We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for cruising” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #50 of 129 hotels in Miami
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice for cruising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is very nice if u need to stay before or after cruising. Right across from bayside mall. Very nice comfortable beds. Room r clean. Very nice view of bay from our room on 8 th floor. Walking distance from lots of area attractions. Great service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Our location is very convenient to some of the main attractions in the Downtown Miami area and we are pleased to know that was helpful for you during your stay. It is always a pleasure to hear that you experienced great service at our hotel. We hope the cruise was a great one and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    528
    260
    89
    60
See reviews for
385
380
45
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We were back to this hotel for the 3rd time and stayed for 2 nights before embarking on our cruise. Upgrades near completion and the common areas look amazing. Front desk staff are always welcoming and again accommodated our request for a room with a view. Pool area was upgraded with new seating and we took full advantage each morning and evening. We stayed on the 9th floor and not a sound could be heard from other guests. Breakfast in the restaurant was always a pleasure and we like how they give you a disposable coffee cup to take your coffee with you - again to the pool area we headed! We plan to return again next year and once our dates are confirmed, we'll be booking. Great job guys, see you next year!


Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words! We are delighted to hear that your third stay was yet another consistently pleasant one. Thank you for sharing that our Front Office staff was welcoming and accommodating and that the service received in the restaurant was also pleasant. We're so happy you found our hotel to be excellent and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Nice hotel in front of Miami's Biscayne bay market place. The hotel was clean and welcoming. Spacious room. $200 bucks a night. The price is fair.
The Biscayne bay market place is a great spot for hanging out and trying a mojito from the mojito bar. Live entertainment nightly. We happen to catch a salsa band playing. Enjoyable. The prices at the market place are expensive. We ate dinner at mambos. The waiter was hustling way too hard; attempting to up sell everything.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words! We're so happy you found our hotel and staff to be welcoming and hope that next time you're in Miami you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My father and I came down to Miami for a cruise. We stayed at the hotel just one night. I picked this hotel because it was close to the Port of Miami and the transit line. Also the Bayside Market is directly across the street. There are some good restaurants and shops there. It's also located a couple of blocks from the American Airlines arena.

The negative side to the hotel was that they only have three elevators. One of the elevators was out of order and the other two had issues with the doors closing from time to time. While we were there, we had to wait a good amount of time for one of the elevators to come to our floor. This may be fine when the hotel is not too busy.

The continental breakfast was okay. All the fruit, pastries, and cereal were free but if you wanted anything from the hot side or juice, there is a charge. The only free beverages are water and coffee.

I would say that I was disappointed some with this hotel. I've stayed at many Holiday Inns and this has to be one of the lowest grade I've stayed in. I can't say if I would stay there again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear CUTiger81,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience our elevators may have caused. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times prior to a Miami port cruise. Can not beat the location! Lots to do across the street at Market place and 5 minutes from Port. Hotel is average and location is perfect. We highly recommend this hotel primarily due to location

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us. Our location is very convenient to some of the main attractions in the Downtown Miami area and we are pleased to know that was helpful for you during your stay. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

this was my second time staying here and I enjoyed both stays.
I stayed in the suite both times which I liked
the hotel is right across the street from the fun out door mall Bayside where I could see Bubba Gump's restaurant from my window
the hotel is also only about a 5 minute/$10 taxi ride away from the cruise ships

I will be staying here again in november

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Our location is very convenient to some of the main attractions in the Downtown Miami area and we are pleased to know that was helpful for you during your stay. It is always a pleasure to hear that your experience at our hotel was pleasant. We look forward to seeing you in November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Booked because of the great location. If you are going on a cruise, this is the place. The room is so dated you almost feel like you are on the set of Peggy Sue Got Married (remember that one?). But, I would stay again. The port shops and restaurants directly across the street will get you in the mood for your cruise. The staff was wonderful and service oriented. We looked out our window directly at our cruise ship. We would stay again, for sure. They do need to do a total makeover, and I do mean total.

Room Tip: High Floor, Overlooking the Port
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Fools4Food,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.