We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #51 of 130 hotels in Miami
West Bloomfield Township, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Excellent Customer Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the location to the cruise port and Bayside mall (my favorite) but what we got was SO much more! Our room wasn't quite ready at check-in and we had to wait about 15 min. It was after 4pm so I wasn't real happy about the wait but the hotel clerk, Montana, gave us a GREAT room for our honeymoon (8/30/13) - It was very clean and updated, very large room with an EXCELLENT VIEW of everything. The breakfast buffet was excellent, the bar staff was very nice. Our only regret - we were there only 1 night - we could have stayed forever. Montana is an empowered employee who definitely went ABOVE AND BEYOND to ensure we had a great honeymoon - we would definitely stay at this hotel again when we come back to Miami - Thanks Montana for the excellent customer service!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear StaceyHD4u,

Congratulations on your wedding! I am so happy we were able to help make your trip more memorable and that Montana took great care of you. We are fortunate to have a wonderful location near Bayside, the Port of Miami and other great places. Please come back to stay with us on your next trip to Miami. We wish you the best!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    531
    267
    92
    61
See reviews for
371
377
45
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is located directly accross Bayside Market, walking distance to the American Airlines Center and close to the port. We stayed here prior to our cruise. The room was small and in need of renovations. Check in went well and staff were helpful in getting us tickets to a near sold out Heats basketball game. Stepping out of the hotel onto the sidewalk, I did not feel very safe as there were always groups of people hanging out there who I don't beleive were people staying at the hotel.
Friends who were staying at the this hotel with us were very unlucky and got there passports stolen from their room. Hotel management were not very helpful in this situation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear NatJ27,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are truly sorry to hear of your disappointments regarding your experience during your stay. We have taken note of your comments and rest assured that your these will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and leaving us your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We got a room here at the last minute. There was a cancellation so we were happy to grab it. Everything was sold out in the area. The room was AWESOME!!! The bed was big plush and so comfortable. After the long day of traveling this was the perfect hotel for us. Really nice, updated, clean and friendly staff. Will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear mikehunt169,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your great stay at the Holiday Inn Port of Miami! We are happy you loved the hotel and great location. We hope to see you back in the near future on your next trip to Miami!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Although a few months ago now, we had a great stay here, pre and post cruise.

Our first room was smelly, in a clean sense! An air freshener had been sprayed and it affected my kids and I. We arrived late so didn't say anything, and just went to bed.
The next day I mentioned this at check out and they were very attentive and made a note of this for our next visit, post cruise. On arrival back for our second stay at check-in the manager came and assured us the room had been cleaned with no-scent products and it was great (and clean for you cynics who think they just didn't clean it!!). I was impressed with this.

We actually found the pool area very clean and although small, a great bonus to have an outdoor pool in a city. You often don't get that. The kids loved it and it was a nice place to hang out with a drink.

The location is perfect here. We really enjoyed walking across the road to bayside, which had some great restaurants, and there was a drugstore/grocer just a couple of blocks away.

Breakfast was busy, with a long wait, but nice. Expensive though. We walked across to bayside to starbucks for our second stay.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Anita N,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Port of Miami! We are so happy you loved the hotel, staff and the great location. We have a lot in the neighborhood near the Port of Miami, Bayside and lots of attractions. Please keep us in mind on your next visit to Miami!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TULSA, OK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Any time we take a cruise out of Miami we always stay here the day before we leave. We enjoy walking across the street to the Bayside Market. You can find great restaurants and shopping there. It's a great start to our vacation. We really enjoy the bar, restaurant and pool at the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: We like the rooms with a view of Bayside Market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sewjunko,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Port of Miami-Downtown! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know your stay was great. I am happy you enjoy our location and all there is to offer in the area. We hope you will continue staying with us on all your future trips to Miami and that we will see you again very soon!

Regard,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

When we got to the hotel our room was not ready, they held our bags for us. When we were finally able to check in they gave us a room with two beds. We ordered our room online for a king, we went down stairs told them its not what we paid for and were hassled about changing. Told we would have to take it up with the company we ordered from. I asked for a different in cost refund. They finally gave us a room with one bed. The pool was like bath water and dirty. Only thing we liked was we were with friends and family and close to port.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Tara H.,

Thank you for your time in giving us feedback regarding your stay with us! I am glad you enjoyed time with friends and family and our location in Downtown Miami. I am sorry about the delay in getting you a room with a king bed and am happy you finally got the room you wanted. I am looking into the concern about the pool you had and appreciate you letting us know so we can fix it. Again, thank you for the feedback so we can improve.

Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is one of those hotels where the rating all depends on what you're looking for. We just needed a place to sleep for one night while visiting Miami to check out the new Marlins ballpark and this Holiday Inn worked well. As others have said, the already-small parking lot is under construction so there are very few spaces, but we were able to get a spot when we arrived late afternoon on a Saturday. When initially checking in they actually didn't even ask if we had a car. When it occurred to me I would need a tag to hang in the windshield, I went back and inquired about the parking fee. It was $12, but they waived it when I pointed out my membership in their Priority Rewards club (free). So that was better than the bottled water you usually get. (Also, if you do have to pay the $12 is the lowest parking charge I saw for any of the downtown hotels.) The hotel itself was very average; the two-double room was a good enough size and was clean. We had a higher room with view towards the bay (which I had requested in advance). The small pool is wedged in behind the back of the hotel and the parking lot; okay for a quick dip but certainly not one that you'd want to lounge around with a drink. There is a restaurant and bar, but it is not open late. For a downtown hotel, the best thing this hotel has going for it is location. Taking a cab to the Marlins game was less than $20 including tip and only about 10 minutes. The hotel is directly across from the Bayside marketplace, which has a ton of bars and restaurants. It's also the place to get sightseeing cruises; there are several companies with different tours. We took one of the Millionaire's Row cruises and found it pretty good. So overall, this is an average hotel in a good location for local sightseeing. If you're looking for a resort atmosphere with bells and whistles, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a decent hotel for a short stay at a fairly low price, you'll be happy here. Especially if you don't have to worry about parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear nifty16,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us! I am glad you enjoyed the location here and were able to see a lot of great things there are to offer in Miami not far from the hotel. I appreciate you suggestions on how we can improve some of the things we have to offer. We will certainly look at those areas. We hope to see you back again on your next trip to Miami. Thank you again for your valuable feedback!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.