We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The absolute worst B&B in Florida!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Miami River Inn

Save Saved
You added Miami River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miami River Inn
118 S.W. South River Dr., Miami, FL 33130 (Little Havana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 130 hotels in Miami
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The absolute worst B&B in Florida!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I specifically asked for a room with hard wood floors and was given a room with carpet. The front desk gentleman was very nice and switched the room for us. The whole inn was dirty and unkept! Stains in the hall carpets, no trash cans in the rooms, extra pillows without pillow cases, no TV in the room. We opened a door in the hall thinking it was a stairwell or exit and it was filled with old sheets, blankets and lamp shades just all thrown inside in a big pile. Only two pool chairs with dirty cushions, broken chairs next to the tables. Breakfast was a nightmare! Only bread, butter, grape jelly yogurt and Cheerios, coffee or tea. We all decided to just have coffee to start..... We very quickly discovered the milk was curdled and was so sour that we all had to spit out the coffee. I alerted the staff, he brought new milk after 15 minutes, but wasn't nice about it at all. I would strongly recommend against staying here, it is nothing like the photos or website! The only good thing about this B&B is the proximity to downtown, which will hopefully encourage someone else to buy it that can do a better job or restoring and running the inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    22
    17
    21
See reviews for
15
44
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The website was very inviting, but upon arrival, it was disappointing. The house had an old smell. Like an antique store. The bedspread was very old and didn't look clean. The towels had just come off the line (there were more still hanging on the line to dry outside) and very scratchy. When we asked for beach towels, we were told to use the small bath towels. When we toured the grounds, the garden was an exaggeration. The pool was not very clean and there were only two lounge chairs and they were being used. We asked the young gal at the desk if there were more lounge chairs that we could use, she said they only had two but the people using them lived in the apartments, so when we are ready to use them, she would ask them to leave. We changed into our bathing suits and when we went out by the pool, the young gal told us she just spoke to the manager and he said we can't ask them to leave. I asked what we were supposed to use. She said two plastic chairs. The chairs were so old, that they were falling apart. We decided to go back inside and watch tv when we realized there wasn't a tv in the room. Really? We tried to use the dead bolt on the door to the pool and the lock was loose and the dead bolt went into a cut out notch in the wood. At this point, we called a local hotel and booked a room and told the young gal that we were very disappointed..She was kind enough to call us a cab.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Historic 20's neighborhood in downtown Miami. Offers free breakfast and off Street parking at a great price. Grounds are well kept and staff is friendly. Only problem is they need some updating, as this is a old building if you are not the first guest to get your shower in the morning the water will be cold.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here while attending a meeting at the James L. Knight Centre. It suited me fine since it was within walking distance. I liked the layout of the inn very much - a cluster of houses, lovely trees and landscaping, a pool, all gated and fenced and kept locked, with your own key for entry and secured parking on the compound. All the furniture is antique, carved wooden bedheads, antique wardrobes and tables. The floors in the rooms are wooden which I much prefer to carpet, and the bathrooms are solid and old fashioned, with shampoo and body lotion provided. Other luxuries are wine in a decanter with real wine glasses in the lobby and red and white striped mints in a bob bon dish. Breakfast is served in a separate cottage where you can help yourself to toast, butter and jam, yoghurt, fruit, sweet bread, coffee, tea, milk, orange juice. The cats in the garden add to the feeling of being at home. The staff were very helpful. All in all the place is well run and the owner has successfully created (or maintained) the old world astmosphere. If I had one suggestion it would be to get firmer matresses, then It would be perfect. I would definitely stay there again - much better than a big hotel. I stayed in the main building with the reception, but some of the other houses have living rooms and a fireplace.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Inn. The staff was helpful and we enjoyed dinner at Garcia's on the North side of the River, which the host suggested. Bought a nice bottle of wine at the Publix a few blocks away which we enjoyed by the pool before dinner. There are some cats. Some are pets of the residents that live in the apartments in the compound. Some are most likely strays that frequent the lobster and stone crab working fishery across the street. But they are not a problem. The hotel is a bit of Old Florida and is located in a working class neighborhood that appears to be under going gentrification.
You should plan to arrive before sunset so you can get a key to your room and the main gate to the compound. You also will want to leave plenty of time for your departure due to the logistics of getting your car out and returning they key.
Over all we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a great place if you want to visit a bit of Miami's early history. It is located near the River but has no direct access. The Inn is actually a compound of several buildings with a pool and gardens. Although close to the expressway, we did not experience any traffic noise. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the furnishings appropriate to the time period that the Inn represents. It is a step back into Miami's earlier times and might best be described as quaint. The location is very near to the Mary Brickell Village area which is a vibrant dining and nightlife area. There are several fine restaurants within walking distance. We also walked over to the Miami Circle which is located just off the Brickell Avenue bridge and was nicely lit for an evening stroll.
We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it for a different kind of Miami experience.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is located nicely and has a wonderful ambiance - as if it came from a Garcia Marquez novel. It is clean and people are helpful. However, there is two problems - The bed was extremely used so we ended up with aching backs. Also, the place is not well isolated - so you would hear people speaking in the hallway when being in the room - and vice versa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miami River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami River Inn

Address: 118 S.W. South River Dr., Miami, FL 33130
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Little Havana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
charming B&B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Miami River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami River Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.