We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Miami River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Historic Miami River Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Miami River Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   437 SW 2nd Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Formerly Miami River Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Miami B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Reasonable priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

When we booked this place over the internet it struck us as a rather charming place and there were good as well as negative reviews so we knew not to expect a first class hotel. Well, we experienced both the bad and the good. Upon arrival the first impression of the grounds was good and a friendly person checked us in. Key in hand we proceeded to our room in the blue building and walked out just as fast as we walked in. Not only was the room unsuitable TINY , there was mold everywhere. The person at the reception had no authority to make my changes and we had to wait over an hour for someone to finally arrive and approve another room in another ( yellow ) building. This property seems to be under construction and if you are lucky you get a room in one of the renovated buildings , which are fine. The pool area is lovely and relaxing after a day of sightseeing or to have breakfast in the morning. The house keeping staff is very friendly, which is more than can be said for the girls "working" in the office. The fenced compound setting is ideal for parking and security and the location is very convenient.

Room Tip: Beware of the blue building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    67
    65
    33
    49
See reviews for
43
99
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here twice while in Miami, once for two nights and another for four nights. Place was ok if you overlook the really grungy and moldy bathrooms. On our four night stay they never changed the bath towels once. We could have overlooked that but they didn't provide any hand towels or face clothes. We asked four times for hand towels but none were ever supplied. Assumed they didn't understand us or they just don't supply them. Overall the room needed a really good cleaning, although the rest of the site was well maintained. Only the central areas are air condidtioned so if it's hot, the rooms are a bit uncomfortable. They seem really helpful but didn't deliver on much. Always smiling and saying yes but doing nothing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor, it will be cooler in hot weather as the rooms are not air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a one night stay at Miami River Inn and loved our time. Front desk was helpful getting situated in town and called us a cab. Comfortable rooms with a antique quaint feel made us at home and love our nights stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night before a cruise. Hotel was very clean but is old and does have an old smell and feel to it. The service was excellent. The grounds were nice and very well maintained. The price was reasonable at $100. It is not in the best area. The cab driver told us it is one of the worst areas of Miami but that a lot of tourists stay there (likely because the rates are reasonnable). Compliamentary breakfast was included.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The price and central to downtown location area are good and the place has potential but it has seen better days. Carpets and chairs are soiled; shades and curtains are broken; decent lighting is needed and the place needs to be scrubbed. But the people are friendly and helpful and it looks like they are working toward upgrading the place.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel listed as National register of historic places. Nice hotel, but it looks that it has "sleepy (or lazy) manages". Its not run efficiently: they run cooling system to make houses cold and at same time doors to over house was most time open, they don't close properly. Why management make sure that doors work properly and hotel energy is used efficiently. Room was not very clean. Breakfast was ok, it was nice to have good orange juice. This hotel has free places to pack car.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This week we travelled to Miami for a few days. We arrived at this 'hotel' to be greeted by two not very helpful receptionists - not usual in the US. I realise it wasn't the Ritz, but, I was appalled to find it so run down. (1)The room was supposed to have a work station, this was an old Singer treadle sewing machine (2) there was one bedside lamp, which had been taped up, this was dangerous an its was the only light in the room, the overhead light had been taped up (3) the bed was not a queen it was 4'6" (4) air conditioning was a fan in the ceiling (5) as for antique furniture - it should have been put on a dump (6) the bathroom was very shabby and clearly not very clean.
Our experience left a lot to be desired - infact, we returned to Siesta Key the next day instead of spending more time in the area. We have been to Florida many times and this year one of the things we really wanted to do was Miami and The Keys.
We are both well travelled around the world and this is the first time we have felt that we needed to put any information on tripadvisor. It is certainly the worse hotel experience we have had in the US - once again, I know it wasn't the Ritz - but!!!

Room Tip: I wouldn't advise anyone to book into this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#38 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Coconut Grove
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Miami River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Miami River Hotel

Address: 437 SW 2nd Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Formerly Miami River Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Miami River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Historic Miami River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Miami River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.