We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateaubleau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Chateaubleau to your Saves list
Hotel Chateaubleau
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Miami, FL 33134-3321   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 129 Hotels in Miami
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“WHAT A NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My flight from Miami was cancelled as there was a technical fault with the aircraft. I stayed at Chateaubleau Hotel in Miami. On arrival the smell of the hotel was rancid with 8 Mexican looking young men loitering in reception. That was unsettling!!! I was starving and the kitchen was closed. The receptionist was a man of around 80 who seemed grumpy. The room smelt stale and as for the bed!!! I slept on the chair!!!At 2:30am someone was knocking on my door!!! I called Reception who sent someone to check - no feedback. in the morning I went downstairs at 5am as I just wanted to leave. There to greet me was a huge cockaroach!!!!! Was that breakfast??? Oh No!!! The kitchen was closed!!!! Never again!!!

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms which are on blind corners and exposed to the isolated land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHATEAUBLEAU, Manager at Hotel Chateaubleau, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We apologize for your bad experience at our hotel. We try to accommodate everyone the best we can. It seems like at the time of your arrival you weren't under the most favorable circumstances. When we receive distressed passengers from airlines we try to do our best under short notice.
Our restaurant is open from 7AM to 11PM although certain times, we keep it open after hours when we are expecting late arrivals. There are plenty of take outs open late near our area and even walking distance.
We have security cameras in our property and we keep only the main lobby entrance open.
We apologize again for your bad experience during your stay; we take these feed backs very seriously and we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    13
    11
    26
See reviews for
17
18
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, KY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I want to point out I would have NEVER picked to stay in this hotel myself. We were stranded in Miami due to a missed flight coming back from Curacao. Our airline recommended the hotel at a discounted rate of $99, and said it was "nice, very nice" and had a shuttle service for the airport.

When we got there and saw the dirty couches in the lobby, and the outdated decor, I knew we were in trouble. The elevator wouldn't work the first time we pressed the button. When we got to our room it was (gag!) like something from a $25 per night dump on the side of the road! The bathroom shower head had pink gunk growing on it, both water faucets said "HOT", and neither put out more than a trickle. There was a tub liner apparently attached to the bottom of the tub to prevent slipping, but one corner was turned up and brown underneath. I actually smelled the sheets before getting in, and even then all night wondered if I was getting bit by bed bugs, or getting lice. When we moved the end table to find a place to charge our phones I saw dust piled up on the base boards, and the sheets dragged the ground on the bed and weren't tucked in. The carpet was absolutely filthy. I wouldn't walk across the room without my shoes on.

At night you could hear the cars drive by. That, with the sound of the air conditioner unit and the squeeky ceiling fan, and the thought of picking up some sort of critters from the bedding meant NO SLEEP!

IMHO, this place needs to be gutted and renovated by someone who knows how to run a hotel. I've travelled a lot, and this is my second worst of all time.

Room Tip: Do NOT go here! Stay at the airport if you have to, but don't go here. You'll sleep better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braila
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed for a night in April 2012 in this nightmare. Run people, run. Urine smell everywhere, no working shower, no working ac etc...I could continue till tomorrow. So RUUUUN.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed here for one night in March. It cost $170. You need to call the hotel for the airport shuttle. I did. 2 hours later, I called again. This time they came.

Outside that, no knock on the hotel. The rooms are fine, the area is interesting and the location is convenient. The service once I arrived was all good. But it is still clearly a budget option. If it cost $50, I'd give it 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
90025
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

Advertises shuttle to airport every hr on the hr. Driver finally showed up at 7:10am and then said "5 min". He disappeared for 15 and finally leisurely returned 15 min later with coffee in hand. No apologies. No greeting. Unreliable. This place feels like the ghetto

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHATEAUBLEAU, Manager at Hotel Chateaubleau, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We take our transportation service very seriously.

We have our shuttle leaving from the hotel every hour on the hour.

We appreciate your feed back and we have since monitored our drivers very carefully.

We apologize for any inconvenience.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rastatt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

If you don´t care about loud noises at night coming up from generators in frot of your terasse and ur ok with a very small bathroom then it´s ok to stay for one night but not longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel several times in past years while attendfing the Sony Ericsson tennis event. This year the facilities appeared run down. The service was poor. We called down for a couple of extra towles 3 times before we received them. A bus parked outside our room each morning with its engine idling. This was very annoying. Thishotel needs to be redecorated (painted and new furnishings) to comeup to acceptable standards in my opinion. I was less than satisfiede with my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHATEAUBLEAU, Manager at Hotel Chateaubleau, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We appreciate your feed back!

Since your last stay, we have started heavy renovations. We will still keep our boutique family operating style and award wining restaurant on premise. We have also reviewed our room service procedures. We now have a room service response time of no more than 5 minutes.

We invite you to come back and stay with us to let us know your thoughts.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateaubleau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateaubleau

Address: 1111 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Miami, FL 33134-3321
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Chateaubleau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in The City Beautiful in the heart of historic Coral Gables, adjacent to the financial and design districts, shopping malls, entertainment centers, famous restaurants and only ten minutes from the Miami International Airport. All rooms are two queen or king size bed with spacious private balconies. The award winning restaurant Mylos offers the best tastes of the Mediterranean conveniently located in the hotel lobby. Hotel Chateaubleau is designed to give our guests personal attention in a family environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chateaubleau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Miami
Best Western Chateaubleau Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateaubleau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.