We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com IHG
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #54 of 131 hotels in Miami
DE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Hotel is located right across from shops and restaurant. Room was clean,and the bed was comfy. There was some upgrades being done to the hotel while we were there but it didn't bother us. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear ochunreef,

Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed staying with us! Glad you liked our great location near so much in Downtown Miami. We are happy you found the rooms clean and the beds comfortable. We hope you come back and visit us on your next trip to Miami!

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    493
    259
    91
    56
See reviews for
345
348
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We asked for a room facing the port on a high floor and that is what we got!

A very large and comfortable bedroom and lovely bathroom.

Having arrived from the UK, we were awake at 4am. We opened the curtains and saw our ship arriving. When we logged onto the Port of Miami webcam, the picture was exactly the same as what we could see!

Opposite is a lovely shopping and restaurant area.

Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear timetraveller_20110,

Thank you for letting us know how great your stay was with us! What a great view as you could see your ship coming into port from your window. We are lucky to have such amazing views and a great location. We hope you had a great cruise as well. Please come back and visit us again on your next cruise out of Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night pre-cruise on 12/14. Check in was easy. The front desk was efficient, but they didn't exactly wow me with personality. We had 3 rooms on the 6th floor. One room was 604, which faces the bay with a view of the ships in the morning - very nice. 604 happens to be right across from the elevators, but I didn't notice any noise issues at all, and I am a light sleeper, so I was happy. The room was clean, the bathroom was a bit small but not claustrophobic. We walked across the street to a Bayside, and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Bubba Gump's. In the morning we walked the 2 blocks to CVS to pick up our soda & wine for the cruise. Now for the negative: the elevators were dreadful. We were 6 people with 12 bags total, so we used a luggage cart to bring everything down. After waiting HALF AN HOUR, we ladies & one older gentleman with some mobility issues finally trudged down the stairs. He made the best of it and took his time getting down 6 flights of stairs. Finally after about another 15 minutes, we were in the lobby waiting when the other 2 men finally emerged from the elevator with our luggage. They got off with another guy who said he'd waited 45 minutes for one of the two working elevators. Between the fact that it did seem as if everyone was leaving at the same time, & the fact that the elevators were excruciatingly slow, simply getting downstairs was a ridiculous challenge. On the bright side, the concierge was very busy, but did arrange a &5 per person shuttle to take us to the port.
If I cruise out of a Miami again, I would seriously consider this hotel again. The location is great, with much to offer right around the hotel. They just need to do something about those horrible elevators.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear tib3322,

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us! Happy to hear you had great service, clean room and liked the location. We appreciate your feedback. Good news on the elevators....we are in the process of getting all new elevators. I am sincerely sorry for the headache you went through while you were here! One of the elevators is being changes now, and the other two right after, with total completion by next summer. Our new elevators will also be much faster. Please come back again when you come to Miami so we can show you how quick the new elevators will be!

Best Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel the night before we were to depart for our cruise. This was an ok Holiday Inn. Looks like they are undergoing a lot of upgrades and renovations. One of the best things about this hotel is it's location. It's about a 5 minute ride to the ports. It's about a 5 - 10 minute walk to the Miami Heat stadium. Also, it's directly across the street from shopping and many restaurants. So there's plenty in the area to occupy your time. The check in staff was nice and friendly. My only complaint is the size of the bathroom. I found it to be very small. The size of the room that we had was very large. Plenty of space to move around. Considering the size of the room, I don't understand why the bathroom was so small. If I'm ever in the area again and looking for a place to lay my head for a night before a cruise, I'd consider this location again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear L R,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us! I am glad you enjoyed the location, which is convenient to the Port of Miami, shopping and much more. We do have large rooms and appreciate your feedback on our bathrooms. We do hope you will come stay with us again on your next trip to Miami!

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was alright there was no parking, we had to pay an aditional $25 to park outside, no fridge or microwave in the room, if you are on transit you might find it useful but best recomment to look around there areplenty of hotels that fits your budget

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear A Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your stay! I am glad you found it to be ok, but wish you would have enjoyed your stay more. Most hotels in Downtown Miami have valet parking like we do, and we offer a lower rate than most. We try to make sure we offer a good value for our guests. I appreciate your suggestions for refrigerators and microwaves. I do hope you enjoyed Miami and all we have to offer. Thank you again for your feedback!

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ontario Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family (2 kids and Grandma and Grandpa along with my husband and I) spent 2 nights prior to our cruise. The best thing about this property is the location. I emailed the manager a month before our trip asking for a room facing the cruise port and they responded saying they were happy to be able to gets us a room as requested. We loved spending time shopping, dining, live music at night, plus plus plus at Bayside right across the road. When we arrived, we went to the CVS 2 blocks south for some beer and wine, juice and snacks for the room. Our rooms weren't ready when they were supposed to be, for hours actually so make sure you pack your patience. They did store our luggage so we could go explore. The pool was small but our kids loved it. The elevators were a disaster leaving to the port so give yourselves extra time. I think the entire hotel was leaving on a cruise the morning we checked out... It was nuts. We paid $5 / person for a large van to the cruise port. It was great as we all went together, the hotel concierge organized it for us.
All in all, the hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. We really loved the location which will most likely bring us back. My husband and Father in law went deep sea fishing right from Bayside dock which they loved. Then, Largo Bar and Grill cooked their fish for a family feast that night. It was great... All convenient because of location!

Room Tip: Higher floor facing cruise port. We were 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear LDTwinMom,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the location. We are fortunate to have a great location near so much in Downtown Miami- Port of Miami, Bayside, AA Arena, shopping, and much more. We are in the process of getting all new elevators that will be faster. That is why 1 was not working during your stay, and we are looking forward to having all new elevators. Thank you for your patience! Please come back again to visit us on your next trip to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

It's all about the location. This hotel is very well situated. The bayside market is just across the street. There are restaurants and a lot of shops. There is a CVS pharmacy 2 minutes walk from the hotel. There is also a McDonalds and a Subways nearby. The rooms were newly renovated. The bathroom was a bit small and dirty. The hotel hallways and elevator were very old and not renovated. The lobby was very modern and beautiful. Shuttle to the Dolphin mall available 3 times a day for 10$ for roundtrip per person. Overall, this hotel is at a premier location. The hotel by itself is good but not excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear MonctonAcadien,

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us! I am happy to hear we have a great location, allowing you to visit so much in Downtown Miami. We do have the best location for cruising, shopping, dining and so much more. I appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you back again on your next trip to Miami!

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami
Miami Holiday Inn
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list