We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" bit of a dodgy neighborhood ", didn't feel safe walking to the local pub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Miami River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Historic Miami River Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Miami River Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   437 SW 2nd Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Formerly Miami River Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Miami B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“" bit of a dodgy neighborhood ", didn't feel safe walking to the local pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

following text was used to describe booking for ' Queen Room ' for 2 guests - " Room facilities:- telephone, a/c , desk , toilet , bathroom , heating , wardrobe/closet - this room features a work desk, telephone and antique furniture ". So , in reality it could/should read or be descibed as the following - the telephone next to the bed wasn't plugged in, didn't work as i tried or thought I could call reception , ended up going on foot, later to be told the telephone was a 'fake' sort of antique. I had great difficulty in trying to fathom out the remote control to work the tv via sat receiver - no instructions - that was the reason why I wanted to call down to reception! A young man at reception told me that the tv/sat receiver wasn't properly set up / installed yet and would take another couple of weeks. The wardrobe/closet was maybe old but not antique, you first had to move the bed to the side before you could open the door fully. The wardrobe wasn't deep enough to take a normal sized hanger and the small safe that was fixed in the upper left corner of the wardrobe couldn't be opened because there were no instructions again and reception couldn't help me out with that either. Maybe the bed was antique cos it certainly felt very old and used/worn out, was probably the original mattress, the bed frame was so unstable I thought we were in a waterbed. We were unlucky and were given a room right next to and on the same level as to the dual carriageway where the traffic drove by - the Harley that drove past felt like it was going through our bedroom. There was no thermostat for the a/c and the ceiling ventilator was also not in use same as the phone...another antique? I can't remember seeing a 'work desk' in our room and the antique furniture could have been seen down stairs in a sort of lounge/sitting room which nobody used while we were there. Breakfast ( was a joke ) was included in room rate - was a sort of ' Continental Breakfast ' but I don't know which continent! Only one sort of bread was available for toasting, one choice of coffee, bottled orange juice and bottled water. 2 - 3 types of jelly , one sort of fresh fruit in a cup. Kitchen staff spoke Spanish - very little or no English.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    46
    31
    20
    23
See reviews for
23
58
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Positives: The picture perfect atmosphere. The way the area was decorated had a lot of detail. It was so cute, everything from the wallpaper in the room keeping with the theme to the adorable lit up palm trees by the pool at night... it was beautiful. The bellman who showed us to our room (the first time) was great. He told us all about the property, hours of breakfast and pool. He was really nice again at check out and assisted us with our luggage.

Negatives: The service and cleanliness. We tried to check in early and they told us no later than 1pm. We returned at 130pm and they checked us in and went to the room which had yet to be cleaned. The guy who checked us in said he would have it done quickly while we waited by the pool. 1.5 hrs later our room had finally been 'cleaned'. Cleaned is incorrect... towels and sheets were replaced from the previous guest but everything else was dirty. Dust everywhere, the glasses at the sink were filthy as well as the mirror by the sink. Walking on the floor turned your feet filthy. There was no apology for any of the inconvenience. At one point when our room was finally ready they watched me load up my very large suitcases on a luggage cart by myself and wheel to my room. The location didn't seem the safest but the large fence and locked gates gave security. Still I wouldn't walk around outside the fence after dark.

Room Tip: If you need somewhere close to downtown and plan on taking a cab back to the hotel, this is perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have mixed feelings about my 3-night stay here. The bad: somewhat musty rooms that are noisy with light-medium traffic noises, thin walls, and occasional airplanes overhead leaving Miami international. Lack of dark curtains to keep out light. A skimpy breakfast (toast, coffee, tropical fruit in a cup, bottled OJ, water) for a B & B.
The GOOD: reasonable price, relaxing poolside atmosphere, satellite TV, proximity to little Havana, airport, downtown, cruise lens docks and comfortable beds. Ok breakfast if you prefer above menu to bacon, eggs. Strong coffee. Chance to meet, converse with people from all over world in nice setting. I spoke to persons young and old from Bolivia, Austria, Brazil and Israel in just one day.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from highways
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Unlike a lot of people who reviewed this hotel, I really enjoyed my stay there. If you don't want to feel like you've left home when you leave home or want the bland uniformity of a national chain, don't stay there. If you like things a little different and have a bit of the bohemian in you, you will definitely like this place.

The place is old. In keeping with its age most of the furniture are antiques. My closet was an ancient armoire and there was a nicely restored dresser. The desk was actually an old treadle sewing machine. The room was in good shape, with good paint and the bathroom was modern. The power outlets have been updated to three prong. The pool was clean as a whistle, as were the grounds.

Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast, so don't expect much--coffee, tea, toast, fruit and juice. Except the fruit was fresh cut pineapple and papaya. The staff was very friendly and helpful the whole time I was there. There is a great latin American restaurant around the corner.

The hotel is near a bridge over the Miami River so I was able to walk downtown to my business meetings every day.

I stayed five days and I would definitely stay there again. Having reviewed what other people wrote about the Miami River Inn I can see it is getting better as time goes by. Maybe think about it as a work in progress. And the price is half or less than what a downtown hotel would cost, but the Miami River Inn has a lot more character.

A word to the wise that has nothing to do with the hotel: Miami taxis can be challenging. No GPS and some of the drivers do not know their way around. The cabs do not take credit cards so everything is a cash transaction. Give yourself a little extra time, the cabs may not show up when they say.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Poor cleanliness, staff members give you the feeling that they are asleep, some of them don't speak english at all ! The worst was waking up before 8 A.M with a hammer drill noise coming from the room upstairs. The noise continued for hours. We were supposed to leave the apartment at 11 A.M. Also, there was a power outage and no one cared to let us know about that or that they will have workers in the other room. Our drinks got warm in the fridge, food got spoiled & the room got very, very warm. We woke up sweating & with a terrible loud noise.Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We did get a half refund but our day was still ruined.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia Mauritius
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

It feels like you are visiting grandma's house. The rooms are clean enough and large enough. The double bed was lumpy and too short for my 6 foot body. Smallest tv I ever saw but at least it worked. A fridge would have really helped and having access to ice would have been great. Walls and floors are very thin. I thought my kids were walking around in the middle of the night but it was the people in the room above. Breakfast was nothing special, but lots of fruit so that suited us well. Girls in the office were fairly rude. A simple "Hello, the one guy that does the booking in will be with you soon" would have gone a long way. Location is excellent though. Right next to downtown Miami. We probably would stay here again mainly because of the price.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room away from the Highway. The whole room shook when ever a truck went past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Location is very convenient to go explore Miami.
However, the apartment I stayed in, the facilities and the breakfast are all way below what is acceptable:

- Apartment for 3: sofa bed has no mattress and is split in 2 in the middle (good luck to sleep on that...), no appropriate linen, traces of shoes on pillow case, dining table big enough for 1 person, no bar & no hanger in the closet, no chest of drawers or anything to store clothes, no desk, 2 minuscule frying pans as cooking equipment, no shelves in the bathroom (below the sink or on the wall), no extra toilet paper roll, no counter space around the sink, towels taped on the main door window for privacy, swimming pool noisy filtering engine in the open just below the window...

- Breakfast: no freshly baked goods as stated on their website, no continental breakfast as stated everywhere. For breakfast there is: toasting bread, pieces of fruits and coffee, orange juice. No tea, no cereal, no milk, no yogurt, no cheese, no proteins (eggs, sausage, ham, for instance). There is no staff either, therefore no refill (no more fruit after 9am) and the 2 small bins are 200% full within the first hour. BTW, 8am is too late to open for breakfast.

- Swimming pool: clear water but disgustingly dirty pool floor...

The discrepancy between reality and their website is pure crookery. I refused to pay my first night and was moved to another apartment, that was better. Nonetheless, the general deception about pretty much everything, and the indifference from the management, deserve a 1/5 rating.

Note: If you are sensitive to noise, know that this hotel is below the landing & taking off corridor of Miami Airport, the planes fly very low there, and you enjoy the noise until midnight and from 4:15am.

Room Tip: The apartments are poorly decorated. Prefer the rooms. Avoid the yellow house near the lobby and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Miami River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Miami River Hotel

Address: 437 SW 2nd Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Formerly Miami River Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Miami River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Historic Miami River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Miami River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.