We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cypress Airboats Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Airboats

Cypress Airboats
17696 SW 8 Street, Miami, FL 34139
+1 305-280-4812
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 234 Activities in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Miami Floridas premiere airboat rides in the Everglades. Come join us for a fantastic journey on the river of grass. Everglades national park airboat rides in Miami are the best place to see wildlife, Birds and of course the American alligator. Call or email us today for the best airboat ride in Miami Florida.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cypress Airboats Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We recently took our two girls (9 and 14) on this two hour tour. Captain Greg Brown met us at the Four Corners Truck Stop and we followed him in his pickup for a short 5 minute ride to the site where the airboat was waiting for us. We were then we turned over to Captain John, who proceeded to give us a two hour tour that was way beyond what we ever thought it would be. Captain John stopped every few minutes to point out a particular type of grass, to explain the history and makeup of the Everglades, to show us how certain foliage can be made into bandages, or to show certain beautiful flora and birds. We stopped at several islands that had open ponds with many types of birds. The highlight of course was the gators, of which we saw at least 6 and had a very close encounter with one (he put his head up on the side of our boat! picture enclosed - no zoom!). This overall tour was something we will never forget and one that will stay with us for a long time. It also makes one sad to realize how much beauty has already been destroyed and how precious what remains is. The smells are fresh and amazing and beautiful - as Capt John pointed out, the Everglades is not a swamp it is a river that runs roughly one mile per day, so there is moving water with none of the odor one would associate with swamp. The only concern I had is that this was an all cash deal, which is pretty rare these days. If Captain Greg can get online booking working with cards, I suspect that the credibility factor would increase significantly and make this wonderful experience something that more people would be able to do. Hopefully this is the next step. If you are looking for an off the beaten path experience, this is it!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therealbossman, Owner at Cypress Airboats, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank You very much for visiting us and we appreciate your business stay warm in the big apple and see you next year !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a way to see an extraordinary landscape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were a party of 6: 2 grandparents, 2 children (8 and 11 yrs) and 2 adults – all with different interests and concerns. The young and adventurous Captain Bill navigated us through the amazing Everglades waters for 2 hours of pure pleasure. It was exciting and informative. He was a great guide, sensitive to and knowledgeable about the wildlife and native ways, and he had great instincts for finding birds and gators on the way. WOW! The elder Captain Bill was also very informative about the Everglades environment.
Arranging the tour in advance with Wayne was super easy (great communication) and I can't thank him enough for finding another slot for us when we suddenly had to reschedule because of illness. Our December mid-day ride was sunny and beautiful. Great memories for us all, a highlight of our entire Florida trip. Thank you!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therealbossman, Owner at Cypress Airboats, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am glad the family had a great time and glad we could reschedule your family in with us, glad you are feeling better have a great winter and thanks again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Great adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were 8 people (2 kids) and experienced a fantastic airboat tour: a thrilling visit to one of the islands and we saw 3 alligators. Thank you for a wonderful day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therealbossman, Owner at Cypress Airboats, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
You are very welcome we hope to see you again some day !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was my first airboat tour and it was excellent! My captain was David, and he did a great job! Next time I'll bring my entire family with me! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therealbossman, Owner at Cypress Airboats, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
You are very welcome hope to see you again and yes bring the whole family next time !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“R THOMAS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

What a great way to view the Everglades. Captain Robert did a wonderful job pointing out the birds, alligators, fish, flowers and other wildlife on our private family tour. This tour was better than any I have had on the Everglades before.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therealbossman, Owner at Cypress Airboats, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Were glad you did a private tour with our company and yes there is a big difference from public to private tours and we are glad you had a great time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cypress Airboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Airboats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.