We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful secluded place to just relax” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Lexington, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful secluded place to just relax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our week long vacation. The room was beautifully decorated and breathtaking. But, the bed and pillows were not the most comfortable in my opinion. I slept better in two less expensive, less beautiful hotels during our vacation. The air in the room was difficult to adjust. I think they had it on an automatic schedule. We froze at night and roasted after 9am. I did not like that you could not park and access your car at will You had to go through a valet, even if you wanted to get something out of your car. The pool area is gorgeous, as are the grounds, but bring your bug repellent. The restaurants and spa are rather pricey. We did not find the front desk help to be very friendly. The valets and the housekeeping staff were excellent and friendly. We had to put a $200 deposit down upon check-in which was not expected. We were told it would be returned to our account within 2 days. It took 5. If you are looking for a quiet, secluded place to get away and hide from the world, and you are not planning on going anywhere during your stay, this place may be for you.

Room Tip: 1st floor or floors above 3rd have a better view. Lower floors (2nd & 3rd) view blocked by tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    76
    45
    30
    34
See reviews for
64
117
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was our first stay at the Grove Isle and certainly not our last. We were pleasantly surprised by the exclusivity of the location, minutes away from the Grove and Brickell. The staff was engaging and efficient. The accomodations were large and the bed was comfortable. We walked around the grounds which were well-maintained and serene. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The bellman took one of my bags - or 'forgot' to put it in the car. Non one at the hotel will return our phone calls and have claimed that unless we can prove the bellman picked up that bag, they are not responsible. SO, even if he did not - both my husband and myself saw him place it on the cart - the maids are obviously ALLOWED to keep anything left in the room. As a guest, you are responsible for your personal belongings, not the hotel.

We also were moved two separate times, due to malfunctioning air conditioners. The thermostat read 78 in one room and 74 in another - no matter what we set the degree to . . . and trust me, it was hotter in the rooms than outside of them!

And please do not get me started on how horrible the spa is!

Room Tip: Check the temperature immediately! Lock all of your belongings in your car - which means you cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was wonderful. I would recommend it to anyone as the staff bent over backwards to treat us like VIPs. The rooms were well appointed, some of the furniture had a little wear and tear. The food/drink prices were in line with Miami so it is a little pricey, but that is anywhere in Miami. The view from the room was beautiful. The pool area was very nice. Hotel is a $10 cab ride from Coco Walk with tons of restaurants and shops. Almost stayed an extra day and will go back again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Not sure you could get a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in June because we were having our house fumigated for termites. We found a special advertised for local residents & the dog fee is a one time $25.00 charge, a really great deal. They are very dog friendly. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, nice place to walk along the water, see the skyline and the boats, walk the dog,great pool area. Really lovely. The restaurant is good, but very overpriced. Have a drink and a snack, enjoy the view,, it is romantic. Go elsewhere for a full meal. The location is terrifically close to the Grove, Brickell, Downtown,(museums downtown), Vizcaya. The rooms are a bit tired but clean and the floors are tile which I liked. The elevators to the rooms are odd in that when you enter on ground level the back window faces a wall and it's quite dark, then it goes up and you get a little view of the valet area. No big deal, just a bit disconcerting at first. They are happy to bring you an ice bucket w/wine glasses, but there is no ice machine. Location is the best part here, and it's quite peaceful. I recommend, but know that the rooms are "tired". I don't really recommend the restaurant because of the prices vs. quality of food.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east get strong early morning sun, the room gets quite warm. But the view is really lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I was a little nervous about booking this hotel, I hadn't heard much about it and have never stayed far out of Miami before as I like to be in the thick of it but this was such a nice surprise.

It is so beautiful (even though it poured it down with rain!), and only 20-30 minutes drive to south beach which in the grand scheme of things is not too far at all! We stayed here the night before our Bahamas cruise and it was perfect. Gorgeous view- family of 4 of us shared a room with 2 double beds and it was a very large room.

The only downside was that the check in staff and parking staff were not very friendly or helpful at all, the hotel is very large and open and we couldn't figure out where anything was. The girl behind the desk basically handed us our keys and left us to it! The valet man was not very nice at all and hardly spoke a word to us. It also took a long time for more towels to arrive, but I would definitely give this hotel a second chance and hope that the weather improved next time!

Thanks a lot

Room Tip: try to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Grove Isle Hotel was everything and more we had hoped for. I doubt there is any place in all of Coconut Grove that can provide a better ambiance than we had at this hotel. The hotel is on an island, so there is water view no matter where you are. If you are a Florida resident, the valet service and continental breakfast are both gratis. That is a huge savings. (Downer to that is if you are NOT a Florida resident: both valet service and breakfast will add considerably to your bill). You have to have a car and you have to be able to park it. There is no place to park other than using valet. We loved sitting out by the pool and overlooking Biscayne Bay, looking across to see Key Biscayne. It was simply a wonderful stay at a very affordable price (we were there in June). I'm hoping for another trip to south Florida . . and I know exactly where I want to stay!!! D.Martin (Madison, GA)

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a walk-out patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Isle Hotel And Spa
The Grove Isle Hotel Miami
Grove Isle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.