We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11520 SW 88th St, Miami, FL 33176   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #48 of 130 hotels in Miami
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The price was what first attracted us to this hotel as it was one of the cheapest we could find for the area at this time of year. A taxi from the airport was about $45, so not too bad. Upon arrival the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was nice with 2 double beds (although they seemed a little on the small side) and a couch. The Wi-Fi was fine in the room which was of great importance to us, in general the room was clean and well maintained with a microwave, coffee maker and fridge all included.
The best thing about this place was probably the location. It is located just across the road from all manner of eateries so you wont go hungry, however if you opt to eat in, the breakfast provided in the hotel is of a good standard and includes a few different cereals, various things to toast, yogurts, muffins, pancakes, sausage burgers and eggs and a variety of hot and cold drinks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing and reviewing our hotel. We are glad that we were able to provide everything that you needed during your stay with us. Our Kendall location is defintely convienent to everything in Miami and the one thing that the area does not lack is restaurants. Kendall offers almost everyt cruisine that you could think of plus more is being built to give you even more options. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    48
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
25
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I travel to the east coast of Florida at several times a year with a high-school sports team, so I am always searching for the right balance of cost, queen beds (for sharing), maximum guests per room, safety, breakfast quality and proximity to the sports event. Miami is a high-cost area with questionable safety in certain parts of the city (like every major city) and I try to stay within 10 miles of the venue (in this case, Ransom Everglades School).

This hotel was an excellent find and I very much appreciate the other reviews that helped me choose it. It's quite difficult to compare to other hotels because most of them (where the other teams were all staying) were over $200/night, and we paid $135 for each room, I was unable to find any decent, reasonable hotels (over 2 stars) that had queens, so I had to settle for doubles wherever I chose to stay.

I was concerned about parking with our trailer, but even pulling in after 9pm, found a nice space directly under the lighting in the rear parking lot behind the hotel. I felt safe enough to let the kids loose to eat dinner on their own (although they all opted for the McD's in the front parking lot). I felt safe enough to walk by myself across the street to the restaurant recommended by the desk clerk, Brian, and La Carreta is excellent (Cuban). There were quite a few choices within walking distance (no desire to drive after coming from the west coast) but I wanted very close since it was very late. I was really nice to be greeted with token gift bags upon arrival with my Priority Club card (free bottle of water - yay! Cheetos - well, the teens liked them.)

The rooms were quite large, with a separated sitting area with a pullout sofa and a nice work desk and comfy desk chair. I really, really like having somewhere to sit other than on the bed, so this was a treat. I was too tired to try the WiFi however. Also inside were a wet bar area with sink, fridge and microwave, a very large wide screen TV that could be turned to view from the sitting area or the beds, and clean bathrooms.

My king-bed room was right next to the elevator, and I've had bad experiences in other hotels with this location, but it was no problem at all. And, bonus, we could actually use the stairs to go up and down instead of having to wait for the elevator - another plus for me in any hotel.

Breakfast was excellent (although the pancake machine didn't work, which I didn't care about) - good eggs, bacon, various breads, fresh cinnamon rolls, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, fruit, instant oatmeal, coffee, tea, hot chocolate. Of course, I ate Cuban leftovers for breakfast, but the teenaged boys were quite satisfied with the selection.

**Note: The hotel is behind the McD's and Red Lobster. Heading east, the driveway to the hotel is past Red Lobster, between the tall McD's street sign and the restaurant building, so it sort of feels like you're pulling into the McD's - but you're not.

Also, at the end of the day, one of the boys realized that he had probably left his iPod Touch in his room - so we called Brian (who happened to be on duty again) who called Housekeeping, and promptly called me back to report that they hadn't found anything. We were about to head out on Alligator Alley when he called me back again to tell me that Housekeeping had gone back in for another look and found it! So thank you, Brian and Housekeeping!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking your personal time to let us and others know about your experience while staying with us. I am glad that previous reviews of our property helped you decide to stay with us and we hope that your review does the same for others. I have passed your comments and thanks on to Brian and our housekeeping department. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon in the future.
Sincerely,
Brian E. Rubine, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Disclaimer: I am comparing this property to the Hampton in Coconut Grove, which is a high bar to exceed.

Have stayed here twice when business too me a bit further southwest in Miami. Looked forward to a great stay based on other reviews. But that hasn't been my experience.

Rooms are small, housekeeping so-so, and noise is a major issue. Garbage trucks arrive in the wee hours to service dumpsters at nearby restaurants and I've been awakened during both of my stays.

Breakfast selection is only fair if you prefer healthier options. If you like gooey, sweet stuff you'll be very happy!

On the plus side, staff is ver nice, fitness facility is fine and location is good with several restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you want a great meal, try Secreto, an Italian restaurant within a few minutes by foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your time in doing so. We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expected standards. We do our best to surpass expectations for each and every guest. Your comments pointed our opportunities where we have a chance to do better in the future. However we are glad that you found our location and staff convenient and friendly. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The location is a bit hard to find since it is not right on 88th Street and is hidden back behind a few franchise restaurants. But, the hotel itself is better than most Holiday Inn Express hotels. Good outdoor presentation with tropical landscaping, good rooms, quiet (since it is off the street), ...but a typical HI Express breakfast. BTW...for dinner skip the franchise restaurants and ask the hotel staff about nearby local restaurants (like La Carreta, a local Cuban restaurant). Overall a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate when a guest takes their personal time to let us and everyone else know how their stay with us was. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our unique hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again very soon.
Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We flew into Miami on our way to the Keys and stopped here for a night. Great hotel. Very courteous staff at check in. Great room, very clean, plenty big. Good location--near many stores and restaurants. Staff gave great recommendation for nearby restaurants, which we took advantage of. Very good breakfast with many choices, from fresh pancakes to scrambled eggs to yogurt and oatmeal and cereal, etc. good value, too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the rest of our staff. Hopefully you can stay with us for a longer peiod of time next time you are in Miami. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Brian E. Rubine, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed 3 nites in a lovely suite for a reasonable price. Did Trip Advisor review before making our
reservations and this was right on. Suite was clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfasts were good
with a lovely seating area. The area was clean and neat with ample room. The staff was polite and courteous always. Zoo Miami is 5 miles away for day trip. The Red Lobster next door is a
plus for a good dinner. McDonalds is also steps away for the lite snack. Good stay - yes.
This is a smoke free hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for reading the Trip Advisor reviews that lead you to stay with us. I am happy that you found them helpful and accurate. We hope you will get a chance to stay with us again in the near future. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express after my late afternoon arrival at Miami airport. As we rented a car it wasn't a big problem to find the hotel in a short time (approx 25 min) and it was a good, clean and quiet place to adjust to the timezone (came from Europe).

The rooms where good and comfortable, McDonalds and RedLobster in the neighborhood, same as a fuel station with drinks, water and beer.

Breakfast was included and very good.

Probably not a holiday resort or hotel but good to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking your personal time to let us and others know about our hotel. We hop eto see you again in the very near future.
Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami

Address: 11520 SW 88th St, Miami, FL 33176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kendall East Miami. The beautiful Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kendall East Miami is located in Kendall, FL and is an all-suite 100% non-smoking hotel, conveniently located one-quarter mile off the Florida Turnpike at Kendall Drive/SW 88th Street, 30 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and three miles from the Kendall-Tamiami Airport. With the newly renovated Dadeland Mall just ten minutes to the east of our hotel and Kendall Town & Country Center just across the street, plus numerous restaurants within walking distance, our hotel provides the best value for your dollar. Families will love staying at our all-suite Miami-Kendall hotel. Our favorable location offers easy access to popular Miami attractions, including the Miami Metro Zoo, the Miami Seaquarium, Jungle Island, South Beach Art Deco District and Homestead Miami Speedway. Business travelers will find that our all-suite hotel, located in southwestern Miami, provides them with access to numerous companies, such as Federal Express, the University of Miami, Assurant Group, Baptist Health South Florida and Beckman Coulter, Inc.You will enjoy our Kendall hotel amenities, including free high-speed Internet access, an outdoor pool, a well-equipped fitness center and our free Express Start breakfast buffet. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kendall East Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Kendall East Miami
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Express Miami
Amerisuites Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.