We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover past Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Aptos, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stopover past Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a clean and nicely appointed resort hotel away from the noise and bustle of Miami. It seemed a bit overpriced, but the tourist areas of Florida seemed that way to us in general. We found Florida to be a bit worn out, and suspect this particular resort was in its prime 30-40 years ago, perhaps longer. The food was okay, but we are from California and are used to having fresh and healthy options. The breakfast muffins were pathetic - probably from Walmart.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    77
    47
    30
    36
See reviews for
65
119
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is a quick review of a return visit to this my favorite spot in Miami. The views here over Biscayne Bay combined with cooling breezes are wonderful. But, the hotel club has really been neglected by its owners. Damaged deck chairs I noticed last year still have not been replaced. Parasols and other items are left ripped and broken and have not been fixed. Many of them have not been replaced. The watsu in the spa still does not work well. Our hotel room and especially bathroom were very tired. The leaking toilet, very noisy aircon and doors that did not open/close properly were a pain.

I have fond memories of Grove Isle but the hotel’s condition is a real shame especially as the staff in the club and restaurant were again amazing. Their positive attitude and commitment is surprising given that they may lose their jobs -- I was told that the owner has ambitions to knock the place down.

Try to ask for a ground floor bay side room – the view from the private deck is especially nice.

Room Tip: Get bay view rooms, check that the air con works,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We went with the idea that we would just veg out for a couple of days and play tourist in Miami. This is not a slick place, sort of a throwback, but it's old Miami in a good way. Large rooms, great views of the water, very pleasant staff, very nice grounds. Wonderful, if not entirely clean, pool. The restaurant was over-priced as was the wine list, but the service was impeccable, and the food was acceptable. The spa was very comfortable and pretty well appointed. We got massages which were, how shall I say, vigorous. Some recovery time was necessary. It is our understanding that the hotel is to be torn down or converted into condos. That's a loss. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

If you are even thinking of having your wedding here, think twice. Ours was a total disaster. I had reservations about using this Hotel based on previous reviews on TripAdvisor but my fiancé was won over by the presentation by Miriam and Janette. Well many of the negative Hotel reviews proved to be all too true. We had major Air conditioning problems with our rooms and the day of the wedding the brides room had a catastrophic plumbing leak which flooded the room. We were only moved after we demanded a new room and we had to move ourselves. The rooms themselves are dated and as many reviewers have noted, lacking some basic amenities.
The event itself went downhill when our catering contact, who had already given her two week notice, left our event at the start of our dinner. We had to manage the staff ourselves to some extent and the service was uneven and slow. The bride even had to track someone down for the wedding cake. There are many more details but suffice it to say the most important event of our lives was ruined. The Hotel itself is scheduled to close and be torn down. My guess is the morale of the employees is pretty much zero. We tried to get some satisfaction for all our trouble and all we got were a lot of apologies and an offer of a discount and a waiver of some services we never even got. RUN don't walk away from this disaster of a Hotel.

Room Tip: There are no good room, If there are, we were not in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Drove down with family and stayed overnight at the Grove Isle Hotel and Spa. LOVED it! Got a great deal on one of the travel websites. Spacious room. Loved the decor...Tommy Bahama feel. Clean. Tile floors. GREAT balcony overlooking the water. Great view! Nice breeze. Lovely sunset. TV in bathroom! Nice sized bathroom. Had a bidet. Beautiful walk along the sidewalk overlooking the water to the pool and hot tub. Pool is a nice size. Beautiful sculptures throughout property. Nice restaurant on-site. Small beach area at pool overlooking water. View is GORGEOUS! Very quiet during our stay. We got up early and drove over to the Miami Seaquarium. Really fabulous weekend getaway. Nice service. Will be coming back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you are overlooking the water. The balcony is spacious and has nice lounge furniture to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My stay here was lovely. It's an old hotel that needs some love and care. Apparently they have a new owner but there are some issues with what the community wants vs the owner. In spite of that the stay was very nice. The restaurant was spectacular. The beds are very comfortable. The amenities are slim. I had a room on the first floor and my patio face the water. It was lovely. There were no wash clothes available . . . . really???? That was strange. All staff was very friendly and tried to be helpful. The change in ownership was causing issues. I would definitely check it out again in the future. Hopefully the issues will be resolved.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the water. It's gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

WOW! Talk about a wonderful place. Thank you Jennifer Rosada for an amazing weekend and an awesome birthday. I can not tell you how happy I was to stay at GROVE ISLES. If an could go every weekend to this wonderful place I would.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Isle Hotel And Spa
The Grove Isle Hotel Miami
Grove Isle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.