We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to see many areas of Miami” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Coral Gables
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect location to see many areas of Miami”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in June because we were having our house fumigated for termites. We found a special advertised for local residents & the dog fee is a one time $25.00 charge, a really great deal. They are very dog friendly. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, nice place to walk along the water, see the skyline and the boats, walk the dog,great pool area. Really lovely. The restaurant is good, but very overpriced. Have a drink and a snack, enjoy the view,, it is romantic. Go elsewhere for a full meal. The location is terrifically close to the Grove, Brickell, Downtown,(museums downtown), Vizcaya. The rooms are a bit tired but clean and the floors are tile which I liked. The elevators to the rooms are odd in that when you enter on ground level the back window faces a wall and it's quite dark, then it goes up and you get a little view of the valet area. No big deal, just a bit disconcerting at first. They are happy to bring you an ice bucket w/wine glasses, but there is no ice machine. Location is the best part here, and it's quite peaceful. I recommend, but know that the rooms are "tired". I don't really recommend the restaurant because of the prices vs. quality of food.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east get strong early morning sun, the room gets quite warm. But the view is really lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    70
    42
    29
    33
See reviews for
62
110
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I was a little nervous about booking this hotel, I hadn't heard much about it and have never stayed far out of Miami before as I like to be in the thick of it but this was such a nice surprise.

It is so beautiful (even though it poured it down with rain!), and only 20-30 minutes drive to south beach which in the grand scheme of things is not too far at all! We stayed here the night before our Bahamas cruise and it was perfect. Gorgeous view- family of 4 of us shared a room with 2 double beds and it was a very large room.

The only downside was that the check in staff and parking staff were not very friendly or helpful at all, the hotel is very large and open and we couldn't figure out where anything was. The girl behind the desk basically handed us our keys and left us to it! The valet man was not very nice at all and hardly spoke a word to us. It also took a long time for more towels to arrive, but I would definitely give this hotel a second chance and hope that the weather improved next time!

Thanks a lot

Room Tip: try to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Grove Isle Hotel was everything and more we had hoped for. I doubt there is any place in all of Coconut Grove that can provide a better ambiance than we had at this hotel. The hotel is on an island, so there is water view no matter where you are. If you are a Florida resident, the valet service and continental breakfast are both gratis. That is a huge savings. (Downer to that is if you are NOT a Florida resident: both valet service and breakfast will add considerably to your bill). You have to have a car and you have to be able to park it. There is no place to park other than using valet. We loved sitting out by the pool and overlooking Biscayne Bay, looking across to see Key Biscayne. It was simply a wonderful stay at a very affordable price (we were there in June). I'm hoping for another trip to south Florida . . and I know exactly where I want to stay!!! D.Martin (Madison, GA)

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a walk-out patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We loved the beautiful room with its lovely view of the bay. It was attractive, spacious, and comfortable. The bathroom was also charming. We enjoyed the grounds and breakfast on the terrace. The setting is beautiful and relaxing. But the best part was leaving the curtains open to the ocean view while still enjoying our privacy. (We preferred the third floor for that reason.)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This may be as good as it gets in Miami for privacy, quiet relaxation and pampering. My first floor unit with canopy bed, and huge fenced patio 15-feet from the bay was a dream. Not to mention excellent masseuse Yuli, jogging/pet-walking path around the island and a bidet. The staff from desk to valet are all caring, warm people and the restaurant never made a wrong move.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Grove Isle is such a beautiful place, and you really are on a private island. The staff are super nice, and please get the package that includes valet parking, room upgrade, and the full American breakfast 2 thumbs up. I have read other reviews, and some people were not pleased with this hotel, and I'm not sure if their standards are ridiculously high. My husband, and I gave this hotel 5 stars, and we will be returning again. Just to add you need a rental car, unless your just going to stay on the island your whole stay.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor in room 504.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a clean and nicely appointed resort hotel away from the noise and bustle of Miami. It seemed a bit overpriced, but the tourist areas of Florida seemed that way to us in general. We found Florida to be a bit worn out, and suspect this particular resort was in its prime 30-40 years ago, perhaps longer. The food was okay, but we are from California and are used to having fresh and healthy options. The breakfast muffins were pathetic - probably from Walmart.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Otel, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Isle Hotel And Spa
The Grove Isle Hotel Miami
Grove Isle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.