We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing business event” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What an amazing business event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Everything about this place was wonderful.

The service the food and being right by the water. My husband's Company arranged for music which just made it all the more fun. We were greeted with Mohitos and there was a full bar for those who didn't want one.

What a fabulous evening. Everyone enjoyed themselves.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    77
    47
    30
    36
See reviews for
65
119
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This past weekend my girlfriends and I spend a wonderful girls-only evening at the Grove Isle & Spa in honor of my birthday. Upon arrival the valet attendant – Harrison – was very warm and welcoming. At the front desk we were greeting with warm smiles – Becky quickly had us all set! She was also our check out! After quickly checking into the bayfront room we decided to take a dip in the pool. We were concerned that it was a bit cold but were pleasantly surprised that the water was nice and warm. We were able to swim around for about an hour in the middle of winter overlooking the bay! WONDERFUL! The pool area has a private bar where drinks were brought to us by Felipe – I had a delicious ginger margarita and my friend had the strawberry muddled margarita. She said she could do w/all the little extra pieces going up her straw but otherwise it was delicious! Back in our room we had two comfy queen size beds and our French doors opened up to a private walkway straight to the bay! Beautifully romantic for a couples weekend and refreshing for a girls getaway! There was a hint of humidity smell in the air but nothing that can’t be fixed by letting the room air out a bit –this is South Florida after all and humidity is a factor. After a restful night (and no noise level whatsoever!) we got ready to head to Gibraltar. The manager Rodolfo was very social and accommodating – we couldn’t make up our minds inside or outside. After being settled outside we decided to go back inside – too humid! Go figure…Jose, our waiter, was attentive and outgoing but as the restaurant filled up his attention quickly fizzled out a bit – it was made up by offering us some desert and coffee on the house. Thankfully the view was amazing and the atmosphere was light and refreshing! I ordered the Tuna Tostadas – AMAZING! Then I had the street tacos – the tuna was the best hands down! Warm bread and butter was also at the table. My friend had the Blackened Mahi Tuna w/truffle fries – she said it was perfectly spicy and the truffle fries were just BUTTERY DELICIOUS! The mimosas were just what we needed for our brunch and had a few of them before calling it a day! We walked around for a bit and enjoyed the scenery! To have such a gorgeous day in the middle of winter is a total blessing! Grove Isle is a hidden little vintage gem in a very secluded area of Coconut Grove. Don’t judge it for the “modern” luxuries it lacks but love it for the romantic and charming vibe it gives! One night made me feel rejuvenated, focus and centered!

The only cons – we ordered ice and the bucket never arrived. We did a second callback and finally we had ice! Also, we were in need of water but it was way late in the night – after 10pm according to a gentleman at the hotel there is no room service or any type of vending machine to get some water. We were in dire need of some water but managed to get our hands on some can sodas. Nothing to deter our nice getaway but something to keep in mind for next time if you will need these items!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

A beautiful location but the service is terrible and there seems to be no one in charge. We ordered two drinks for dinner and the waitress without asking had them made with premium liquor, charging $13 each. next they automatically added a 20% service charge. The "breakfast package" which supposedly is a full breakfast includes only one item on the menu. There was only one robe in the room, the bidet did not work, there was no HDTV, and the thermostat didn't work. Additionally, the maids had not cleaned the room by 4 PM the next day. $273, plus $66 in taxes, and $24 a day for parking. They have seen the last of us!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Recently stayed at this small hotel, whilst the rooms are slightly dated the hotel is set in an amazing location, stunning views and an easy drive into downtown Miami. Food is great, even had my hair done on site…. would definitely go back for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel does a great job convincing potential brides & grooms to hold their event here, but once they've got your cash, it becomes a stressful experience. They booked my daughter's wedding for 4 pm but neglected to inform her that guests can only check in at 4 pm - so where were they supposed to get dressed for the event?? They offered a "special" rate for a block of rooms but then we discovered lower rates not only on sites like Expedia, but on the hotel's own website! Communication with staff is nearly impossible because their emails were practically illiterate. I got the runaround from the manager, who apparently tries to pass people off to others so as not to have to make any decisions.

My daughter's fiancé decorated the outdoor venue with pretty lights and was offered a fair amount of money by the hotel to leave them there. The following day, just before another wedding, they changed their minds - we presume they thought we'd just leave the expensive lights. We didn't - hope the next couple didn't mind getting married in the dark. Why don't they have their own lights?

We were not permitted to remove any of the leftover food from the catered event, even though we had obviously paid for it.

The hotel itself is a bit of a relic, but supposedly it is going to be demolished and rebuilt, so perhaps that's why they don't bother much with upkeep and maintenance. Food in the restaurant is good, but overpriced.

At checkout time, they had included valet and resort fees that were not supposed to be included in the bridal package and it took me quite some time to get it adjusted.

The wedding was fantastic, but only because my daughter and her husband planned it all themselves and provided the lights and decorations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I can't think of one positive thing to say about this hotel. I was so disappointed, and I am not a pessimist!

The problems I encountered during my 4 day stay (I left a day early because I had enough!) were:

1) I reserved a room with 2 queen beds (there were 4 of us) but got a king with a pull out couch. There were no other choices. They were booked and must have given away my room because I booked thought Expedia.

2) Asked for a pull away cot...they said they were all out of them. So, I slept on the pull out and my daughter slept on the ceramic floor on the couch pillows. (They actually gave her instructions on how to properly sleep on the floor!). "Take the cushions off the couch, and we will bring up extra sheets." No blanket, just extra sheets!

3) $24 extra a night to park your car. No choice but to use the valet service, which was a total pain in the neck....waiting, waiting, and if you have to get up early and get out, no one is there to get your car! I had to search from someone to find my key each morning.

4) Cleaning service arrived...promptly...at 4pm everyday! When they finally got around to cleaning the room, they would leave one, maybe two towels for four people. No hand towels, no face towels...just one, maybe two if we were lucky, bath towels. Every day I had to call housekeeping (they rarely picked up) to order more. Never managed to get the hand or face cloths.

5) Rooms are very dusty! There was dust everywhere.

6) No extra anything for breakfast, like most hotels. Coffee and tea (after 7am). If you arrive by 8am, the coffee is gone and there are no more cups. If you ask for more, they don't offer it.

7) They have one (and only one) restaurant that actually has a nice atmosphere. However, we spent close to $250 for ceasar salads and chicken enchiladas (no beverages). The menu was quite limited.

8) We wanted to watch a movie while it was raining one day. Went to pay the $17.99 for the movie, but when we paid, the movie would not start. Ended up calling the front desk and we were told the "major switch" to run the movie was not working. Great!

9) No fridge, no microwave, no nothing in the room. The pics on the website look so much better then the rooms you end up with. Terrible!

10) Today I am going to call Expedia to see if I can get my money back for the last night. The hotel would do nothing to accommodate me because I did not book directly through them.

There are lots of beautiful hotels in the Coconut Grove area... do yourself a favor and look elsewhere. This hotel ruined my stay in Miami. I left a day early, and I will never return.

Room Tip: Awful!! Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Repeat guest, enjoy the on-site facilities, friendly staff, centrally located. Have been to hotel over 20 times and never had a bad experience. Fantastic views of the Bay, great jog around the facility. Will continue to stay at the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#55 of 113 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Isle Hotel Miami
The Grove Isle Hotel And Spa
Grove Isle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.