We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for pre-cruise stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #50 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good hotel for pre-cruise stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Location is very good for a pre-cruise stay. Directly across Bayside and close to port of Miami. The hotel is walking distance to many restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Cab ride from the airport is around $25 and about $10 to the port (flat fee). The facility itself is dated and the rooms need to be upgraded. Although the rooms are kept clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel specifically for a night before a cruise from the port. Other than that, there are many other "newer" hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear VTNJ,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our property being dated. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    592
    295
    95
    65
See reviews for
442
427
54
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Omg
Ever been to hotel where you can't drop off your luggage ? This is that place
Come in to register 3 rooms desk person says only one reservation. After ten min of computer tapping they figure it out
No parking!!!! I mean no parking. Rooms pretty gross no refrigerator in standard room and room is kinda blah !
Glad to get out of there!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Tastebuddy12,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us as this is our primary source in improving guest services.

I sincerely apologize for the troubles you have encountered during your visit. I am sorry for the inconvenience you had with your reservation during check in and for the dissatisfaction that some of our amenities have caused you.

I regret that you found these aspects displeasing. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and will be used to reconsider improvements. We all hope that should your travel plans bring you back to our area, you will still give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here in July 2012 perfect location when you dont want to rent a car.Located across the street from the bayview market place. Lots of places to eat , shops and live music, the beach.Near the American Airlines stadium home to the Miami heat. Tour buses pick you up across the street. Excellent safe location and there is a pharmacy across the street from hotel for snacks and drinks,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balneario Camboriu, SC, Brazil
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel has undergone a complete renovation recently and it is very good. The service is efficient, the rooms are comfortable and the location is perfect for those who want to be in a central area in Miami. The only weak point is the parking, depending on the time you arrive to park there's no more space and you have to pay a public parking. Anyway, I recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We selected this hotel for two nights based solely on location and pricing prior to going on a cruise. We read the reviews prior to booking, and noted the shortcomings. The lobby and reception were very upscale having been recently modified. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean, but is in bad need of maintenance or renovating. Unfortunately, there was a convention in town and the hotel was booked solid. This brought to our attention the lack of soundproofing. Although there was information provided that outside noise could be a concern, it was not evident on our stay, but the inside noise level was high. The walls were very thin and we could hear people talking normally in the next rooms. Hallway noise was a problem that the staff could have controlled at night by a couple of patrols.

It was disappointing that there was no free breakfast provided as this is becoming common practice across the industry. The dining area was well-laid out with a good buffet and menu service. We ate there twice for breakfast. The first time, the staff was not the friendliest, however the second day was completely the opposite although the staff was the same. Maybe they were happier because the convention people were thinning out.

The plus for this hotel is its proximity to the cruise terminal. the American Airlines Arena and the Bayside Marketplace. Thus there are lots of activities in the area with numerous dining selections.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back will have less noise from the main street, however, the view from the front is gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Freedom50plus,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room condition and the noise during your stay. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I use this Holiday Inn the night prior to boarding a cruise ship. Flying down from Boston in the winter is always iffy so the night before insures we make the sailing. This HI is absolutely the best location for this situation as it is directly across the street from the American Airlines Arena (should you want to catch a Heat game) and an outdoor marketplace with many places to eat and stores to browse.

The check-in process absolutely sucked. I got into the PriorityClub Rewards check in line with only the person at the check-in counter ahead of me and I began to think she was buying the dam hotel she was taking so long and the check-in person was running to the back room so often. During this interminable wait, not one of the other 3 check-in people waived me over. I finally wormed my way into another line only to find out that my room was not ready at 4:00 PM (at least I got 2 drink vouchers for the bar). Leaving my cell phone #, after 30 minutes (room promised in 20 min.) I went back to the check-in to learn my room had been ready for 15 min. (at least I got another 2 drink vouchers for the bar). I guess if you time things right you can get drunk on them before you go to your room.

The room was fine, a bit small but serviceable, and part of the 100% renovation so very new and contemporary, plus free wifi.

So, discounting check-in mis-management (room management) I would recommend the hotel for that area of Miami.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear BMH993,

Thank you for leaving a review of our property. It is good to know that you found our location convenient for your needs. We apologize for not completely meeting your expectations on this day especially with the service you received during check in. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our family recently stayed at this hotel before our cruise. Although not much to look at from the outside, we were impressed with the newly renovated and tastefully decorated lobby. It looked upscale. The room we had included 2 queen beds & a roll out bed. It was a very large room and for 5 adults, we didn't feel cramped at all. We had a wonderful view of the carousel across the way at the Bayside Marketplace. So convenient to all that excitement and great eating places. Everyone loved the pizzas from the hotel restaurant. We would recommend that the pool be heated as it was quite cold. Also, it would be nice if a continental breakfast was included. Even so, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#42 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.