We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Perfect (location for pre-cruise), maybe Pricey..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #54 of 131 hotels in Miami
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant, Perfect (location for pre-cruise), maybe Pricey..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Taxi (shuttle) from airport less than 30 minutes, front desk staff friendly & helpful allowing us to check in 4 hours early. Our King Room was nice sized, comfy bed & linens, bathroom small but sparkling clean. Free wi-fi worked fine. We loved eating and shopping at Bayside Market place just across the street. How can you "KNOT!" Coming from an Ohio winter to summer in 1/2 a day and enjoying a beverage (Mojito anyone?) overlooking beautiful yachts in addition to great people watching as they embark & disembark from 2 -story boat tours. (We did not take any). CVS is a block away from the hotel for everything you may forgot & souveniers. Getting a taxi is a snap....literally, thanks to energetic "Porters." On cruise days, taxis line up so there's no waiting. If cruising, this is the place I'd always stay the nite before!!!

Side note: Some cab drivers back & forth from South Beach may make you think they drive for Nascar.

Emjay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    494
    259
    91
    56
See reviews for
345
349
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Treasure Island, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip, and it was two nights too long!

The rooms may have been going through and uplift, but they were still nasty! My air conditioning was broken, my bathroom sink wasn't draining properly, and you could hear right through the walls – and when you have 4 young girls in the room next to yours, that leads to no sleeping! I complained many times to the staff but nothing was ever resolved!

One morning I ordered breakfast through the room service, my bacon was completely raw. When the young server return to my room with my change I asked her to bring the bacon back to the kitchen to have it cooked properly. She never returned. When I went to run errands later that day, I opened my door to my hotel room – and there was the raw bacon, sitting right in front of my door! I couldn't believe it! I went downstairs to complain to the hotel manager and restaurant manager. I ended up getting my breakfast for free – not a big deal – but the restaurant manager rolled her eyes at me as if she didn't believe my story! Honestly, I barely believe it myself! But who treats their customers like this!?!?

I will never stay at this holiday inn for as long as I live! I was extremely disappointed! Please do not go here and that support this awful business!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Ashley S,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Miami FL.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pewaukee, wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We chose to stay in this hotel the evening before we left on a cruise. When a problem with our reservation occured it was though the front desk employees went into slow motion. They were paralyzed as to what to do and made us feel like it was our fault. We waited as they tried to sort it out for at least 30 minutes and then were told, check your bags here and go have something to eat. We did and upon our return you would have thought we were bothering the staff. Our reservation was found and we had a room.

Restaurant was good for both breakfast and evening snacks. Lobby is very inviting and comfortable.

Rooms... were recently updated but its difficult to transform an old hotel. Bathroom tile grout was falling off into the tub during a shower. Space is very small and tight in both the room and bathroom.

"Bayside Mall" directly across the street was nice to have as was the location for an early morning run.


There are many other options to stay pre-cruise. No need to stay right here on the port. Cab rides are minimal from anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear irunforlife,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate your compliments regarding our restaurant and lobby.

On the other hand, I would like to apologize for the poor experience and dissatisfaction you had with our staff. Additionally, I am truly sorry for the shortcomings in your room.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Rest assured that your comments will be used to reconsider improvements. We hope that you can give us another chance so we can show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Had a great first time stay at this hotel prior to our cruise in January. Hotel & room was very clean, bed was comfortable and service was good. The room is quite large and had all the usual amenities. Was disappointed we didn't get a newspaper in the morning. Speaking of the morning, we had the breakfast buffet and the fresh OJ in the hotel. I did think that was a little overpriced for what it was. They did have free wi-fi which was nice.

The location of the hotel is great as it's just across the road from the Bayside marketplace and half a block from the Metro Mover.

As we are priority club members we received 2 free drinks which we enjoyed in the bar just before going out for dinner. It was nice way to relax after our flight. As Bayside is so close, we went across there for dinner and shopping. It's not that good for shopping and the restaurants are just so-so. But we did enjoy sitting up on the blacony overlooking the harbor having our dinner.

The location is good to take the metro mover (just behind the hotel) to anywhere in downtown Miami. Also close to the the waterfront park for a walk after dinner or the next morning before the cruise. It was really easy to get a taxi over to the cruise terminal just outside the hotel. Flat rate 5 min. taxi ride to the cruise terminal is $10 plus tip.

Overall, I didn't expect expect the hotel to be so great considering it is older and primarily caters to the cruise crowd - a pleasant surprise.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are better as they overlook the harbor. View from the back isn't so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights last weekend during the Miami boat show. The hotel is older but clean and well maintained. It is right across the street from the bayside Marina and Marketplace. There is also a beautiful park across the street perfect for running along the waterfront. You won't need a car while staying here as there are dozens of good restaurants and shops within a short walk. Rooms are well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Everyone there is genuinely friendly and extremely accomodating. The front desk staff is prompt, courteous and efficient. The concierge desk staff are available all the time, and the restaurant staff are exceptional. We have stayed here several times and have become friends with many of the employees. Thanks to you all, we hope to return soon. Dave & Renee, San Marcos, TX

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Location is very good for a pre-cruise stay. Directly across Bayside and close to port of Miami. The hotel is walking distance to many restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Cab ride from the airport is around $25 and about $10 to the port (flat fee). The facility itself is dated and the rooms need to be upgraded. Although the rooms are kept clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel specifically for a night before a cruise from the port. Other than that, there are many other "newer" hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear VTNJ,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our property being dated. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Omg
Ever been to hotel where you can't drop off your luggage ? This is that place
Come in to register 3 rooms desk person says only one reservation. After ten min of computer tapping they figure it out
No parking!!!! I mean no parking. Rooms pretty gross no refrigerator in standard room and room is kinda blah !
Glad to get out of there!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Tastebuddy12,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us as this is our primary source in improving guest services.

I sincerely apologize for the troubles you have encountered during your visit. I am sorry for the inconvenience you had with your reservation during check in and for the dissatisfaction that some of our amenities have caused you.

I regret that you found these aspects displeasing. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and will be used to reconsider improvements. We all hope that should your travel plans bring you back to our area, you will still give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami
Miami Holiday Inn
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.