We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overnight Before a Cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #54 of 131 hotels in Miami
Tiburon, CA
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
“Good Overnight Before a Cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We took a late flight in and overnighted here before a cruise the next day. We spent the morning wandering around the touristy but nice Bayside center just across the street, had a light lunch there, and took a cab the short distance to the pier.

No problems, no hassles, a good location and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    494
    259
    91
    56
See reviews for
346
349
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our experience exceeded our expectations of this hotel. The service was great and we would like to give our sincere thanks to two employees- Lazaro and Hugo- who were always very professional and went the extra mile to help us out.

Room Tip: The best place to stay after a long day of shopping and being a tourist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If this hotel was not RIGHT across the street from Bayside, I would never stay here again. Hopefully nearby hotels will shuttle us to Bayside in the future. My group of five was here a year ago and had many complaints. Well they finished the lobby and it is beautiful. The restaurant is open and the food and service was okay. We got $5 off our restaurant bill 3 times a day. They did give us adjoining rooms like we asked for so that was fine. Staff was very very friendly and helpful but seemed to linger for tips., even after they got one – guess they wanted more. Now the bad part. The lobby is the only part renovated. They were working on the elevators the three days we were there and that made us nervous. The elevator door got jammed once for only for a very long 30 seconds. The rooms were clean and okay but are not renovated yet so they were the same – bathrooms need a total makeover. When we booked this year, we found out it had turned into NO SMOKING. With 4 smokers in the group, we knew we would have to go outside to smoke but since it is in Miami and such a good location, we figured why not try it. When we checked in we were told we could smoke out front or that there was a “nice smoking area set up by the pool and we would have lots of company”. Well if you look at the photo of the lobby taken from the front door you will see the pool area in the background but THERE IS NO WAY TO ENTER THE POOL FROM THE LOBBY!” To enter the pool we had one of 2 options: 1. Go out the back door onto the street, walk down the street, turn the corner, go through the parking lot and then enter the pool area or 2. Go through the service elevator, down a long hallway under construction, pass the dumpsters, and enter the pool. Needless to say nobody was swimming. Who wants to go down the street or through the parking lot in their bathing suit? And they only had two ashtrays set out. A year ago my review said “wait until they finish the renovations”. Well, maybe next December. We will keep our fingers crossed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Catherine E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to know that you find our rooms clean, superb location and friendly staff. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge our hotels selling points. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations and for that please accept my sincere apologies for the dissatisfaction you had during your stay. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here night before our cruise.It had everything we needed to start off a vacation nicely.
Clean & quiet room with very nice view. Bar downstairs was great! Just a short 2 minute walk across the street to shops and restuarants. We went to Hard Rock for dinner. Also a short car ride to South Beach. Cons were parking lot. Very..very small with limited parking. We got there mid afternoon and left car there until checkout next day. Hotel is pricey. Not sure it's worth it, but if you're looking for convience, than it is. Wifi was slow in the room. Good experience overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great area, especially if, like us, you are joining a cruise ship. However, the rooms are basic and have no chararacter or indeed much by way of comfort.
The shopping and dining across the road are great, which from the food point of view is just as well, as the hotel food is DIRE! Do not eat anything from the menu offered at the bar! Absolutely awful! Chicken tenders? Not!
Hotel reception could be friendlier.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Janice W,

Thank you for your feedback of our hotel. It is good to know that you found our location to be recommendable. I am sorry that you found your stay less than satisfactory due to the condition of the room accommodations that you received and the the food served did not live up to expectations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Once again, thank you for posting your comments.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was a much better visit than my last time here. Improvements have been made to this hotel but they still have a long way to go. The location is the reason I stay here. We wanted to be close to the port and this hotel is by close . I love visiting bayside. We had a great view from our room....the last time it was a brick wall. We booked directly with the hotel this time instead of through Priceline. For the price difference it was well worth it. The front desk staff was much friendlier. The hotel is still showing its wear and tear but they are working on it. I was a good stay and has restored my faith in this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a king suite with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The good: Across the street from Bayside Shopping area. Easy to get to. Very nice lobby. Nice pool area. Room service food is excellent and reasonably priced. Convenient vending and ice machines. Bathrooms look fairly new. Nice view.

The bad: Once the hotel's parking area fills up you're on your own. There is a fee for parking and also for internet access. Very small safe deposit box. Hallways, carpets, doors look old. No fridge. One night I could not sleep because of noise and thumping in the next room. I spoke to the guests next door and also made three calls to the front desk between 3 and 5am but the noise continued. I reported this to the front desk manager later in the morning. She didn't seem to care much, just handed me a breakfast coupon. At the same time there were two other guests complaining of noise in other floors. The other 4 nights I was able to sleep well.

.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami
Miami Holiday Inn
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.