We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough Miami Downtown Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #50 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice enough Miami Downtown Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was clearly an old hotel, with a reasonable amount of effort put in to refurb it. Nicely presented lobby area. Rooms are old with lots of new paint and new sheets and furniture - but the old motel feel still is there to be seen underneath. Need to do a bit more work on the bathrooms and the safe is just an old key job rather than digital.
Location is ok for a short stay or a ore cruise thing. Not much in the area and not the safest feel after dark. Overall not too bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest, we would like to Thank You for taking the time to express your points about your hotel stay. The hotel is going through an intensive renovation and we are taking the necessary actions to better our hotel areas overall. We would consider taking your valuable opinion and making sure that it reaches to the respective departments accordingly. Once again thank you and we are looking forward to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    540
    267
    90
    60
See reviews for
400
393
49
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I gave it a 4 stars due to the great location when cruise is part of the reason you're staying at this Holiday Inn. Hotel overall is average with avg service, room, and cleanliness. But, due to the fact that my family just walked right over to the cruise terminal was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to kindly Thank You for choosing Holiday Inn to be the hotel of stay prior to your cruise ship. Indeed our location is unique and very popular in the local area and for the most part is a plus for our hotel guests. We are looking forward to see you again our premises for your next cruise ship journey!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maale Adumim
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and i booked one night at the Port of Miami before going on a cruise. We arrived at noon and the room , very large, clean and comfortable , was ready. The only thing that was not ok was the fact that i could not open the window.
The hotel located within a few minutes walk from the Bayside Marketplace and there is variety of restaurants, cafes and shops.
we arrived very easily, by train , from MIA airport .
Hotel has a washing machine that works with coins.
Although we had short stay we enjoyed very much and hope to come back someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest, We are delighted that your stay in our hotel was a memorable one. Utmost we always strive to make every effort for ours guests to have an enjoyable stay and indeed share their expectations as well. We are definitely looking forward to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

HOTEL AND ROOM:
The hotel itself, is nice and clean and it has a pool. The rooms are nice, beds are comfortable but I personnaly thought that the pillows were the worst I had in an hotel. You have a safe, there's a little room with an ironing board and place to hang clothes. It would have been nice to have a mini bar as we could put some little things in the fridge, but every floor except floor 6 and 9 has a ice machine and if you really want a fridge badly, hotel can provide one for 10$ a day. We had the first room next to the elevator, I was a little bit annoyed by the sound of the ring everytime someone would come on or leave the floor. The good thing is that at some point in the night it stops, but maybe you could avoid being near the elevator or the ice machine. Also, if you get a room on the pool side, make sure you take I'd say 6th floor or higher or you'll get a crappy view on roof and concrete.

POOL:
I read some people were disapointed about the fact that the pool is small... It is small but it did not matter to me, I was glad that you could choose a shadow or a sun side when you're in it. What made me sad is that it closes at 10pm, the time when we came back every night so I could not use it at night...

PARKING :
If you plan on going there with a car, you have to know that the parking lot is limited to 50 cars and if you use your car in the day there's almost no chance that you will be able to park your car there except if you park at the end of the afternoon and they charge 10$ a day. Since we could not park our car, we had to look for another otpion and you can pay up to 25$ for a night in surronding parkings. We were more then happy to find a parking that offers to park from 6pm to 9am for 5$, not even 5 minutes walk from the Holiday Inn: it is the College Station Garage and it is located on the corner of NE 3rd St and NE 2nd ave.

SURRONDINGS:
Well, you're directly in front of the bayside market, you can go in restaurants and take cruises or différents trips from there. There also is the arena for basketball right next, but then ? Downtown is really boring at night and you don't feel safe staying out and walking around for a long time. There is homeless people everywhere and almost no one esle. After about 7 or 8, almost everything is closed except the seven eleven... We would definitely have choosen a miami beach hotel if we had visited the surrondings before. The good thing is that metromover is 2 min walk from the hotel. In the day, surrondings are ok but if you plan on doing things after 7 and you don't have a car, get ready to watch TV :p

STAFF:
Staff at the front desk were very nice to us. They made sure everything was ok and that we were happy about our stay. We had trouble with the maid, that did not clean mugs and put shampoo or coffee and even decided not to change linens when we asked for it. Then again, when I reported it to the desk they urged to change the linens and gave us more coffee, mugs, shampoo and anything then we needed. I was not so bad, we were just unlucky for that I guess.

CONCLUSION
I would not go back, not for the hotel itself but the location was really not ideal for us. If it would have been some place else, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
First of all, Thank You for choosing our hotel to be the one during your long stay in Miami. At the same time, we would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge all your points and put them in perspective as we strive to deliver a great service to our guests above from average. We are looking forward to take the necessary actions to ensure that your next visit is an impeccable one and for the most part a memorable one. Once again Thank You!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nice hotel right across the street from Bayside. The only issue when arriving is where to park. The parking lot is behind the hotel and with all the one way streets it can be confusing to find. The hotel was very clean. We stayed on a Sunday night so the hotel was not full of cruisers like it would be on Friday and Saturday. I have stayed here before, when going on a cruise and it can be very hectic. Being across the street from Bayside makes this the perfect hotel. Lots of shopping and dining options. The rooms are a little dated but clean. Anytime I am in Miami this is where I stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest, on behalf of the Holiday Inn Family we would like to Thank You for sharing your hotel experience with us. At the same time, the hotel is going through some high level renovations which in the long run will benefit our loyal guests. We will definitely forward your comments to the respective departments for a proper follow up. Once again we appreciate your loyalty and we are looking forward to once again make your next visit a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After flying in from LA I was very happy with the location and standard of the Holiday Inn.The rooms were clean and very well laid out.Location wise it was directly over the road from the bayside area .The only downside was the fact that they do not offer a shuttle service from the airport or too the cruise ships.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest, We would like to express our gratitude and thank you for taking the time to rate our premises. At the same time for the most part we had met your high expectations and that makes us feel very proud. In regards to our location, our hotel is situated in a prime area and it gives the opportunity to our guests to easily reach any destination yet to be. We are looking forward to see you in your next visit in Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked one night at the Port of Miami because we were going on a cruise the next day. The location is one you cannot beat. It is right across from the Bayside Marketplace where we spent a lot of time. Its also across from where the Miami Heat basketball team plays. The lobby was very spacious and bright. I cannot remember the gentleman's name who helped us but he was very accomodating. Our second room was not ready but he called us to let us know when it was ready. He also answered every question I had before I asked it. The biggest issue I had was the wifi connection. It was terrible. I am so glad it was free because I would not have paid for it. The signal was so weak even in the lobby. Our room was on the 9th floor and we had asked for a room overlooking the bay and we had just that. Could not beat that view. We got to see our cruise ship the next morning too. Our door seemed stuck every time we tried to open it. I cannot remember the room number now but it was directly across from the elevators. I know the hotel was still having some renovations done and maybe they would be working on the doors next? Either way we had to shove into it quite hard to get it to open each time. The pool is super tiny so we didn't go out and use it but we were not in the hotel much either. We walked up and down Biscayne Blvd. and took in the sights. We ate in the restaurant too (appetizers and drinks on Friday evening) and it was pretty good. This is the perfect hotel to stay in if you're cruising out. We will definitely stay here again if we cruise out of Miami again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to Thank You for staying staying in our premises. At the same time even though there some miscues here and there, your stay was still a memorable one. Yes, the hotel had been going through renovations but yet is to deliver a great product to our loyal guests. Must definitely we would take proper actions on those facts that you have mentioned accordingly. We are looking forward to see again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#42 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.