We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice for the price but a little bit of effort and it could be so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Miami River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Historic Miami River Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Miami River Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   437 SW 2nd Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Formerly Miami River Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Miami B&B and Inns
Australia Mauritius
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quite nice for the price but a little bit of effort and it could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

It feels like you are visiting grandma's house. The rooms are clean enough and large enough. The double bed was lumpy and too short for my 6 foot body. Smallest tv I ever saw but at least it worked. A fridge would have really helped and having access to ice would have been great. Walls and floors are very thin. I thought my kids were walking around in the middle of the night but it was the people in the room above. Breakfast was nothing special, but lots of fruit so that suited us well. Girls in the office were fairly rude. A simple "Hello, the one guy that does the booking in will be with you soon" would have gone a long way. Location is excellent though. Right next to downtown Miami. We probably would stay here again mainly because of the price.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room away from the Highway. The whole room shook when ever a truck went past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    47
    34
    20
    26
See reviews for
25
61
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Location is very convenient to go explore Miami.
However, the apartment I stayed in, the facilities and the breakfast are all way below what is acceptable:

- Apartment for 3: sofa bed has no mattress and is split in 2 in the middle (good luck to sleep on that...), no appropriate linen, traces of shoes on pillow case, dining table big enough for 1 person, no bar & no hanger in the closet, no chest of drawers or anything to store clothes, no desk, 2 minuscule frying pans as cooking equipment, no shelves in the bathroom (below the sink or on the wall), no extra toilet paper roll, no counter space around the sink, towels taped on the main door window for privacy, swimming pool noisy filtering engine in the open just below the window...

- Breakfast: no freshly baked goods as stated on their website, no continental breakfast as stated everywhere. For breakfast there is: toasting bread, pieces of fruits and coffee, orange juice. No tea, no cereal, no milk, no yogurt, no cheese, no proteins (eggs, sausage, ham, for instance). There is no staff either, therefore no refill (no more fruit after 9am) and the 2 small bins are 200% full within the first hour. BTW, 8am is too late to open for breakfast.

- Swimming pool: clear water but disgustingly dirty pool floor...

The discrepancy between reality and their website is pure crookery. I refused to pay my first night and was moved to another apartment, that was better. Nonetheless, the general deception about pretty much everything, and the indifference from the management, deserve a 1/5 rating.

Note: If you are sensitive to noise, know that this hotel is below the landing & taking off corridor of Miami Airport, the planes fly very low there, and you enjoy the noise until midnight and from 4:15am.

Room Tip: The apartments are poorly decorated. Prefer the rooms. Avoid the yellow house near the lobby and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

When we booked this place over the internet it struck us as a rather charming place and there were good as well as negative reviews so we knew not to expect a first class hotel. Well, we experienced both the bad and the good. Upon arrival the first impression of the grounds was good and a friendly person checked us in. Key in hand we proceeded to our room in the blue building and walked out just as fast as we walked in. Not only was the room unsuitable TINY , there was mold everywhere. The person at the reception had no authority to make my changes and we had to wait over an hour for someone to finally arrive and approve another room in another ( yellow ) building. This property seems to be under construction and if you are lucky you get a room in one of the renovated buildings , which are fine. The pool area is lovely and relaxing after a day of sightseeing or to have breakfast in the morning. The house keeping staff is very friendly, which is more than can be said for the girls "working" in the office. The fenced compound setting is ideal for parking and security and the location is very convenient.

Room Tip: Beware of the blue building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here twice while in Miami, once for two nights and another for four nights. Place was ok if you overlook the really grungy and moldy bathrooms. On our four night stay they never changed the bath towels once. We could have overlooked that but they didn't provide any hand towels or face clothes. We asked four times for hand towels but none were ever supplied. Assumed they didn't understand us or they just don't supply them. Overall the room needed a really good cleaning, although the rest of the site was well maintained. Only the central areas are air condidtioned so if it's hot, the rooms are a bit uncomfortable. They seem really helpful but didn't deliver on much. Always smiling and saying yes but doing nothing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor, it will be cooler in hot weather as the rooms are not air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a one night stay at Miami River Inn and loved our time. Front desk was helpful getting situated in town and called us a cab. Comfortable rooms with a antique quaint feel made us at home and love our nights stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night before a cruise. Hotel was very clean but is old and does have an old smell and feel to it. The service was excellent. The grounds were nice and very well maintained. The price was reasonable at $100. It is not in the best area. The cab driver told us it is one of the worst areas of Miami but that a lot of tourists stay there (likely because the rates are reasonnable). Compliamentary breakfast was included.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The price and central to downtown location area are good and the place has potential but it has seen better days. Carpets and chairs are soiled; shades and curtains are broken; decent lighting is needed and the place needs to be scrubbed. But the people are friendly and helpful and it looks like they are working toward upgrading the place.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Miami River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Miami River Hotel

Address: 437 SW 2nd Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Formerly Miami River Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Miami River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Historic Miami River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Miami River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.