We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grove Isle is the place to be!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grove Isle is the place to be!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Grove Isle is a wonderful hote! It sits right on the bay so all you see is water outside of your room! The food is delicious, they have a 4 star restaurant on-site, the spa is awesome and you will have a great time - guaranteed!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 101! It's awesome and the view is incredible! All you see outside your sliding glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben L, Manager at The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Carol W.,

We appreciate your authentic feedback! All of our guest rooms have full water views and terraces. Our restaurant provides a fresh and exciting menu with an excellent wine selection. The Spa at Grove Isle is proud to have one of the few authentic Watsu pools on the east coast and an extensive list of massage and facial services in a comfortable and professional atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back to Grove Isle in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    66
    39
    29
    33
See reviews for
58
106
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
myob
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great food and quiet weekend on the waters edge on Biscayne Bay. Very relaxing spot just moments from the hub bub of Miami. We loved being on a private island just moments from the grove. Had a lovely lunch and then snoozed on a comfy chaise on the edge of the bay. Very attentive pool bar service.

Room Tip: bay view is super
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Awful hotel. Old, worn down and not clean. Roaches the size of softballs are there waiting to greet you when you check in to your room. The ceiling fan, phone and AC did not work. In addition the Hotel book mentioned a mini bar stocked with items however this did not exist. No vending machines, ice machines, gift shop or anyway to fine a simple bottle of water in this hotel. You are on your own once room service closes! Since you are on a small island you are pretty much out of luck if you are thirsty at night. The room itself felt dirty (the floors had stains all over, bathroom too) and the bed was so droopy and old I felt like I was staying someplace that had not been updated since 1970. The Pool was very dirty too like it had not been cleaned in months. Lack of towels around the pool area showed me that service is not a priority for this hotel. The whole feel of the hotel was old, musty and needed a face lift bad. At least at night it looked less dirty and beat up, maybe it was just the poor lighting.

On a positive note the food at the restaurants was excellent. It was a shame that a great chef decided to waste his talents at a run down, beat up dump like this.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. if you do make sure you get a room with an AC unit that works and bring plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Bad service, expensive restaurant, worms and mold in the bathroom, etc. etc. PLUS, they double charged my credit card and charged the resort fee (which I didn't even know about) 3 times! The resort was aged and empty. The pool did not look clean and there was no one at the door or at the front desk when we arrived. What did way pay for?

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Key Biscayne
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGroveisle, General Manager at The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed that your visit with us was not as pleasant as we all would have liked. Your feedback is vital for us to address our shortfalls as well as perfecting our service going forward. I do hope that you return in the future and give us the opportunity to impress you with the service and regain your confidence in the Grove Isle Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel's website is misleading. My friend and I booked from the pictures online. Looks are deceiving.
Our first surprise, was the hidden mandatory $24.00 per day parking. Imagine our surprise when this was told to us from the front desk. Second surprise was the unclean bathroom. The bathroom looked as as it's not scrubbed properly. Third surprise, was our bottle of water that was missing when we returned to the room after a day of sight seeing. Fourth surprise, is the hidden resort fee of $25.00 per day. Once again, these fees are not listed on the website. Fifth surprise, for the amount of money spent one would expect a room that is better than the Marriot or even Holiday Inn. Our room was subpar. The most annoying surprise was that the ac was broken. Because of that we were not able to adjust the air. I was ok, but my goddaughter and friend were freezing. You cannot read the screen of the ac therefore you are clueless about the number.

BEWARE!!! We booked with Orbitz and they tried not to honor the price. We were told, the discount is too low. We fought to get it honored.

Plus side: Staff was friendly.

Do not waste your money to come here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel is located on it own little Island, gate house to keep out any unwanted visitors. Surrounded by water, plush grounds and a great pool area. The restaurant and bar was fantastic, great breakfast, great dining experience in the evenings, great wine list, poolside cabanas, tiki bar, and very friendly staff, the front desk, the valet, the waiters, the bartenders, the spa technicians, everyone made our stay so much more comfortable. I will definitely come back anytime I'm in Miami!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This property appears to be in the process of financial failure. Rooms were antiquated, amenities in terrible shape. We visited the bar....deserted. We ate at the restaurant...substandard. We visited the spa....it would have been more enjoyable walking through a car wash. Staff were nowhere to be found and totally distinterested. This hotel does NOTHING to justify its price.

Miami is full of better options. Pass this one by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGroveisle, General Manager at The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed that your visit with us was not as pleasant as we all would have liked. Your feedback is vital for us to address our shortfalls as well as perfecting our service going forward. I do hope that you return in the future and give us the opportunity to impress you with the service and regain your confidence in the Grove Isle Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick and Tingo so you can book your The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Isle Hotel And Spa
The Grove Isle Hotel Miami
Grove Isle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.