We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #50 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Summerton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Second Time here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed at this Holiday Inn at Port of Miami a year ago. Loved that room and visit. I can say in all honesty that this time was different. You still park in the rear of the hotel, however, this time all parking is Valet with a charge approximately $30 a day. There is a lot adjacent to the hotel that you can park and may be between $10-$20 a day however it may be a little hike to the hotel especially if you are carrying your luggage. The lobby was very nice and the staff was very courteous and efficient. The only complaint I had was that we were staying 2 nights. The first night was paid for with reward points and the second night I was paying in full. Because of this, the reservation had to be made in 2 reservations in lieu of 1 therefore, when we arrived, they initially said that we were staying one night. I had to correct them that it was 2 nights. They did see the second reservation and made sure that I could stay in the same room. Thankfully I could. However, I had to go back to the front desk to have them run my card again on the second day. I would think something could be done differently with both the reservation and the check in (not having to do it twice). We were checked into our room - 822. Previously we were on the 10th floor and had a view of the Bayside Marketplace and the port. Loved it. This time we had a view of the air conditioners. I know we can't all have a terrific view every time and in a city you have to take what you can get but, if I have my druthers.... The Elevators are evidently being upgraded which is good because they are not very fast. There are 3 elevators so we only had access to 2 at times. As we got close to the elevators, there was a musty smell that they were trying to control but it has got to be hard with a basement and hot humid weather. Our room was nice but on the small side with a king-sized bed in it. Bathroom had one sink and is on the small size. There was a table with 2 chairs for sitting at the table. Room does not include refrigerator/microwave but requested one and it was delivered with no additional charge. There is a bar and dining room at the hotel. The breakfast buffet is $13.95 per person plus tax with OJ not included in the price. The food is good. Did not care for the potatoes but the rest of the food was good. This hotel is directly across the street from the Bayside Marketplace which has restaurants, shopping and tourists type offerings (boat rides, etc.). I would stay here again but request a room on the 10th floor facing the port. There is a CVS located about a block and half away from the hotel that you can tell is visited by many in the area and they were always busy. However, they had bananas, apples and oranges for sale along with frozen dinners and such. If looking to save some money by not going out to eat, this may be an option. Several new restaurants scheduled to go in at Bayside so I would check the website for Bayside to see what they have. We did order a room service pizza. Not bad. 10" pepperoni pizza, $12.95 plus tax and gratuity was about $18.00

Room Tip: 10th floor has refrigerator/microwave. Also if you want to look at over city, specify this. Not th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Edna B,

Thank you so much for coming back again this year to stay with us! I truly appreciate all of your feedback and have shared them with our team. I apologize for the mix-up in your reservation and for us making you check in again for the second day. You are right that we need to fix that. Your comments will help us improve. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and like the location and our staff. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    556
    280
    91
    61
See reviews for
418
402
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the worst hotel that I've ever stayed in. I payed $200 for a room that was worth about $30. We arrived at the hotel early due to our flight. When we got there to check in the room wasn't ready, but that wasn't a big deal because we were early. However when we got there to check in the receptionist had an attitude. He was suppose to call me when the room was available. I never got a call we sat in the lobby for about 2 hours I finally went back to the desk to check on the room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Misshollis,

Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay! I am sorry you had to wait for your room and no one called you to let you know when it was ready. I do hope you had a better experience when you did check in and all was good with your room and stay. Again, I am sorry.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Loved the location, opposite bayside which has loads of shops, bars, food and boat trips.
Hotel is of very high quality, beds are cloud like and rooms very clean and roomy but could probably do with an update now but no biggie.
Continental breakfast is cereal, toast, ham, cheeses, fruit and pastries. Good quality and fresh.
Pool isnt very large but sufficient for a cool down or quick dip but you are in Miami too much to do why sunbathe? Wi-fi was a pain, logged on ok but kept logging you out as soon as you were inactive. Car parking was advised as $12 pn but was only offered valet at $25 pn, the valet guys were very helpful and friendly though.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mandy K,

Thank you very much for staying with us on your trip to Miami! I am glad to know you enjoyed our great location, cleanliness and breakfast. We are fortunate to have so much to do within walking distance of the hotel, and close to many different areas. We hope you will come back and stay with us again on your next vacation to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Worst Holiday Inn ever. I've always thought Holiday Inn was quite consistent but...I was wrong. The price was very high for a closet of a room. For $232.00 a night I would have expected much more. Was told I would have a view and what I got was a brick wall. The bathroom door wouldn't even open all the way it was so small. The whole hotel smelled very musty with lots of chipped paint in the room and in the public areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear LaurenLangdon,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay back in January! Please accept my sincere apology for giving you a less than acceptable experience. I am not sure if you shared your comments with our team since it was about 6 months ago and we are trying to figure out what happened. I am sorry and will use your feedback to insure we have fixed the concerns you had.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The room- carpeted, small but comfortable for 2 persons, contains TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Safe, table and 2 chairs, dresser, 2 night tables, 3 lamps, very clean.

Check in- very fast and we were allowed to have our room earlier than the usual check in time. The attendant also gave us a king bed at no additional cost even though our reservation was for a queen so we could have more space. My only negative comment is that we requested last check out and was told that we have to call reception on the morning of check to find out if we could check out late. It would have been helpful if we could know in advance if the possibility exists so we could plan the final day.

Spa/ pool- we did not use so cannot comment.

Restaurant (Marina Grill)- the Sunday buffet was excellent and the menu contains a wide range of yummy items. Try the hot chocolate.

Additional services- the Hotel arranged a "mall" shuttle to take us to Dolphin Mall, this bus also goes to other malls and Toys R Us at the cost of $10 usd. Bearing in mind that the taxis charge per meter, this price is unbeatable.

Location- in minutes you can cross the street and reach Bayside Market which boasts many stores, kiosks and restaurants- e.g Victoria Secrets, GAP, Guess, Clarks, Skechers, Hooters, Chilis, Hard Rock Cafe, Bubba Gump Shrimp, Starbucks, Haagen Daaz, local eateries e.g Latin Cafe (Cuban food), TradeWinds (seafood), Largo (grill/ steak), Hamburguesa (home of the 12 inch hotdog), the Knife (Argentinian Steakhouse) and many many more. You can also book a boat tour there to visit neighboring islands.

Walking distance from the Hotel you will find CVS Pharmacy, Walgreens, Ross, Marshalls and 7 Eleven just to name a few.

The Hotel is about 20 minutes away from the Miami International Airport, so you will arrive fast and be assured that your stay will be hassle free so that you can sit back and enjoy lovely Miami!

Room Tip: People tend to be noisy whilst waiting for the elevator, so perhaps request a room further down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear ddsi05,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your enjoyable stay with us! Your detailed comments are greatly appreciated, with much valuable feedback for us. I am happy you enjoyed the excellent location near so much in Downtown Miami. Please come back and visit us again on your next trip to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Township, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have stayed in the Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown several times, all before cruises and I have to say, the staff's attention to detail and customer service is unmatched by any other hotel we have stayed in near or in Miami in several years. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Look for a room with a view of Bayside, it is a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Melissa S,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to give us great feedback! We are so happy to hear how great you thought our service was, and better than other hotels. That is awesome and we are happy you let us show you how much we care. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have stayed at this property twice and the customer service was consistently excellent both times. This past visit Montana was at the desk at both check in and out and epitomizes the friendliness and professionalism of IHG.

The property is very clean and well-maintained and is a great place to stay in Miami.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear m000q,

Thank you so much for coming back and staying with us again! I am happy we offered you the same great service on both trips and that Montana took great care of you. Please come back again soon on your next visit to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#45 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.