We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place for a Quiet Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place for a Quiet Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This resort is the perfect spot for a quiet get away. I wanted to get the Miami experience without the party feel of South Beach. This resort is beautiful, quiet, romantic .. I could have spent the whole time lounging in one of the chairs placed waterside with the sea breeze blowing over my body. The location gives you easy acess to Coconut grove and the wanderful dining experiences there and also a small easy commute to get to So. Beach if you want to shake it up. The staff anticipates your needs and the stay is easy, hassel free and you actually feel pampered while you are there. I am from southwest florida, I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Miami.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveisle4, Manager at The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback and we are pleased to hear you had such a quiet and relaxing stay with us. The dining experiences here in coconut grove are excellent and we indeed are just minutes away from South Beach. We look forward to your return in the future.

Sincerely,
The Grove Isle Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    77
    47
    30
    36
See reviews for
65
119
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

What a wonderful get away in our back yard of South Florida. We brought our two children and our new puppy and everyone had a blast. The deals this time of year are incredible. The place was luxurious, the amenities on site was great from tennis to spa and pool. The food was delicious. I especially want to recognize the great service we got from Nicole at the front desk and the staff on the premises. The place is very dog friendly and it made it very easy for our new puppy to adjust.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveisle4, Manager at The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful time here at the Grove Isle Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed our amenities such as our pool, tennis courts, and our spa. Since you are one of our neighbors, we hope to see you again soon and please do not hesitate to contact us before your next stay.

Sincerely,
The Grove Isle Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I went to this hotel because there was a special offer which I took advantage of. I was very surprised how peaceful this location was. Even though it's not by the ocean it's by the bay and it is great to just sit have a drink and relax. Time simply stops and you don't know what time it is.
The rooms are very nice and comfortable. You even have a small TV in the bathroom.
It's a very small hotel with only 50 rooms, so there is not that multitude of people of the larger hotels which I really enjoyed.

Room Tip: Check in is not till 4 PM, and couldn't get the room any earlier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveisle4, Manager at The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted to hear you had such a peaceful stay with us. We agree that our island is a very relaxing place to sit back, have a drink, and quickly loose track of time. We look forward to servicing you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Grove Isle Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

A vacation from South Beach into a carefully landscaped tropical hide-out, this is what the Grove Isle hotel is all about. Nicely tucked at the end of this way too geometrical island; the Grove Isle hotel gets you to breath at your own pace. 

The small enough size (50 rooms) is perfect for those who want a good balance between humanity and 'me & my book' quite time. The view from the top floor makes the location a superb sunrise camera-ready-shoot spot. 

The staff seems genuinely interested in adding a personal touch but could get a little more efficient - well, slowness also goes with taking a vacation from the ordinary I guess. 

It's pet friendly - which is a plus if you have your own pet but it's a SIGNIFICANT DETERRENT if your neighbors left theirs in the room crying for over 4 hours. Poor furry guest... Also not great if the hotel does not allow you to avoid the heartbreaking crying - despite a request of changing room. I am a pet parent too, but in managing this the hotel fell really short. 

The pool is not a plus but having the beach chairs conveniently located few feet from the Biscayne Bay makes up for it. 

All and all, the location makes you to be thankful to be here. 

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveisle4, Manager at The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback and for your recent stay with us. We do apologize for the furry friend that was placed next to you and unfortunately we were unable to move you to another room due to us being at full capacity during your stay. We hope to see you very soon and please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit.

Sincerely,
The Grove Isle Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The Grove Isle is a one of a kind experience.The service is exceptional with a very personalized touch.It is an upscale treatment staying here.The room has an awesome view and you get the feeling of being on your own private island.The Grove Isle is a genuine hidden treasure in Miami!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and have excellent views.Check the Internet for great deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveisle4, Manager at The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind comments and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make our service a one of a kind experience and are delighted to hear we met up to your expectations. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
The Grove Isle Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I came to Miami to move our daughter down here. Wonderful place but we did encounter a couple of problems; the main one being that our TV did not work. We arrived on Sunday and checked out Wed. We called 3 times to the front desk with no results. As we were relaxing by the pool/bar Tuesday afternoon we mentioned to Renee the bartender...who by the way is awesome!!! She said the engineering people were on the property and would see what she could do. It was fixed...basically just hours before we were to leave. We also experienced a little snafu with our A/C in the room. I called the front desk and was put on hold.....she never came back and I had to call again. Someone did come up and rectify the problem. The other little issue that I noticed was when housekeeping came the first time on Monday, they did not leave anymore toilet paper or toiletries. I had to call and have those delivered. In conclusion, except for the TV debacle the other things were minor that i can pretty much overlook and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveisle4, Manager at The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for these issues you encountered during your stay with us. We strive on our customer service standards and are deeply saddened that we did not up to them during your stay. We are delighted, however that you would consider coming back to stay with us and can assure you that this time around it will be a marvelous stay. Please do not hesitate to contact our management team the next time you decide to stay and we hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We came down in the begining of July with our two children for four days & what a paradise we came across! Great staff, excellent spa we got to get away to with no children, excellent restaurant, and great pool with an ocean view. We hope to return very soon! Thank you to all the staff for such an excellent stay!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveisle4, Manager at The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for such kind feedback. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed all the wonderful amenities we have to offer and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Grove Isle Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 Grove Isle Dr, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove Isle Hotel And Spa
The Grove Isle Hotel Miami
Grove Isle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Isle Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.