We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #50 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Summerton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Thankfully, my husband read more about the hotel parking than I did. We missed our turn to get to the parking lot which is located behind the hotel but we got around to where we needed to be. The Holiday Inn Express at the Port of Miami has 200 rooms and parking for approximately 50 vehicles. We got a parking place and decided we would not move the car until we were leaving to go to the ship. Since the parking is in the rear of the hotel, you go through the pool area to get to the lobby. Thankfully there are signs to get you where you need to go.

As I walked into the lobby of the Holiday Inn at the Port of Miami, I was impressed. It was nicely decorated and spacious. (There was a note in the brochure given to us about the hotel that indicated that they are in the last phase of an extensive renovation). Cool without being cold in temperature. The gentleman who checked us in, Montana, was very personable and helpful. Do not know if he really gave us the best room they had but he sold me on it. Did receive some perks as a priority club member (no charge for parking) but not what I normally get (bottle of water and a snack). However I will take the free parking (charge is $12 a day). I can buy my own water and snack. There is a CVS approximately 1.5 blocks south on the same side of the road as the hotel. Montana made sure to provide me with info on the hotel including the restaurant (no complimentary breakfast like many HI), pool hours, wifi info, elevator location and a brochure on the Bayside Marketplace which is located across the street from the hotel. There are 3 elevators for 10 floors. One was working and honestly, it was a little bit of a bumpy ride. The other elevators were working by the next evening and a much smoother ride. We arrived at our floor and went into our room. If Montana is right and we have the best room available, then he did not lie. 10th floor facing east towards the Bayside Marketplace and the Port of Miami. Very roomy. I did think the mattress had seen better days. I sat down then laid down on the king sized bed and proceeded to automatically roll into the bed. Weeeeeeeeeee! Lol! May need to update the mattresses.
We decided to walk over to the marketplace, eat and get some exercise after traveling all day. Enjoyed what they had to offer but we were very tired and decided to go back to the hotel to call it a night. Bed slept ok (weeeeee) and not much noise that we could hear. Of course that may have been because we were so tired. Not sure. Will stay here again and suggest others stay here especially if you are going on a cruise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the pro(s) and con(s) of your hotel stay which give us the opportunity to learn and improve at the same time. While I am pleased with the good comment, please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    546
    269
    90
    61
See reviews for
406
396
49
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Was my second stay in this hotel in the last two years. Both were very good experiences.
Room and facilities very clean and courteous personnel. Good restaurant with reasonable prices.
Good parking facilities with 24 hours security. Shopping Center (Bay Side Shopping) is across the street, with fast foods and a variety of different stores.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest, it gives a great pleasure to know that we met once again the high expectation of your hotel stay overall. Everyday we strive and most important take every effort to deliver great service to our guests. We would definitely look forward to welcome you again in your third visit to Miami on behalf of the Holiday Inn Family!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel's location is very convenient since it is beside the bayside and the American Airlines arena. We were there during the NBA game 7 finals were the Miami Heat won the championship. There sure was a crowd in the bayside area. parking was full so it was very convenient for us to be right beside it.
The rooms were clean, the room quite large for the value we paid for. One problem they had was the elevator. It was always out of order and the wait is sometimes long.
They were very helpful when they helped us with our car requirement and directions.
I was just disappointed when I requested the hotel if I could leave my baggage while I go to Puerto Rico since I was going back to the same hotel in 2 days. I guess they say it was a federal government policy not to allow leaving of baggages.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view of the bayside and AA arena
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank You for choosing Holiday Inn Port of Miami as your hotel of preference. We appreciate your valuable comments. As you had mentioned, the hotel is in a prime location within walking distance from the most popular areas in Downtown Miami. At the same time we would like to apologize as the hotel is going through high level renovations to provide a better product to our loyal guests. Indeed we would like to welcome back to our promises and see you in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good location but the room was very small and dated( but clean) we had city view but there wasn't a balcony where we could stay and enjoy. The outside pool was great but has a lack of view :(
The front staff it seamed to me a bit off as we had to wait for their help several occasions -not being on front or changing their shift and avoiding the guest- I had the feeling that this had to do with the fact that I was there with my friends, all being in our 20s; you know event if we are not wearing the "tie" but the casual clothes(vacation)it doesn't mean we don t need the help and attention . The staff was more attentive to the older guests. We re still paying the same price for the rooms.aftet a few bad experiences with FD we avoided the area and enjoyed the vacation !
Great breakfast bar!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
First of all, we would like to say Thank You for choosing our hotel for your stay. At the same time, we would like to apologize if the perception perceive was not a great one. We definitely strive to deliver great service to every single guest everyday without any exception at all. We will definitely address your statement and will take proper action accordingly. We will kindly ask you to give us an opportunity to turn things around for a better perspective. We look forward to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was clearly an old hotel, with a reasonable amount of effort put in to refurb it. Nicely presented lobby area. Rooms are old with lots of new paint and new sheets and furniture - but the old motel feel still is there to be seen underneath. Need to do a bit more work on the bathrooms and the safe is just an old key job rather than digital.
Location is ok for a short stay or a ore cruise thing. Not much in the area and not the safest feel after dark. Overall not too bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest, we would like to Thank You for taking the time to express your points about your hotel stay. The hotel is going through an intensive renovation and we are taking the necessary actions to better our hotel areas overall. We would consider taking your valuable opinion and making sure that it reaches to the respective departments accordingly. Once again thank you and we are looking forward to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I gave it a 4 stars due to the great location when cruise is part of the reason you're staying at this Holiday Inn. Hotel overall is average with avg service, room, and cleanliness. But, due to the fact that my family just walked right over to the cruise terminal was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to kindly Thank You for choosing Holiday Inn to be the hotel of stay prior to your cruise ship. Indeed our location is unique and very popular in the local area and for the most part is a plus for our hotel guests. We are looking forward to see you again our premises for your next cruise ship journey!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maale Adumim
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and i booked one night at the Port of Miami before going on a cruise. We arrived at noon and the room , very large, clean and comfortable , was ready. The only thing that was not ok was the fact that i could not open the window.
The hotel located within a few minutes walk from the Bayside Marketplace and there is variety of restaurants, cafes and shops.
we arrived very easily, by train , from MIA airport .
Hotel has a washing machine that works with coins.
Although we had short stay we enjoyed very much and hope to come back someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest, We are delighted that your stay in our hotel was a memorable one. Utmost we always strive to make every effort for ours guests to have an enjoyable stay and indeed share their expectations as well. We are definitely looking forward to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#43 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.