We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only OK, in my opinion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11520 SW 88th St, Miami, FL 33176   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #51 of 129 Hotels in Miami
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Only OK, in my opinion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Disclaimer: I am comparing this property to the Hampton in Coconut Grove, which is a high bar to exceed.

Have stayed here twice when business too me a bit further southwest in Miami. Looked forward to a great stay based on other reviews. But that hasn't been my experience.

Rooms are small, housekeeping so-so, and noise is a major issue. Garbage trucks arrive in the wee hours to service dumpsters at nearby restaurants and I've been awakened during both of my stays.

Breakfast selection is only fair if you prefer healthier options. If you like gooey, sweet stuff you'll be very happy!

On the plus side, staff is ver nice, fitness facility is fine and location is good with several restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you want a great meal, try Secreto, an Italian restaurant within a few minutes by foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your time in doing so. We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expected standards. We do our best to surpass expectations for each and every guest. Your comments pointed our opportunities where we have a chance to do better in the future. However we are glad that you found our location and staff convenient and friendly. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    52
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
26
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The location is a bit hard to find since it is not right on 88th Street and is hidden back behind a few franchise restaurants. But, the hotel itself is better than most Holiday Inn Express hotels. Good outdoor presentation with tropical landscaping, good rooms, quiet (since it is off the street), ...but a typical HI Express breakfast. BTW...for dinner skip the franchise restaurants and ask the hotel staff about nearby local restaurants (like La Carreta, a local Cuban restaurant). Overall a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate when a guest takes their personal time to let us and everyone else know how their stay with us was. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our unique hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again very soon.
Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We flew into Miami on our way to the Keys and stopped here for a night. Great hotel. Very courteous staff at check in. Great room, very clean, plenty big. Good location--near many stores and restaurants. Staff gave great recommendation for nearby restaurants, which we took advantage of. Very good breakfast with many choices, from fresh pancakes to scrambled eggs to yogurt and oatmeal and cereal, etc. good value, too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the rest of our staff. Hopefully you can stay with us for a longer peiod of time next time you are in Miami. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Brian E. Rubine, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed 3 nites in a lovely suite for a reasonable price. Did Trip Advisor review before making our
reservations and this was right on. Suite was clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfasts were good
with a lovely seating area. The area was clean and neat with ample room. The staff was polite and courteous always. Zoo Miami is 5 miles away for day trip. The Red Lobster next door is a
plus for a good dinner. McDonalds is also steps away for the lite snack. Good stay - yes.
This is a smoke free hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for reading the Trip Advisor reviews that lead you to stay with us. I am happy that you found them helpful and accurate. We hope you will get a chance to stay with us again in the near future. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express after my late afternoon arrival at Miami airport. As we rented a car it wasn't a big problem to find the hotel in a short time (approx 25 min) and it was a good, clean and quiet place to adjust to the timezone (came from Europe).

The rooms where good and comfortable, McDonalds and RedLobster in the neighborhood, same as a fuel station with drinks, water and beer.

Breakfast was included and very good.

Probably not a holiday resort or hotel but good to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking your personal time to let us and others know about our hotel. We hop eto see you again in the very near future.
Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Returning home to Ireland, my wife and I spent our last three nights/days in Miami staying here. From arrival to departure we found all the staff we met to be most helpful and obliging. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Our room was always clean and tidy after returning from being out for the day, towels renewed, bed made etc. About the only complaint is the way they dispense the cereal. There is little or no control on the amount dispensed, thereby leaving large amounts on the counter wasted. Will certainly stay there next time in Miami.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are very glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Miami. Thank once more, Brian E. Rubine, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had 2 rooms at this hotel after our cruise trip during X'mas. We chose this hotel based on its location and good reviews, since we planned to check out Key West and Everglades which both are to the south of Miami.

What we liked about this hotel --

1. convenient location - minutes away from FL turnpike, and lots of restaurants and other businesses nearby.

2. good sized rooms, lots of space

2. internet speed is quite fast, I had no trouble to watch some online video

Biggest problems we had --

1. Both rooms have severe issues with the shower -- the water pressure was great in the tub, but once you change it to the shower, it's pretty much like a sprinkler. i.e. no pressure at all, seriously! We had trouble to take shower with this kind of water. FYI, both rooms are on the 4th floor, while I can't imagine these are the only 2 rooms having this kind of trouble.

2. Hotel facility can use a good face lift.

Our bathroom door barely closes & locks, the shower curtain looks really sad, the tub stopper doesn't stay. Once you turn on the bathroom light, the vent fan turns on as well, and it's so loud that others in the room can easily be waken up. And you can tell the bed sheets have been washed hundreds of times and reaching its life span. The mattress is on the softer side and has been beaten pretty bad too, so does the carpet.

3. Lacking of warm greetings and smiling faces

We checked in on 12/22 and stayed for 3 nights. Maybe because it's so close to X'mas, all the managers are on vacation and only staff-under-training is working? Anyway, especially during breakfast time, the lady who serves breakfast doesn't even had eye contact with us. When I checked out on X'mas day, the gentleman looked more professional and experienced, and all the rest of the staff I experienced with were not that impressive, so I didn't know why this hotel got such great reviews on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendalleast, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. We definitely appreciate it when a guest takes their personal time to write such a lengthy report. The pros and cons you listed will be used as a learning tool and help us get better for all future guests. We hope you will stay with us again to show you that we have taken the cons you listed and turned them into pros for everyone to enjoy at our hotel. Sincerely, Brian E. Rubine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami

Address: 11520 SW 88th St, Miami, FL 33176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kendall East Miami. The beautiful Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kendall East Miami is located in Kendall, FL and is an all-suite 100% non-smoking hotel, conveniently located one-quarter mile off the Florida Turnpike at Kendall Drive/SW 88th Street, 30 minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and three miles from the Kendall-Tamiami Airport. With the newly renovated Dadeland Mall just ten minutes to the east of our hotel and Kendall Town & Country Center just across the street, plus numerous restaurants within walking distance, our hotel provides the best value for your dollar. Families will love staying at our all-suite Miami-Kendall hotel. Our favorable location offers easy access to popular Miami attractions, including the Miami Metro Zoo, the Miami Seaquarium, Jungle Island, South Beach Art Deco District and Homestead Miami Speedway. Business travelers will find that our all-suite hotel, located in southwestern Miami, provides them with access to numerous companies, such as Federal Express, the University of Miami, Assurant Group, Baptist Health South Florida and Beckman Coulter, Inc.You will enjoy our Kendall hotel amenities, including free high-speed Internet access, an outdoor pool, a well-equipped fitness center and our free Express Start breakfast buffet. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kendall East Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Kendall East Miami
Holiday Inn Express Miami
Amerisuites Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kendall East Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.