We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Judge a Book” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #50 of 129 hotels in Miami
Portland, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our family recently stayed at this hotel before our cruise. Although not much to look at from the outside, we were impressed with the newly renovated and tastefully decorated lobby. It looked upscale. The room we had included 2 queen beds & a roll out bed. It was a very large room and for 5 adults, we didn't feel cramped at all. We had a wonderful view of the carousel across the way at the Bayside Marketplace. So convenient to all that excitement and great eating places. Everyone loved the pizzas from the hotel restaurant. We would recommend that the pool be heated as it was quite cold. Also, it would be nice if a continental breakfast was included. Even so, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    530
    263
    89
    60
See reviews for
387
383
46
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Used this hotel before going on a cruise.The hotel is very nice and close to the cruise port.The rooms is small but confortable.
The location is perfect, very close to BAYSIDE MARKETPLACE. It's a nice place with a lot of shops and restaurants and the start of the HOP ON-HOP OFF buses to see Miami and also the staring point for the bouts who taks you araound the harbor of Miami.
Close by is also the monorailtrain who taks you around Miami for freee.

Room Tip: The rooms on the backside is quiter but just a parking lot to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This Holiday Inn is an excellent location for cruisers or anyone without a car in downtown Miami. It's right across the street from the big Bayside Market and very close the AA arena where the Heat play. I highly recommend the "Hop on Hop off" Miami bus tours (90 mins each) that use the doubledecker buses and the central station is right across from this Holiday Inn. The rooms in the hotel were nice and the view of the harbor to the east is spectacular from the upper floors. Beware that you'll be charged for parking if used, so be sure to look out front in the first-come-first-served free city parking. I probably would have given this place a 5 rating had the breakfast been better (limited options) and the front desk service was average.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor with an East view (worth the trip and cost just for the view). Also, exhaust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It's location is really the best, it's right accross the street from a great market and waterfront mall. I thought the price was a little steep but still the location was perfect, it was clean, polite staff. I would recommend taking advantage of the neighbouring restaurants right accross the road, or on the waterfront, we had dinner in the hotel, it was just so so. We had breakfast there too and it was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed just one night as we're dealers at the Miami Beach Antique show this week. I just needed 1 night as the rest of the week was going to be at the Holiday Inn on Miami Beach with my points since I'm a Platinum member.
We arrived with our U-Haul van & the parking lot behind the hotel was full. Only holds approx. 44 spaces - HOWEVER, PLEASE NOTE! They are currently in talks with the owner of the massive parking lot immediately behind theirs to buy out. So that would increase to least a few hundred parking spots. Please pass this info onto your friends since this is a major cruise port hotel.

We wound up parking about 1/2 block down (about 50 feet) at the public place for $15 for overnight. I think it was cheap compared to what you'd pay in other big cities. The lot was safe & was manned 24/7. Now if I was willing to park there with over $50k in expensive porcelain merchandise, you tourists should have no worries at all.

We checked in, was given recognition as Platinum members & given room 511. That overlooks the street facing towards the cruise ports. Didn't care too much, I've been down here before, but still a nice view. Room was huge, it was a king suite & very clean. No issues with the room, just the Asian women in connecting room 510 who thought it was OK to have their baby scream for 2 hours in hunger & finally feed him/her at midnight. The baby was quiet after that & so were they.

Dinner was great, it had alot of choices & the staff I would stay treated you like Elite customers. Every person was attentive & professional & several different staff members kinda served you. This restaurant staff beats the more casual staff at the HI on Miami Beach. We had a free breakfast since that's what given to us upon check-in. We did the buffet before heading out to the Convention Center to setup.

Room Tip: High Floor facing cruise ship port
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel! The staff was very helpful. The rooms are nice but less decorated. And also clean. Back in Miami I will stay at the Holiday Inn, because of the location in Miami downtown and across Bayside (HARBOUR) I found the American Breakfast a little bit poor.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the BACK side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here recently purely based on that it was the cheapest non-flea bag hotel with free internet in downtown Miami. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms, decor and whatnot are pretty standard, nothing to get excited about but fine. I was given a room on the tenth floor that had a great view of the port and further on the Miami Beach area. It was walking distance (10 minutes) to the Metrorail stop at Government Center stop, that will get you out to the airport for $2/person in half an hour. Across hte street there is some touristy shopping, and out front you can grab a bus to South Beach for $2 (takes half an hour). All in all I thought it was great value for the money. Most of the people staying there are going to a cruise or coming back. Some commenters mention noise from construction; I suffered no such inconvenience.

Room Tip: Joining the rewards program and registering with your rewards number will increase the odds that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.