We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #50 of 130 hotels in Miami
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed there prior to cruise to Bahamas, The hotel is in a good location if you are planning a cruise from Miami and is also close to the Bayside marketplace and the American Airlines Arena if you are going to see a concert.etc.
There is a good restaurant on-site but the rooms are a bit basic and dated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    523
    257
    89
    59
See reviews for
377
378
45
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I inadvertently booked and advance paid for hotel...during March 2013 spring break period. When I realized the booking error I immediately called hotel 800 reservations and hotel general manager directly to cancel explaining that I meant to hold the rooms not advance book and pay. They refused to cancel the reservation without me losing the total cost that was charged to my credit card for each hotel room! I am extremely disappointed with Holiday Inn...and their "alleged" inability to issue a refund. I mean really it was an online mistake that I tried to correct immediately. WHY can't Holiday Inn issue me a refund and put those rooms back into their inventory. I am certain that they can get those rooms booked in the next three months for spring break!!! In the meantime I am stuck with a huge hotel bill for the holidays and hotel rooms I don't need for March 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We have reviewed this type of reservation and found you had booked on a restricted rate type, with a full pre-payment requirement. These restrictions are normally not flexible. You are automatically charged upon booking your reservation or anytime prior to your check-in. This rate is non-cancellable and non-refundable, a policy which is explained online before you guarantee the reservation.

While we certainly regret any inconvenience this may cause and as previously advised, we are unable to refund due to the terms originally agreed to at the time of booking. With this, Guest Relations would have to support the reservation restrictions.

If rooms are available for your travel date, we will always offer the option of booking either restrictive (with cancellation/prepayment requirements) or non-restrictive (can be changed and cancelled without penalty) rates. This will allow you more flexibility in making your specific travel arrangements. For example: if you are certain about your travel plans, the restricted rate will be a consideration, whereas if your travel plans are less definite the unrestricted rate may better meet your needs.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The holiday in was ok. When we got here at 10:30 am the room "with a view" was not ready. The hotel kept our luggage and we walked directly across the street to Bayside. Literally across the street. Once we got in our room at 2:45 the rooms are nice to average. Flat screen LG tv, fridge and microwave. This hotel just looks like any standard hotel. They do have renovations underway. This hotel is very close to the cruise port, that is why I chose this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Point
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I recently stayed here for business reasons, having booked a number of rooms for myself and my workers. The hotel is absolutely sparkling clean, the bed was comfortable, with extra pillows and blankets right there. The walls do allow you to hear a bit of the next door neighbor's noise, but nothing disruptive. The location could not be better for either downtown or the Port. You have multiple restaurants and shops within a five minute walk. The morning buffet, which was not included in my room rate, but was reasonably priced, was excellent. I enjoyed dinner in the hotel restaurant when I was just too tired to walk anywhere. The restaurant staff was great. The internet worked perfectly and was included in the room rate. They also have a business office with computers for guests, a gym and an outdoor pool that are all very nice. The parking was limited, but we had no trouble at all, as most of the guests seem to be people starting out on or coming in from a cruise and do not have cars. But the most important thing to be said about this hotel is that the staff is fantastic. They were friendly, professional and above and beyond helpful. The gentleman that I dealt with upon arrival, William Valera, was a pleasure. I travel a great deal and I found this to be a real value. We will be returning!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Bay are really special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is an older property but resently refurbished. I found the hotel to be clean and bright. The lobby is kept spotless. The proximety to a CVS and eateries by walking is easy. It is a short cab or shuttle ride to the cruise ship port. The staff is outstanding.

Room Tip: Join the priority club when booking, you may be upgraded on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston on canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

my family and i stayed here post cruise ,the staff wasnt very friendly , the internet didnt work as they said, the room was clean , somewhat outdated but the view was great overlooking the aa arena. was in a good location right in front of the marketplace where there are tons of shops and restaurants. if you are going to the aa arena this is the best place to stay just outside the front door 1 blk away. I took my son to a heat game and i was on crutches so was very convenient for me.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The room was ok...a bit cramped with 2 double beds. You had to move a table to be able to open/close the curtains. No upgrade provided, even to a king bed and I have a high level in their priority rewards program.

The pros:
Good Location across from Arena and Bayside shopping; Bed was comfortable, clean; Room Safe with key;Very nice restaurant staff;Nice view of the bay

The cons
*Parking is terrible. There are a limited number of spaces and the employees use most of them. I returned from a meeting to find the hotel lot full and the public lot behind the hotel also full. I was told by the front desk to try again after 11:00 pm when the employees leave. I had to park in the Bayside parking across the street and move my car at 11:30pm..not fun.
*Room service was 30 minutes late and then showed up with cold, burned toast.
*Front Desk Staff not very hospitable or helpful.
*Thin walls. You will hear everything from the people in the next room opening the curtains to someone coughing. If you need it quiet, be warned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.