We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #43 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Mineola, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here pre-cruise. Right across the street from Bayside Market. CVS one block away. Walls a little thin and the elevators were under repair. Nice restaurant and bar. The hotel has a nice pool area. They gave us 2 cots at no extra charge.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear David W,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! Glad you enjoyed our hotel and the great location we have, near so much in Downtown Miami. Please come back to stay with us again on your next visit to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    667
    341
    104
    71
See reviews for
497
471
60
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Spent one night here before our Feb 3rd cruise and find the location cant be beat. We arrived after noon and was told our room would not be available until 3, at 3:15 it was still not available and had to wait until 3:30. Our room was overlooking the cruise terminal so we had a nice view of the ships in the morning.
They were doing some maintenance on the elevators during our visit so only 2 were working and they were very slow. The staff is very friendly and the room was clean
We do love the fact that Bayside Marketplace is across the street and has a good variety of shops and restaurants. We will definitely stay again next year

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear dyurcho616,

Thank you for staying with us before your cruise and for letting us know you enjoyed your stay! Happy you liked the staff, location, cleanliness and your great view of the bay. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know. We certainly look forward to seeing you back again on your next cruise out of the Port of Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were in between cruises and chose this property because it was close to the port. We arrived there about 10:00 and were told our room was not ready and would be around 16:00. They stored our luggage for us. The main floor has been redone and is very welcoming. Our room was ready on time and we got room 904 which overlooked the port and gave us a great view of the ships. The property is an older one and is in the process of being updated. One of the 3 elevators was closed for updating so the elevator service was a bit slow. Our room was clean, but we could hear every word spoken in the room next to us. Every employee we met was very curteous. There was a restaurant on the property and we noticed that breakfast was only open to guests staying in the hotel. As we didn't need to be ready to board the ship until around 13:00 the hotel extended our departure for an extra hour at no cost. We would stay there again in the future as we believe the renovations will be completed and bring it up to date.

Room Tip: Ask for a port facing room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Greg42,

Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay! I appreciate your patience on our elevators as we are currently replacing all 3 of them. Those should be complete in the next few months, so you can let us know what you think of them when you come back to stay with us. I am happy that you did enjoy the majority of your stay and love our location. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just looking for a reasonably priced hotel near the port of Miami for an overnight before sailing. Found the service and location at this property above average. Arrived early but they managed to find me an upgraded room by 12:30 pm. Had a nice view of the port and cruise ships from the 9th floor. They offer a shuttle to the port fro $5.00 per person of you can take a cab for about $12-15. Restaurant on site...food was average...service at dinner was non-existent but breakfast service was over the top. I would definitely return if taking a cruise. Other eating options available at mall across the street.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear pfs67,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us! I am pleased to hear you like our location near so much in Downtown Miami, great view, service and ease of getting to the Port of Miami. I appreciate your feedback and will review with the team to improve upon our service. We hope to see you back on your next cruise out of Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights the end of January. We were in room 703 which had 2 double beds, a refrigerator, microwave, a sofa and 2 chairs. The room was very large. The view was of Bayside Market and the port. If you want to be close to the port, this would be a good place to stay. The room appeared to be clean and was comfortable.
Because we didn't arrive until 9 p.m. after a day of delayed flights we decided to eat at the restaurant within the hotel. A desk clerk, Montana, had given me a 20% off certificate for the restaurant when we checked in. The food was okay but like most hotels was overpriced. The hostess not only seated us but took our order and she was not friendly at all - while taking our order, she turned around and talked with a server for a few minutes then returned to us.
There are a few restaurants in the area as well as shops across the street in the Bayside Market .
We walked about 13 blocks to a Publix and bought some wine to take on our upcoming cruise along with a few snacks.
As others have mentioned the elevators are a bit slow. The pool is small and has a lot of foot traffic as people have to pass through the area to get to the parking lot.
I really have no major complaints about this hotel, but I don't think I would stay here again. There is no shuttle, no complimentary breakfast - all of which I knew when I booked the hotel.
Check out was quick and we easily caught a taxi out front that took us our cruise ship.

Room Tip: If you are looking for the business center, it is not on the second floor as stated in their literat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear marilynm4310,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us! Your comments can help us improve on our service and amenities. I am glad you enjoyed most of your stay, with the great view and location. We are in process of installing all new elevators and appreciate your patience as we go throught the process. I am so sorry that the Holiday Inn brand does not offer free breakfast at all. We try to provide a great value in a wonderful location for our guests.. Thanks again for taking the time to let us know.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

LOCATION: Excellent location. Close to cruise terminals; walk to Miami Heat's Arena; and Bayside with dining, shopping and entertainment across the street. The hotel does not have shuttle service. If going to the cruise terminal you shouldn't have a problem getting a cab.

THE HOTEL: This is an older property. We had a room with double beds. The room and bathroom are on the small side. Cleanliness is good. The room contains a smaller size LG flat screen TV. The spacious closet has a key safe. Be forewarned the hotel has no heating system The temperature got down to the mid-40s at night and the room was quite cool. The hotel has a limited supply of portable radiators.

CONNECTING ROOM ISSUE: Unless you want a connecting room, try to avoid. We could hear EVERYTHING from our next room neighbors.

ELEVATORS: The hotel is replacing or overhauling the elevators. Only 2 of the 3 were working; also serves as a freight elevator. Don't know when the project will be completed. Can be a big problem.

HERE ON BUSINESS? We had free WI-FI. If you need workspace, you may not be too happy. Our room had no desk; just a square table in the corner.

FRUSTRATING HOTEL RESTAURANT (MARINO'S BAR & GRILL): We arrived at the hotel very hungry shortly after 2 PM from the airport. No food service. Restaurant closed from 2 PM until 6 PM. So we went to Bubba Gump's across the street at Bayside. In the evening we were at Bayside but I wanted to eat at the hotel. We stood and were ignored at the hostess stand for 4-5 minutes. Finally I sought a server who told me she'd be over in a few minutes. Upon arrival she said she couldn't seat us for about 20 minutes. Why we asked with numerous empty tables. "The kitchen is too busy." We departed and went back to Bayside for dinner and spent our $91. The third attempt to patronize the place was Sunday morning when, finally, everything was fine. (This is not an "Express" Holiday Inn so the breakfast is not complimentary.)

OBSERVANT CATHOLIC? If going on a Sunday cruise, there is the Jesuit Gesu Church two blocks south and 2 blocks west at NE 2nd St. and NE 1st Ave. Saturday Mass at 4 PM; Sunday Masses at 8:30 AM, 10:00 AM, 11:30 AM and 1:00 PM.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear ChicagoKen60657,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay with us! I am glad you enjoyed our great location near so much in Downtown Miami. We work to continuously upgrade our hotel and the service we provide. We are currently getting all new elevators to greatly improve the speed, and we appreciate your patience as we go through that process. We will be completed in the next couple of months. We do thank you for your comments so we can improve.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Toilet leaked. Not enough electrical sockets and couple of them didn't even work? Elevators didn't always work either.
Pillows had no support. A lot of noise made it hard to sleep good too.
At $300 a night I guess I just expected a little more

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear ConquerNH,

Thank you for the helpful feedback from your stay with us! I am sorry your stay was not completely comfortable. One good thing is that we are getting all new elevators as we speak that will be much faster. We appreciate your comments that we can use to improve the hotel. I hope you will give us another try on your next trip to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.