We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Technology impaired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11520 SW 88th St, Miami, FL 33176   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #49 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Technology impaired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Typical Holiday Inn Express (My favorite brand) in most ways. Good location if you want to be in Kendall. One exception, no USB plugs in room or available at the front desk. Surpising since there is a very nice desk and two ethernet plugs in my room. Spending my evening charging my phone on the public computer. The poor on cleanliness is only due to the dusty keyboard I am currently enjoying rather than my nice room. The hotel is ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel during your recent stay with us. We do appreciate you using the Holiday Inn Express brand as you mentioned it to be your favorite. As well thank you for your comments regarding our Kendall location. I do apologize that we did not have a USB plug readily available for you. However as promised, we did have a solution for you the very next morning although you did not need the option when I spoke to you directly. We will use your comments as a possible way to improve our technology offerings going forward. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again on your next trip into the Kendall area. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    52
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
28
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This property is nicely located, but it needs some TLC. Compared to other hotels we have stayed in recently, we noticed the lack of thoughtful lighting and availability of electrical outlets. One very important thing is we judged it to be clean and the bed was comfortable.

Our room layout was a little strange. One good thing was a sofa bed and tv toward the door and a nice desk and bar area with microwave and mini-fridge. The bathroom was near the bed and separated into tub/shower and toilet plus a vanity area and closet. If you sit on the sofa bed, you look left and there is the toilet, so you really need to keep that door shut and that makes it very claustrophobic.

It is very well located for someone visiting the area and not wanting to stay in the city.

The included breakfast was okay, but not really up to what we have experienced in other hotels recently.

Let's hope management does a renovation soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We always appreciate when our customers take their time to let us know their opinions and how their stay was while with us. We are happy that you found our hotel to be clean, comfortable and in a good location. We will be making upgrades to our breakfast bar offerings very soon. I am sure you will find the changes and additions to your liking. Once again thank you for your comments and we hope that you will visit us again when you are in the Miami area. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked this hotel through Expedia bases on rates & price. The location is nice and quiet and there are a McDonalds and a Red Lobster conveniently right next door but the hotel itself is nothing special and needs a facelift. The mattresses in our room (2 Queen size bedroom) bend in the middle and although I still love my wife after all these years, I care for my own space in bed which we missed 'cause we kept ending up in the middle. The bathroom has had it's best time too although one can not say that it's in bad shape. Breakfast was nothing special but okay. Would I come back? Probably not.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your time in letting us know about your stay. We are glad that you found our location to be nice and quiet. However I do apologize that you did not get leave us with better thoughts of our hotel. We strive daily to treat each and every guest as we would our family to try and leave everyone with a lasting impression of our excellent customer service. Obviously based on your comments we failed to do this during your stay. Your comments will be brought to each department's attention so they can be used as a learning tool. I thought you would like to know that we will be enhancing and improving our breakfast across the nation as an entire brand. There will be more and healthier options available on a daily basis. You should see this done at all Holiday Inn Express hotels very soon. Once again thank you for your comments and we hope that you will be willing to give us a try again to see our improvements. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We used this hotel as a stopping place between Orlando and Key West. It is an all suite hotel and our room was well equipped with a fridge, microwave oven and a table you could eat at. The room decor was really up to date and everywhere was spotless. Next door was a Red Lobster that you could walk to.
The breakfast was excellent with two hot items and of course their famous cinnamon roll

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel during your most recent stay. We do appreciate you taking your personal time to let us know how everything went. We are very glad that you found the location of our hotel convenient to your trip and other needs you had. Your comments regarding our cleanliness and breakfast will be passed on to the departments in charge of those areas. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights recently and thought the hotel was very clean, rooms nice and roomy, and the staff, especially Brian was quite helpful. He gave us several good choices for eating. My only problem was that we were traveling with our young grandchildren and would have preferred queen beds instead of double, but that's my fault for not checking on that when I made reservations. Breakfast was normal fare, but quite good.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your hotel review regarding your recent stay with us in March. We so appreciate your complimentary comments about our cleanliness, accommodations, breakfast and staff. I will definitely pass on your comments, especially to Brian since you took the time to recognize him specifically for his service. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon on your next trip to the Miami area. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

reception just tells you the necessary things he should say, no more words; same as the room, just a place to stay, feel very basic. you cannot say anything wrong or bad, but just not comfortable.
good thing is nearby there are restaurants and Mcdanold, and it just located by the highway, no traffic jam.
probably will not come again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. We appreciate you taking your personal time in doing so. I am glad that you did not find anything negative regarding our hotel but it seems as though we did not take the opportunity to leave you with a positive lasting impression. We do strive to provide excellent customer service and I apologize to you that we did not do anything over and beyond to create that feeling while you were with us. We do hope that you will consider us again in the future as we would love to show you that this was the exception rather than our normal rule. Once again thank you for your review. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Enter the property between the MacDonalds and the Red Lobster. It's a good location; many restaurants are nearby. The room had a spacious and comfortable sitting area, but it was very poorly lit, making it difficult to read. The carpet was stained. We had a large mini-fridge (no freezer), a small microwave, and a TV that swiveled between the sitting area and the bed area. I noticed a constant whining sound during part of our stay, but I could not locate the source. Eventually it stopped. The air conditioner was effective but noisy and woke me up in the night. The toilet/shower room had a loud fan and a loud flush. The sink was outside the toilet/shower room, and it was also dimly lit, so I had to put on makeup by the window. The sink was sluggish. The bed was comfortable but sagged a bit. The showerhead was good, but the shower made puddles on the floor despite our best efforts. We used the guest laundry for $2 per wash or dry load. Breakfast was decent but not great: carb heavy, with processed hot items, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, etc. It could benefit from some peanut butter and some hot oatmeal. James at the front desk was very helpful in locating a used bookstore for us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. We appreciate all your detailed comments. We are encouraged by your positive comments however we do see opportunities where we can do better in the future. I will pass all of your comments on to the departments involved so then can be reviewed and used both positively and constructively. I am very glad that you recognized James and that he was able to assist you personally. Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami

Address: 11520 SW 88th St, Miami, FL 33176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kendall East Miami. The beautiful Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kendall East Miami is located in Kendall, FL and is an all-suite 100% non-smoking hotel, conveniently located one-quarter mile off the Florida Turnpike at Kendall Drive/SW 88th Street, 30 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and three miles from the Kendall-Tamiami Airport. With the newly renovated Dadeland Mall just ten minutes to the east of our hotel and Kendall Town & Country Center just across the street, plus numerous restaurants within walking distance, our hotel provides the best value for your dollar. Families will love staying at our all-suite Miami-Kendall hotel. Our favorable location offers easy access to popular Miami attractions, including the Miami Metro Zoo, the Miami Seaquarium, Jungle Island, South Beach Art Deco District and Homestead Miami Speedway. Business travelers will find that our all-suite hotel, located in southwestern Miami, provides them with access to numerous companies, such as Federal Express, the University of Miami, Assurant Group, Baptist Health South Florida and Beckman Coulter, Inc.You will enjoy our Kendall hotel amenities, including free high-speed Internet access, an outdoor pool, a well-equipped fitness center and our free Express Start breakfast buffet. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kendall East Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Kendall East Miami
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Express Miami
Amerisuites Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.