We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay & Nice Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Miami River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Historic Miami River Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Miami River Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   437 SW 2nd Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Formerly Miami River Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Miami B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay & Nice Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a one night stay at Miami River Inn and loved our time. Front desk was helpful getting situated in town and called us a cab. Comfortable rooms with a antique quaint feel made us at home and love our nights stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    67
    64
    33
    48
See reviews for
43
98
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night before a cruise. Hotel was very clean but is old and does have an old smell and feel to it. The service was excellent. The grounds were nice and very well maintained. The price was reasonable at $100. It is not in the best area. The cab driver told us it is one of the worst areas of Miami but that a lot of tourists stay there (likely because the rates are reasonnable). Compliamentary breakfast was included.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The price and central to downtown location area are good and the place has potential but it has seen better days. Carpets and chairs are soiled; shades and curtains are broken; decent lighting is needed and the place needs to be scrubbed. But the people are friendly and helpful and it looks like they are working toward upgrading the place.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel listed as National register of historic places. Nice hotel, but it looks that it has "sleepy (or lazy) manages". Its not run efficiently: they run cooling system to make houses cold and at same time doors to over house was most time open, they don't close properly. Why management make sure that doors work properly and hotel energy is used efficiently. Room was not very clean. Breakfast was ok, it was nice to have good orange juice. This hotel has free places to pack car.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This week we travelled to Miami for a few days. We arrived at this 'hotel' to be greeted by two not very helpful receptionists - not usual in the US. I realise it wasn't the Ritz, but, I was appalled to find it so run down. (1)The room was supposed to have a work station, this was an old Singer treadle sewing machine (2) there was one bedside lamp, which had been taped up, this was dangerous an its was the only light in the room, the overhead light had been taped up (3) the bed was not a queen it was 4'6" (4) air conditioning was a fan in the ceiling (5) as for antique furniture - it should have been put on a dump (6) the bathroom was very shabby and clearly not very clean.
Our experience left a lot to be desired - infact, we returned to Siesta Key the next day instead of spending more time in the area. We have been to Florida many times and this year one of the things we really wanted to do was Miami and The Keys.
We are both well travelled around the world and this is the first time we have felt that we needed to put any information on tripadvisor. It is certainly the worse hotel experience we have had in the US - once again, I know it wasn't the Ritz - but!!!

Room Tip: I wouldn't advise anyone to book into this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Excellent location with gated parking lot. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The cabin-style is different to what we are used to at walking distance of downtown. The cold breakfast gives you an opportunity to meet other guests. Over all we had a very good stay at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: .We had a room next to the inner courtyard and we liked a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Beautiful classical hotel, wonderfully preserved and decorated

the staff is great and it is a small oasis of tranquility and confort in Little Havana

if you are looking for a cozy and full of character place, this hotel is a must

The neighborhood is quiet and nice, we had no problem at all, even when we walked to the hotel past 10 PM from Government Center

Room Tip: I only visited rooms 30 and 14, they are lovely in their own right
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#36 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Aloft Miami Brickell
Aloft Miami Brickell
#46 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Miami River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Miami River Hotel

Address: 437 SW 2nd Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Formerly Miami River Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Miami River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Historic Miami River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Miami River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.