete overhaul. Our stay was a pre-cruise overnight stay and we were looking for a free airport shuttle and they had a shuttle($10.00) to the Port of Miami. The Airport and Port shuttles were ok. The hotel is dirty, old and smelly. The staff where nice and upgrade us to a suite, we had not ask they just did it of whatever. The term” suite” didn’t mean much just more dirty space. There were people hanging around the lobby that didn’t seem to be staying there. I wouldn’t have my wife go down stairs by herself. We have stayed in a lot of hotels and this is an older “ 1 star” hotel. If you pay more than $50-$65 for this hotel you just got taken, also expect it to be dirty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    92
    104
    58
    67
See reviews for
106
99
31
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff by the Sea, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

First thing this morning when i walked in the bathroom a huge cockroach walked over my foot! Traumatic! American airlines put us here when our flight was canceled unfortunately! Should have known from the dirty shuttle the hotel would also be filthy! Very outdated and the bathroom reeked of mildew! Gross! Don't normally review but wanted to warn you all!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived in Florida early and decided to upgrade our first night stay. We did use points so it was affordable. The room were large but carpet was dirty stains all over. Bed was good. The breakfast area was way over crowded and if we hadn't tool this on points wanted $8.95 per person which the meal wasn't worth. Pool area and fitness area was nice. Wouldn't pay to stay there the area around we not a nice looking area although we didn't have nor hear of any problems.

Room Tip: Wouldn't stay there cheaper better kept places near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were forced to stay here because of a cancelled flight and this was the cheapest hotel we could find that offered an airport shuttle at 4 am. You certainly get what you pay for, but usually Comfort Inns or Suites are much nicer than this dump, In fact, last year we stayed just a few blocks down the road at the brand new Comfort Suites on Minola Drive, which is like a palace compared to this place. STAY AT THE COMFORT SUITES ON MINOLA DRIVE - DO YOURSELF A FAVOR!!
I feel badly for anyone who books this hotel for their stay in the Miami area because this hotel does not do Miami justice. First of all it is an airport hotel, so it's not in the best location - very busy road. It appears to be undergoing a renovation yet there were none of the typical signs "please excuse our appearane while we are renovating". The lobby doors were blocked off with yellow tape because the driveway was being repaved, but the lack of curb appeal made this tape look more like a murder scene! The entrance had cigarette butts, trash and the doors and windows looked as if they hadn't been cleaned in years. There were shady characters milling about and it gave us a very unsafe feeling. When you walk in there is a very odd restaurant and our only thought was "who the heck would eat there" - and why is there a restaurant in a Comfort Inn. The lobby was right out of 1960 - dust inclulded! There are renovated rooms and non-renovated rooms, so of course, we requested a renovated room. The room was surprisingly quite large with a flat screen tv, and ok furniture. The carpet appeared new as did the bedding. But, the bathroom was barely big enough for one person to fit in. Not good for an airport hotel when family are usually rushing to catch a flight.
The doors don't close correctly which lets in lot of hallway light and NOISE! Why do people insist on slamming their hotel room door? Do they slam doors at home? And why do people feel the need to carry on a lenghty conversation in a hotel hallway?
But the biggest problem was with the rollaway bed we requested. It had to be the very first rollaway be ever made! The springs were all poking through and when you sat on it the entire thing caved into the floor. I seriously thought I was on Candid Camera! What a nightmare.
There are way too many better choices than to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The beds are good and the bathroom looks new, but there were coins on the floor of the room (nobody cleaned it ?), hair in the shower, and we had some problems with noise : the fridge was disconnected when we arrived, so we plugged it in, just to find out that it made a terrible noise (that´s probably why it was off). So we plugged it out again before going to bed, and then... we found out that the ac was veeery noisy as well, and that one we could not turn off because it was very hot. So I woke up many times during the night !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here from 1st - 3rd November 2012 in Room 1107.

A cracking view of Miami International Airport with very little or no airport noise to bother you, it was a clean spacious room, free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast included.

Staff at reception desk, Stephanie and Betty were very efficient and friendly.

There is a petrol station virtually next door that sells drinks, beer and snacks, there is also a Chinese Restaurant next door (Not tried) plus a five minute walk away heading East is Toms Sports Bar and Diner ... good value food and drink plus several TV's showing various sports.

A very enjoyable stay, especially for the aviation enthusiast and I will stay here again ...

Room Tip: If you want to watch the aircraft, Room 1101 to 1109 look the best rooms to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel has seen its best days. We came late and got a rather big room on the 5th floor. There was free WiFi and that was positive. As our bus shuttle to the airport left the hotel 6 o'clock in the morning we asked for some breakfast but they open 6' o'clock and not a minute earlier. Bad sevice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites Miami Airport

Address: 5301 NW 36th Street, Miami, FL 33166 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Inn & Suites Miami Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Miami Airport Hotel Miami
Comfort Inn And Suites Miami Airport
Comfort Inn Hotel Miami
Comfort Inn Miami Airport
Miami Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Suite Miami Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.