We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise out of Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #50 of 129 Hotels in Miami
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cruise out of Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is the second time that we've stayed at the Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown. We chose it for the price and location near the port for the cruise that we were taking. We went the day before to avoid problems with air travel from the north and possibly missing our cruise.

The hotel itself is older, but we were looking for a clean, safe hotel not far from the port. While it was clean, safe and not far from the port, we got even more than that.

Our room faced Biscayne Boulevard with very large windows. On the morning of our cruise, we actually could see our ship pulling in from our window. It was an awesome experience.

The buffet breakfast at the hotel was great and you could order from the regular menu also.

The hotel is across the street from Bayside Marketplace. I LOVE THIS PLACE. It's really a mall on the water. There's entertainment and dancing. Our favorite band there was Brazilian Explosion. It was a wonderful,inexpensive way to spend time in Miami. It was also a very good way to kick off a week of fun!

The hotel is also across the street from American Airlines Arena and there was a Miami Heat Basketball game when we were there, but we didn't go.

We walked to church from the hotel Sunday morning. My daughter was a little uncomfortable walking where we walked (backstreets of the city) because she didn't feel as safe as she would have liked. However, we didn't experience anything that isn't felt in any big city.

There were many languages heard. Spanish, of course, the most prevalent.

We would recommend this hotel to Miami Cruise travelers.

Room Tip: I think that they generally give the rooms facing Biscayne Boulevard and the port to cruisers, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    594
    297
    95
    65
See reviews for
444
427
55
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The service didn't match the hype this hotel has given itself. The reception staff were slightly indifferent, other service members were pleasant. The room was difficult to enter as the aged door lock was tempramental. There were no tea bags with the coffee making facilities and it was a effort for Reception to find two. The big wrap the Hotel gave itself for a complimentary 'Thank you to Priority Members' was a glass of the worst examples of beer and wine- we hadn't expected that. We both left the glasses at the bar after one sip.
The Location to the cruise Port was great and I guess that was what we were paying for.
The Waterfront Complex over the road sufficed our needs and we dined , breakfasted and shopped there.
If we had to leave on a cruise from Miami again we would stay there but have the advantage of our experience to prepare us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear marshfish,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We are delighted you liked the convenient location of our hotel. My deepest apologies for the inconvenience your room accommodation and the poor service caused you. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwaubenon, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice hotel, great location and friendly staff. I have stayed here 7/2012 and 1/2013, and I will stay again. I believe they are working hard on updating the property. So close to the port so great place to stay before a cruise, taxi is like 8ish to the cruise ships.

I don't understand the reviews saying that the staff is unfriendly or the comments about bad service from the staff, I feel my service has been excellent and everyone has been super friendly. If you have not been to Miami before, english is a 2nd langauge for a lot of people that live there, for me that's what I love about Miami.

A big plus for me is Bayside mall across the street, a lot of choices for eateries.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel a day before leaving for a cruise out of the Miami port. The hotel is located not far from the port, but you will still need a taxi to get there. The hotel is also located to lots of great stores and restaurants. They are all within walking distance. We received a continental breakfast and paid a few extra dollars to enjoy the breakfast buffet which was filling. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. My husband unfortunately forgot his high blood pressure medicine and noticed the problem on Sunday the day we were leaving on our cruise. We found there was a CVS drug store near the hotel, but the pharmacy is closed on Sunday so we could not have the prescription called into it. The concierge/baggage helper went out of his way looking for a CVS that had a pharmacy that was opened on Sunday and getting us the phone number to have our doctor call in the prescription. He also found a phone number and address to a walk-in medical center that was also open on a Sunday if our doctor was unavailable to call in the prescription. He couldn't have been anymore helpful. He is a real gem, and because of his helpfulness I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 1 day before a cruise and 2 days after. The hotel is very close to the port and right across the street from Bayside. Check in went smooth and the staff was polite and helpful. The rooms were clean and well kept and had a fridge and microwave. There is a CVS 1 1/2 blocks away and there are several restaurants and a food court at Bayside.

Room Tip: We had room 1003 on the 10th floor, it was very quiet and had a great veiw of the cruise ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Recently, my wife and I stayed at this Hotel in downtown Miami. I am afraid to say that it was a major disappointment, failing to measure up to the standard advertised, and falling well short of anything expected by ourselves.

In addition to the generally disheveled appearance of the hotel (perhaps understandable given the gradual upgrading underway), our room was not cleaned properly … on separate days during our stay, items left by previous occupants were found. Also, access to the swimming pool was via the back of the service lift, through the kitchen area, out into the car park, then back in through a separate door from the car park. Nor was the journey worth the effort; the pool was tiny, and the noise from the air-conditioning units adjoining the pool area made any visit there deeply unpleasant.

We have stayed at Holiday Inn premises in various countries on various occasions, and have done so because of the standard we have come to expect. The Miami Downtown premises fell very far below that level, and would likely prejudice our wish to use the chain again. Our comments submitted to management have gone unanswered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear ewensmith14,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I apologize and regret that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Without a doubt the worst hotel stay I've ever had. First off you would expect that a hotel room in Miami would have functioning air conditioning, but WRONG!! Upon checking into the room it was warm but I figured that they don't keep the thermostat low between guests. Lowered the thermostat and then went out to dinner. Came back to the room several hours later and the room was ungodly hot. Lowered the thermostat a few degrees and the temp in the room was climbing. It started at 73°and the lower i made the thermostat the higher the room temp got. I lowered the thermostat all the way down to 55° and the room temp kept climbing up to 76°. The vent was actually blowing hot air. Called the front desk and they sent up a maintenance man, and he shot the vent with a laser thermometer and he mumbled that it was blowing hot (no kidding). He said that he would have to check the unit upstairs and he would be back, well he never came back, but the room did cool down. Then I went to set the alarm clock and that didn't work, so I just used m phone as an alarm. Now comes 4 am and my wife and I wake up in a ball of sweat as the air conditioning stopped working again. We kicked off the covers and tried to get back to sleep, as we had to get our rest so we could get our ship in the morning, After taking cold showers in the morning, because the room was so hot we couldn't stop sweating, my wife goes to dry her hair, and the hairdryer didn't work. At this point we were fuming mad that the start to our dream cruise started out this way. This wasn't all, every time we left the room we had to slam the door for it to latch shut and lock behind us. After complaining at the front desk they did take a small discount off the room, but they still lost a customer, as I will never stay at a Holiday Inn ever again. The only positive was it's location to the port.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Ralphjc381,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry that we were not able to deliver based on your expectations on this day especially with the condition of the room accommodations you were given. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#42 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.