We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Disaster” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Miami, Fl USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wedding Disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

If you are even thinking of having your wedding here, think twice. Ours was a total disaster. I had reservations about using this Hotel based on previous reviews on TripAdvisor but my fiancé was won over by the presentation by Miriam and Janette. Well many of the negative Hotel reviews proved to be all too true. We had major Air conditioning problems with our rooms and the day of the wedding the brides room had a catastrophic plumbing leak which flooded the room. We were only moved after we demanded a new room and we had to move ourselves. The rooms themselves are dated and as many reviewers have noted, lacking some basic amenities.
The event itself went downhill when our catering contact, who had already given her two week notice, left our event at the start of our dinner. We had to manage the staff ourselves to some extent and the service was uneven and slow. The bride even had to track someone down for the wedding cake. There are many more details but suffice it to say the most important event of our lives was ruined. The Hotel itself is scheduled to close and be torn down. My guess is the morale of the employees is pretty much zero. We tried to get some satisfaction for all our trouble and all we got were a lot of apologies and an offer of a discount and a waiver of some services we never even got. RUN don't walk away from this disaster of a Hotel.

Room Tip: There are no good room, If there are, we were not in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    77
    47
    30
    36
See reviews for
65
119
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Drove down with family and stayed overnight at the Grove Isle Hotel and Spa. LOVED it! Got a great deal on one of the travel websites. Spacious room. Loved the decor...Tommy Bahama feel. Clean. Tile floors. GREAT balcony overlooking the water. Great view! Nice breeze. Lovely sunset. TV in bathroom! Nice sized bathroom. Had a bidet. Beautiful walk along the sidewalk overlooking the water to the pool and hot tub. Pool is a nice size. Beautiful sculptures throughout property. Nice restaurant on-site. Small beach area at pool overlooking water. View is GORGEOUS! Very quiet during our stay. We got up early and drove over to the Miami Seaquarium. Really fabulous weekend getaway. Nice service. Will be coming back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you are overlooking the water. The balcony is spacious and has nice lounge furniture to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My stay here was lovely. It's an old hotel that needs some love and care. Apparently they have a new owner but there are some issues with what the community wants vs the owner. In spite of that the stay was very nice. The restaurant was spectacular. The beds are very comfortable. The amenities are slim. I had a room on the first floor and my patio face the water. It was lovely. There were no wash clothes available . . . . really???? That was strange. All staff was very friendly and tried to be helpful. The change in ownership was causing issues. I would definitely check it out again in the future. Hopefully the issues will be resolved.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the water. It's gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

WOW! Talk about a wonderful place. Thank you Jennifer Rosada for an amazing weekend and an awesome birthday. I can not tell you how happy I was to stay at GROVE ISLES. If an could go every weekend to this wonderful place I would.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The first delight about the entire stay was meeting the staff. They where very friendly and attentive made us feel at home. Everything was so neat and clean. The views were magnificent! The view of the Bay in the early morning and a sunset were heavenly and the lush tropical surroundings were just beautiful. We loved the benches outside the bar area with a fire facing directly towards the bay. wow! My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed this romantic and secluded vibe. The spa was incredible and very Zen the restaurant had a great menu and the bar and views from it world class. We enjoyed some very relaxing hours in all of them. Loved It. We will definitely be coming back and recommend to our friends and family.Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile



Accompaning my wife to a conference at Gove Isle. This group stay at lush accomidations each year for their conf. The hotel looks nice enough but the service is horrible. Only the bartender, front desk person and hostess speak english. Check you receipts for additional charges such as delivery charge. That charge must have been for the coffee I never got with breakfast. Nevermine getting some ice for you room for that night cap. Maybe manyana. This place is isolated and has no store for insadentals like sun screen, sodas, water or soap. You might want to bring your own soap, they don't seem to have anymore. At 250/night this is a rip off.
I hear this place is to be torn down to put in a new 18 story condo.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and travel extensivly.I visited Grove Isle in 1987 for a high school function nice place.My wife and I visited Grove Isle for our anniversary in July 2013, looks like it did back then, not in a good way. Upon arrival, no one in valet, we unloaded all of our luggage walked in up to the front desk with no one even noticing. Alot of "we are so sorry" Our room smelled old. Furniture "WAS" old. Couches, old, saggy. There in one a/c for two rooms, so the bedroom
was always too hot. You couldn't sleep in the living room because the couch were too nasty. To top it off they charged us $17 for a pay-per view movie on a very old analog style T/V. It was almost funny, until we received the final bill. Then it wasn't funny at all. After complaining basically they said"we are so sorry" but we're booked and your stuck in THAT room. Grove Isle ask us to fill our a survey, like they were very concerned. AGAIN, " we are so sorry". I never heard from them again. For the high price, definitely not worth the money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#55 of 113 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Isle Hotel Miami
The Grove Isle Hotel And Spa
Grove Isle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.