We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Superb Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #54 of 131 hotels in Miami
cheshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Superb Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We made our booking last autumn well in advance of our stay so as to get a good rate (if you are of a certain age check out the Holiday Inn website and take advantage of their senior citizens rates) and where a little concerned at some of the reviews on Trip Advisor however everything went fine for us.
We where only staying one night on a whistle stop tour of Miami and arrived at 9am so that we could do the all day bus tour and thought that we would have problems parking as we had read that the hotel car park is very small, however no problem the car park attendant was very helpful and double parked another car to give us a space, we then left our luggage with the concierge and were off.
All the hotel staff that we dealt with where very polite and helpful and we had a great view of the port from our room 804 (the only downside was that this room was just across from the elevator so was a bit noisy).
Yes this hotel is showing signs of age but understand that it is being updated and the location so close to everything makes it the ideal stop over we will be back.

Room Tip: Request high floor room for great view of bay but avoid rooms close to elevators as they can be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review of your recent stay with us. Our hotel is located very convenient to the Port Of Miami as well as local venues and we are pleased to know that was accommodating for you during your stay. We are also very pleased that you found our staff to be very helpful and pleasant and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We would like to express our grattitude and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    494
    259
    91
    56
See reviews for
346
349
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at this Holiday Inn again because unfortunately this is the best deal in the best location. Arrived and the hotel lobby had been updated and very mod. They where still working on the pool so had to detour to get to it but hey what can you do. We were greeted by a dead roach on the floor.Our room was in the perfect position ( the front) we could see the mall across the way and the port with all the ships. The room was ok. There were stains on the chairs. What really made us mad ( because there is always something.. ALWAYS) We rented a car.. the parking lot is for tiny and was full. We didn't stay out late because we wanted to get a parking spot in the lot but there were none because they let anyone with a car park. We ended up having to park in the busy lot owned by the mall I guess. We even saw people park and go to the mall. How do you let anyone park with out asking for a room key?? Check out was painless and cabs outside. Busy area also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the positives and the areas of opportunities to improve. Whilst I am delighted that you are pleased with our new lobby, the efficiency at check-out and the accessibility to transportation, we truly value the unpleasant encounters you faced as this gives us the chance to improve the quality of the experience offered. Please accept our apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay while the hotel was being renovated. We have then since completed our renovations and are continually reviewing the service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here 10 years ago so we decided to try it again. You can't beat the location. Right across the street from Bayside. What I wasn't happy about was the mold all over the ceiling in the room. And the fact that I booked my room months in advance and requested a king bed. When I checked in, they put me in a room with 2 doubles (which looked very small). They didn't have any king bed rooms left. I found this strange since not only did I book the room months in advance, but I PAID for it months in advance as well. They never should have given my room away. Friends of ours also couldn't get their king room, and were upgraded to a suite. I was given a room with a crappy view (and this was my 10 year anniversary night before a cruise). Doubt I would stay there again because of this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Port of Miami – Downtown. Our sincerest apologies that the inconveniences you experienced led to a less than perfect stay at our hotel. Please know that reviews like yours receive high priority attention so that corrective measures can be taken. I assure you we have addressed your comments with the staff. 100% guest satisfaction and service are top priorities! If your travels ever bring you back will reconsider and visit us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stay here every time I go on a cruise out of Miami. Great location. Right across the street from Bayside Marketplace. Food, drinks, speedboat attraction, and shopping, just steps away from the hotel. Get the breakfast with your stay. The buffet is great!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper choose a room away from Biscayne Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review on your stays with us. We hope your cruise went well. We're so happy you found our location to be quite convenient and we are especially delighted that you enjoyed our buffet. We look forward to seeing you on your next cruise from Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Conveniently situated this is a well run friendly hotel with clean and functional rooms. But... there was only one lift working plus a service lift. We were on the sixth floor and the lifts were full when they reached us. We asked a member of staff where the stairs were and he directed us to a fire escape which had no access to the lobby. It took twenty minutes to get from our room to the lobby. If you want a convenient hotel room to stay in this is perfect. If you want to actually get out of the hotel it is not for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I know what your thinking Holiday Inn Really??? But yes I love a place that concentrates their efforts on keeping their rooms clean and they do a hell of a job!!! If anyone reading this have any doubts please send me an email. The mall across the street is nice and also you're within walking distance from American Arena...watch a game or got to Bongos Nightclub which is owned by Gloria Estafan...Great Job Holiday Inn and your staff at Port of Miami!!!! I will be back next year!!

Room Tip: I was on the southwest side of the hotel....10TH Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review!!!! We appreciate it so very much and are so glad that our team made your travel experience one to remember!! We are extrememly pleased that our staff provided you with great service during your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you next year if not sooner. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port FL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've stayed at this particular hotel twice, and you simply cannot get any closer to the Port of Miami, literally right across the street and around the corner. Additionally, a short walk across Biscayne Blvd will take you to the Bayside Marketplace with it's plethora of great restaurants and array of shops. The only downside of staying here is the parking situation.

The hotel has a small parking lot located directly behind the hotel. They do charge for parking, but then it's "first-come, first-served," and although you paid for it, you may not be able to find a spot because the lot isn't big enough to accomodate all of the hotel's guests. In the past, I've gotten around this little bump in the road by checking in as early as possible - when your chances of getting a spot in the lot are better - and then taking advantage of venues within walking distance so that I didn't have to move the car again until we checked out.

On my first stay, we opted for a suite on the seventh floor - it was pricey, but you cannot beat the view. There's something about waking up on cruise morning and being able to see your ship out of the window -- an exciting moment to be sure.

On my second stay, I opted for a lesser expensive room on a lower floor - no view, but still adequate. You have to remember this is an older hotel building, and although it's been renovated, it still shows signs of wear and tear.

During both of my stays, we found the personnel to be somewhat helpful, but not award-winning. We had breakfast once in the restaurant, and there were no complaints. Nowadays when we cruise, we don't often stay this close to the port, as we have our car with us which gives us a lot more options for hotel locations. But once in a while, you owe it to yourself to just cough up that extra cash and treat yourself to an invigorating view of your cruise ship while you're sipping your morning coffee!

Room Tip: Seventy floor suites have a great view of the port, but it's going to cost you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. In reading your review you mention how convenient our location is to the Port and Bayside Marketplace and we are happy to read that you found that accommodating on your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the view from your room.

Sorry to read that you had some challenges with our hotel parking and I will discuss your concerns with management for future stays. We hope the cruise was a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami
Miami Holiday Inn
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.