We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in the Grove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 130 hotels in Miami
Naples, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the Grove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

French friends of ours had recommended this charming hidden away hotel to us. Staff welcomed us warmly and were extremely helpful in explaining the property. We stayed with our small family pooch and were impressed with how dog-friendly this spot was. As we are Florida residents staying in the summer, we were accorded a FL resident discount which made the stay very reasonable. Our room was perfect with a spectacular view of Biscayne Bay and our own private terrace with a small lawn---perfect for our pet. The pool was nice with lush tropical foliage and the gorgeous views of the Bay. The property is conveniently located close to Brickell (where we had an earling morning appointment), Vizcaya and Coconut Grove. It is a relaxing respite from the craziness of Miami. All in all, we can't wait for an excuse to return to Miami and visit the Grove Isle Hotel again.

Room Tip: If you want a walk-out terrace, ask for the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    59
    34
    28
    30
See reviews for
49
94
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is very nice. People at the front desk are very nice as well, no special issues.
Few notes though that you might want to consider.
1. The parking is not free. It is $24 per night (a must if you have a car).
2. There is no mini-fridge in the room. Price is $25 per night.
3. At summer, there are MANY mosquitoes, inside and outside the room.
4. Hotel is not new, and it is noticeable. Especially in the shower and in the floor tiles. Not very pleasant.
5. Not close to any restaurant or any other store, as it is on its own island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Grove Isle Resort is a hidden gem, avoid the crazy Miami hectic tourist places....this is located perfectly set on the bay with 360 views and an outstanding staff. From the moment we arrived the friendly staff made suggestions for us to enjoy the area. The property has poolside is along the bay, enjoy walking paths thru the island. Be sure to have drinks and dinner --outstanding all around!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our week long vacation. The room was beautifully decorated and breathtaking. But, the bed and pillows were not the most comfortable in my opinion. I slept better in two less expensive, less beautiful hotels during our vacation. The air in the room was difficult to adjust. I think they had it on an automatic schedule. We froze at night and roasted after 9am. I did not like that you could not park and access your car at will You had to go through a valet, even if you wanted to get something out of your car. The pool area is gorgeous, as are the grounds, but bring your bug repellent. The restaurants and spa are rather pricey. We did not find the front desk help to be very friendly. The valets and the housekeeping staff were excellent and friendly. We had to put a $200 deposit down upon check-in which was not expected. We were told it would be returned to our account within 2 days. It took 5. If you are looking for a quiet, secluded place to get away and hide from the world, and you are not planning on going anywhere during your stay, this place may be for you.

Room Tip: 1st floor or floors above 3rd have a better view. Lower floors (2nd & 3rd) view blocked by tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first stay at the Grove Isle and certainly not our last. We were pleasantly surprised by the exclusivity of the location, minutes away from the Grove and Brickell. The staff was engaging and efficient. The accomodations were large and the bed was comfortable. We walked around the grounds which were well-maintained and serene. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bellman took one of my bags - or 'forgot' to put it in the car. Non one at the hotel will return our phone calls and have claimed that unless we can prove the bellman picked up that bag, they are not responsible. SO, even if he did not - both my husband and myself saw him place it on the cart - the maids are obviously ALLOWED to keep anything left in the room. As a guest, you are responsible for your personal belongings, not the hotel.

We also were moved two separate times, due to malfunctioning air conditioners. The thermostat read 78 in one room and 74 in another - no matter what we set the degree to . . . and trust me, it was hotter in the rooms than outside of them!

And please do not get me started on how horrible the spa is!

Room Tip: Check the temperature immediately! Lock all of your belongings in your car - which means you cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was wonderful. I would recommend it to anyone as the staff bent over backwards to treat us like VIPs. The rooms were well appointed, some of the furniture had a little wear and tear. The food/drink prices were in line with Miami so it is a little pricey, but that is anywhere in Miami. The view from the room was beautiful. The pool area was very nice. Hotel is a $10 cab ride from Coco Walk with tons of restaurants and shops. Almost stayed an extra day and will go back again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Not sure you could get a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Isle Hotel Miami
The Grove Isle Hotel And Spa
Grove Isle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;