We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The first delight about the entire stay was meeting the staff. They where very friendly and attentive made us feel at home. Everything was so neat and clean. The views were magnificent! The view of the Bay in the early morning and a sunset were heavenly and the lush tropical surroundings were just beautiful. We loved the benches outside the bar area with a fire facing directly towards the bay. wow! My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed this romantic and secluded vibe. The spa was incredible and very Zen the restaurant had a great menu and the bar and views from it world class. We enjoyed some very relaxing hours in all of them. Loved It. We will definitely be coming back and recommend to our friends and family.Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    70
    40
    29
    33
See reviews for
61
110
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile



Accompaning my wife to a conference at Gove Isle. This group stay at lush accomidations each year for their conf. The hotel looks nice enough but the service is horrible. Only the bartender, front desk person and hostess speak english. Check you receipts for additional charges such as delivery charge. That charge must have been for the coffee I never got with breakfast. Nevermine getting some ice for you room for that night cap. Maybe manyana. This place is isolated and has no store for insadentals like sun screen, sodas, water or soap. You might want to bring your own soap, they don't seem to have anymore. At 250/night this is a rip off.
I hear this place is to be torn down to put in a new 18 story condo.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and travel extensivly.I visited Grove Isle in 1987 for a high school function nice place.My wife and I visited Grove Isle for our anniversary in July 2013, looks like it did back then, not in a good way. Upon arrival, no one in valet, we unloaded all of our luggage walked in up to the front desk with no one even noticing. Alot of "we are so sorry" Our room smelled old. Furniture "WAS" old. Couches, old, saggy. There in one a/c for two rooms, so the bedroom
was always too hot. You couldn't sleep in the living room because the couch were too nasty. To top it off they charged us $17 for a pay-per view movie on a very old analog style T/V. It was almost funny, until we received the final bill. Then it wasn't funny at all. After complaining basically they said"we are so sorry" but we're booked and your stuck in THAT room. Grove Isle ask us to fill our a survey, like they were very concerned. AGAIN, " we are so sorry". I never heard from them again. For the high price, definitely not worth the money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolinas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I’ve heard that the hotel will be torn down this summer to make room for another high-rise condo, so this review may be superfluous. But here goes anyway. The hotel is located on a private island. There are water views all around. The grounds are beautiful with a path all the way around. However, the hotel itself is in need of renovation. In our first room, the AC was so loud that it kept waking us when it went on. We tried to turn it off, but it kept coming back to life. The bathroom sink was missing its stopper mechanism (both my wife and I wear contact lenses, so a sink stopper is a necessity), and the cold water valve was installed backwards. There were too few hangers and towels, although the used towels were replaced twice a day. We moved to another room where the AC was quieter. But it was quiet because it didn’t work. Running the AC all day produced no reduction in temperature. We complained, but nothing was done. The first room had a shaving mirror; the second did not. We were part of a group and from talking to our friends, it was clear that amenities differed from room to room. The pool area is beautiful, but many of the chairs were torn, some with the stuffing falling out. Our only meal there was breakfast which was pricy, but very good. Service was fine except we had to track down our waiter to get the check. The Sunday brunch looked very nice. If you bring a car, valet parking is mandatory and retrieving our car was slow in the morning. It’s a long walk from the hotel to any other restaurant. The elevators creaked, moaned and jerked. The health club was very nice. Beware of the quoted room rate. It does not include a mandatory “resort fee” and valet parking. All in all, a beautiful setting but a hotel that seems to have given up on maintenance.

Room Tip: We were warned that rooms overlooking the fire pit can sometimes be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here on my 3rd visit to Miami. The fact that the hotel is located on an island is amazing! The amenities are great, I love the pool area that has an great view of the city. The brunch at the restaurant is pretty good too. Highly recommended!! The only down side is the hotel rooms are a little dated, they could use some renovation. And there's no fridge in the room!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Everything about this place was wonderful.

The service the food and being right by the water. My husband's Company arranged for music which just made it all the more fun. We were greeted with Mohitos and there was a full bar for those who didn't want one.

What a fabulous evening. Everyone enjoyed themselves.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This past weekend my girlfriends and I spend a wonderful girls-only evening at the Grove Isle & Spa in honor of my birthday. Upon arrival the valet attendant – Harrison – was very warm and welcoming. At the front desk we were greeting with warm smiles – Becky quickly had us all set! She was also our check out! After quickly checking into the bayfront room we decided to take a dip in the pool. We were concerned that it was a bit cold but were pleasantly surprised that the water was nice and warm. We were able to swim around for about an hour in the middle of winter overlooking the bay! WONDERFUL! The pool area has a private bar where drinks were brought to us by Felipe – I had a delicious ginger margarita and my friend had the strawberry muddled margarita. She said she could do w/all the little extra pieces going up her straw but otherwise it was delicious! Back in our room we had two comfy queen size beds and our French doors opened up to a private walkway straight to the bay! Beautifully romantic for a couples weekend and refreshing for a girls getaway! There was a hint of humidity smell in the air but nothing that can’t be fixed by letting the room air out a bit –this is South Florida after all and humidity is a factor. After a restful night (and no noise level whatsoever!) we got ready to head to Gibraltar. The manager Rodolfo was very social and accommodating – we couldn’t make up our minds inside or outside. After being settled outside we decided to go back inside – too humid! Go figure…Jose, our waiter, was attentive and outgoing but as the restaurant filled up his attention quickly fizzled out a bit – it was made up by offering us some desert and coffee on the house. Thankfully the view was amazing and the atmosphere was light and refreshing! I ordered the Tuna Tostadas – AMAZING! Then I had the street tacos – the tuna was the best hands down! Warm bread and butter was also at the table. My friend had the Blackened Mahi Tuna w/truffle fries – she said it was perfectly spicy and the truffle fries were just BUTTERY DELICIOUS! The mimosas were just what we needed for our brunch and had a few of them before calling it a day! We walked around for a bit and enjoyed the scenery! To have such a gorgeous day in the middle of winter is a total blessing! Grove Isle is a hidden little vintage gem in a very secluded area of Coconut Grove. Don’t judge it for the “modern” luxuries it lacks but love it for the romantic and charming vibe it gives! One night made me feel rejuvenated, focus and centered!

The only cons – we ordered ice and the bucket never arrived. We did a second callback and finally we had ice! Also, we were in need of water but it was way late in the night – after 10pm according to a gentleman at the hotel there is no room service or any type of vending machine to get some water. We were in dire need of some water but managed to get our hands on some can sodas. Nothing to deter our nice getaway but something to keep in mind for next time if you will need these items!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Otel, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Isle Hotel And Spa
The Grove Isle Hotel Miami
Grove Isle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.