We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #50 of 129 hotels in Miami
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“ok for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This Hotel is pretty average. My husband and I were glad we were only there for one night prior to boarding our cruise.
The staff here were somewhat helpful with providing directions around miami port. Male staff not very attentive when I had to carry big bags on my own.
Overall, hotel is good to use only for sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Joanna L,

We appreciate you staying with us and thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay! I am sorry you only found the hotel ok for one night and you did not have an excellent experience. I am not sure if you had a problem during your stay we did not address, and I welcome you contacting me any time if you want to discuss it at all. I apologize that we dropped the ball.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    528
    260
    89
    60
See reviews for
385
380
45
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Close to public transportation. Across from Bayside attractions. One block from AA Miami stadium. 5min drive via bus, car, or taxi to Ocean Ave and beach. Took a tour to Key West and the chartered bus picked-up and dropped-off at the hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear TinaMarie517,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us! I am happy you liked our location in Downtown Miami, so close to so much. Please come back and visit us again on your next visit to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Location wise this hotel is great but the standard of the hotel is poor!
We stayed for four nights but it was so bad we left a day early & went on to our next destination.

The hotel was NOT worth what we paid. There appears to be an issue with a damp like smell in this hotel. The ventilation is poor & AC noisy!

We watched Miami Heat at the AA stadium that's a stones throw away & miami port is literally over the road but STILL. I won't not stay here.

The room quality is poor & the staff are dis-interested... I got the sense they deal with a lot of complaints.

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear SanghaFamily,

First of all, I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Although we do have a great location, we do not take that for granted and truly work hard to provide excellent service. I apologize that we dropped the ball during your stay. If you would like to talk further, please give me a call anytime, as I would like to get further feedback as to what happened during your stay.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camuy, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

it is always an advantage to stay on a hotel from where you are close to everything.
that is the case with this Holiday Inn location; right on front of the Bayside Mall and at an area easy to reach and leave to wherever you want.

Room Tip: get a room with view to the east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear ISRAELCARMEN,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know your stay was "better than good"! I am happy to hear you truly enjoyed the hotel and the great location. Please come back and visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how lovely this Holiday Inn was and you can't beat the location, right across the street from the marketplace where live music was playing. The lobby is spacious with lots of seating and a view of the pool. The staff could not have been more gracious and attentive to our requests. We were three in our party and a cot was delivered within 5 minutes of checking into our room. We were given a discount card for the restaurant upon check-in and although there were many restaurants in the marketplace, we chose to have dinner in the hotel. Service and food were fine, as was breakfast the next morning. Although we could see the cruise ships in port, we needed a taxi which amounted to $ 12.00 for the 3 of us. I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn to anyone going on a cruise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Ginnyd320,

I was so happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised with your stay and enjoyed our hotel! Our team really enjoys going above and beyond to make sure our guests have an outstanding stay. Glad you also had great experiences in our restaurant, and liked our looby next to the pool. We hope to see you back with us on your next visit to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We have stayed here several times pre-Cruise. The hotel is nice...I have had some decent rooms and some that could have been a little cleaner, but overall no big complaints. It's location is great...convenient for the Port and right across the street from Bayside Marketplace. (And because of that it can be a little loud when they have music playing. So if you are a light sleeper it could be an issue.) The staff is always friendly and helpful. The restaurant was good (only had breakfast). It is also convenient to Walgreens and CVS if there are any forgotten vacation items. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear travelpam33,

Welcome back and thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again! Your loyalty is greatly appreciated and we hope you keep coming back. I am so happy to hear you find our staff to be friendly and helpful. I am glad you have had some great rooms, enjoyed breakfast and our great location in Downtown Miami. We are fortunate to have everything within walking distance. We will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Booked this place to stay to attend graduation ceremonies at the University of Miami. Good location downtown...close to a Metromover station (which can link you to the MetroRail system). I guess this would be a good place to stay if you are heading out on a cruise the next day since the Port is right there, but that wasn't what we were in town for.

Nice amenities. Internet is free. Rooms smallish, but not uncomfortably so. Everything worked and was clean. Front desk staff nice. Parking is valet only and $25 an overnight. There are city garages that promote lower cost for parking overnight, but this is Miami and you have to decide whether you want to take the risk of damage/theft in a city garage to save a few bucks.

Overall, a nice Holiday Inn. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear oldhometown99,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your visit to Miami to attend graduation at the University of Miami! I hope that was a great celebration. I am glad you did get a chance to enjoy our location, near so much in Downtown Miami. Happy to hear you enjoyed our staff, and found the parking to be secure. We hope you will come back again soon, for any occassion that brings you back to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.