We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location ....that's about it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #50 of 129 hotels in Miami
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location ....that's about it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here during December 2013, other than the great location for taking a cruise and being located just opposite the Bayfront plaza, not much more going for it.
If all you are looking for is convenience in terms of location, then choose this hotel. Overall not very competitively priced for the standard of the rooms and facilities
The management are aware of the popularity of the hotel for its location and actually do not pay much attention to issues with the standard of the accommodation or the facilities
Would recommend that you rather choose a hotel - and there are many on Ocean Drive that a better ambience and boutique feel.........

Room Tip: Do your research well and compare the hotels along Ocean Drive before settling on this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear RoySingh,

Thank you so much for providing feedback regarding your stay with us! I am pleased you liked our location. I am truly sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We are an older property in Downtown Miami, and we have been recently renovated, and we are constantly working on projects to upgrade our hotel. As the General Manager, I can assure you we all work hard to provide a clean and well maintained property, and strive to insure exceptional service. We do have high standards, and I apologize you did not see that. It is true, we are not a boutique hotel on South Beach, but we do work constantly to insure our standards, product and service are high. I am sorry we dropped the ball during your stay.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    530
    263
    89
    60
See reviews for
387
383
46
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I really liked this hotel. The check in & out process was quick & easy. There's a nice standard pool in the back and a small gym. The decor in the lobby was fun and colorful- just like something I imagined I would see in Miami. They have a memorizing bubble art piece as a room divider. There is a bar and restaurant in the lobby.

The main beach road is directly in front of the hotel but I never heard any road noise. Parking is "valet only" directly behind the hotel, you enter via 4th St.

My room was really large and quite comfortable. Two double beds and a large living area with couch, coffee table and chairs. There was a small microwave and mini fridge under the TV. There was also a desk to work at. My room had a great view of the park and cruise port.

There is just a tiny amount of counter space in the bathroom- not a big deal but just odd. WIFI was iffy- perhaps ok for Facebook? But not adequate to get any work done. I had to switch to my cell carrier to get anything completed.

I had seen reviews that complained about the slow elevators and there were signs saying new high speed ones were going to be installed but I never had an issue. I did try to take the stairs for some exercise but the door at the bottom floor said "emergency use" only so I walked up a flight and then took the elevator down. I wasn't there long enough to ask a staff member if there was a way to use the stairs to get to the lobby..

The best part of this hotel was the location. There's a McDonald's behind the hotel. A CVS drug store about a block away and a 7-11 2 blocks away. There's also a huge Ross in an odd little shopping area about 3 blocks away.

Be warned there are lots of beggars on the streets- during the day/early evening there are also loads of tourists milling around so it's not too creepy. In fact my male business associate told me he engaged several of them in conversation and found out lots of interesting info abut the area. But after about 10pm it's just you and them (for the most part) and as a female traveling alone it's just uncomfortable to constantly be asked for $$.

The Bayside Market place (an open air but covered mall) is right across the street with loads of shops and restaurants. It's open late every day with bands and all kinds of excitement. It's also incredibly crowded even on a Sunday night at 10pm!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay. The rooms are much larger than the back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Jen78703,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your great and detailed comments regarding your stay with us! I appreciate the time that went into that, so we can work on the areas that were a challenge, including Wifi and elevators. We will be complete with our elevator project, having all new elevators in the next couple of months. I do appreciate your patience with that and the Wifi, which we will address. I am happy you found the location great and had an enjoyable stay. We hope you will come back for another visit soon.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for one night before our cruise because it was close to the port. Montana did a great job taking care of us and gave us the perfect room (911). This suite has a wonderful view of the cruise ships and the Bayside Marketplace. Having the Bayside Marketplace close by is a real plus, with plenty of shopping and restaurants. Also, this hotel is very close to Christ Fellowship Church, which is within walking distance of the hotel. We attending Easter Service there and really enjoyed it. We will definitely stay here again, pre-cruise.

Room Tip: Suite 911 is an outstanding room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Ken P,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you had a great stay with us over Easter! I am happy to hear Montana took good care of you. We are fortunate to be located near some wonderful places in Downtown Miami. Great that you were able to attend Easter Service in the neighborhood. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel has an awesome location!
Right across from Bayside shopping/restaurants and close to the port! Short taxi ride to south beach
My husband and I decided to stay 3nights before our cruise. The front desk and bellhops were excellent to deal with. Very friendly and helpful as it was our first visit to Miami.

The room we had was a bit older but it was very clean and functional. Had a good view as well. We had a 3night AAA rate which made it very reasonable price.

The restaurant located there was really good food and breakfast yummy. Our servers were chatty and friendly as well

All over great stay! Would definitely choose this hotel again

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear kormoto,

We are pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and were able to enjoy a few days in Miami! Thank you for choosing out hotel and for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We are fortunate to have an incredible location near so much- Bayside, Port of Miami, shopping, South Beach and much more. We hope you will be back to visit us again on your next trip to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night pre-cruise. Taxi cost $30 including tip from Miami airport. Check in was a breeze. We were attended to by a very cheerful young man. We had asked for, and were allocated, a high floor room overlooking the bay. The room was one of the refurbished ones, and suited us fine. No problems with it whatsoever.
We arrived off a transatlantic flight, and did not feel like food when we arrived. We went a short walk across the road to Bayside shopping mall, then back to bed as we had been travelling for 18 hours.
Next morning we went back over to Bayside and had breakfast at a Cuban café, who did a special of bacon, eggs and coffee for $5.95 if I remember correctly.
Check out was very quick, and the bellboy got us a cab to take us to the ship. Cost was $10 plus tip.
This hotel is perfect for staying a couple of nights either pre or post cruise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear GlasgowRobbo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn and for letting us know you had a wonderful stay! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the staff, location, room, and all we have to offer. We are in a location near so much, with easy access to the airport and the port. Please come back and stay with us again on your next trip back to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed one night prior to a cruise, small room, was all that we required. Breakfast was basic. Paid $250 night which was overpriced even though we booked 6 months in advance. Close to port though. Would stay again if got a better price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear gogo65,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay with us! I am sorry you thought we were overpriced. We do work hard to insure we are a good value and provide our guests with an excellent stay. We do hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here again for three nights pre-cruise and chose it for its location across the road from the Bayside Market and close to other facilities including a good sized CVS drugstore and a couple of liquor stores. With my having limited mobility, this was an important factor in our choice. It had been two years since our previous stay and we were allocated a large room and bathroom with two queen beds, a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. The bathroom had a walk-in shower and a hairdryer. Breakfast was not included in our price but could be obtained in the hotel's restaurant. While showing signs of age, the room proved very comfortable. A problem with the hairdryer and a leaking water inlet to the toilet were quickly dealt with once reported. The biggest problem was the lifts which are ancient and incredibly slow. A notice by the lifts warned of an upcoming upgrade but, unfortunately, was not done while we were there. The front desk staff were all helpful and pleasant and overall, the stay was enjoyable. As a pre or post cruise stop, the hotel is ideal and you can see the cruise port from the rooms. Bayside Market provides a variety of shops, bars and restaurants and we enjoyed a cruise round the local area on one of the sightseeing vessels at the waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear timcyp,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us! I greatly appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve. I am glad you enjoyed our staff, the spacious room, great views, and our convenient location in Downtown Miami. We appreciate you choosing to stay a couple of times. We look forward to seeing you back again on your next cruise out of Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.