We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at the Miami River Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Miami River Hotel

Save Saved
You added Historic Miami River Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Miami River Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   437 SW 2nd Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Formerly Miami River Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Miami B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay at the Miami River Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Inn. The staff was helpful and we enjoyed dinner at Garcia's on the North side of the River, which the host suggested. Bought a nice bottle of wine at the Publix a few blocks away which we enjoyed by the pool before dinner. There are some cats. Some are pets of the residents that live in the apartments in the compound. Some are most likely strays that frequent the lobster and stone crab working fishery across the street. But they are not a problem. The hotel is a bit of Old Florida and is located in a working class neighborhood that appears to be under going gentrification.
You should plan to arrive before sunset so you can get a key to your room and the main gate to the compound. You also will want to leave plenty of time for your departure due to the logistics of getting your car out and returning they key.
Over all we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    44
    30
    20
    23
See reviews for
23
57
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Springs, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a great place if you want to visit a bit of Miami's early history. It is located near the River but has no direct access. The Inn is actually a compound of several buildings with a pool and gardens. Although close to the expressway, we did not experience any traffic noise. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the furnishings appropriate to the time period that the Inn represents. It is a step back into Miami's earlier times and might best be described as quaint. The location is very near to the Mary Brickell Village area which is a vibrant dining and nightlife area. There are several fine restaurants within walking distance. We also walked over to the Miami Circle which is located just off the Brickell Avenue bridge and was nicely lit for an evening stroll.
We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it for a different kind of Miami experience.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is located nicely and has a wonderful ambiance - as if it came from a Garcia Marquez novel. It is clean and people are helpful. However, there is two problems - The bed was extremely used so we ended up with aching backs. Also, the place is not well isolated - so you would hear people speaking in the hallway when being in the room - and vice versa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I checked in the evening of October 18th and the Inn looked abandoned (sign was hanging and some letters were missing). There were more than 100 stray cats outside of this location. When I initially entered, the place smelled like urine. No TV in the room. When the 17 year old girl who was at the desk showed us the pool area (mold all around it along with the hot tub) and the eating kitchen where the continental breakfast would be served had huge ants outside the door and crawling up the wall. My son and I went for a walk that evening to look for a store and one block up there was hobo taking a bath down to his underwear with a water jug. The area was not a good area. The next morning when I woke up there was a milipede (looked like a small snake) in the shower. I did not sleep under the bedding because at this point I was scared. There were repairs in the wall that needed badly repaired. I was disappointed and I did not sleep that night. I hope things improve for any future guests!!

Room Tip: Repair inside and out, Get rid of the bugs. Cannot change the location which is not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The B&B is located in 'Little Havana' in Miami it is surrounded by an iron fence and you must call someone to unlock the pad lock so you can get in when you first arrive. After that you have a key and have to get out of the car, unlock the padlock drive your car through and get out of the car to lock it again. The area is very rough with gang graffiti on the street signs, so its not a great feeling being outside of your car at night. My first room had carpenter ants crawling on the walls and floor, so I was moved to a second room. I felt itchy during the night and the next morning I found a small, brown, hard shelled bug in my bed. A further search of the mattress revealed no infestations, but I was still upset, the Manager said he would investigate. They moved me to a third room, spent the 2nd night in that room and was awaken at 4:00A.M. by cats fighting outside my window. The property contains many stray and sick looking cats wondering around. I did not see any cats inside the Inn, but saw cat hair and fur balls on the carpet. The place needs a great deal of cleaning, maintenance and better management. I would never recommend this Inn as a place to stay no matter what the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Ok Ive read several several reviews and am alittle disappointed in some of the reasons that people wouldnt stay here again. I actually live a few blocks away and stay here as an escape to the busy city life....For those who say the neighborhood is "rough" are probably little rich people who get scared of their own shadow, the homeless people outside are usually extremely drunk and can barely stand up half the time and if you give them a dollar they make sure no one messes with your car (i buy a six pack and let them share it) they watch my car.....the lobster/crab shack across the street has an opening next to it to go to a nice sitting area that you can see the river or you can go like a block away to the park which the whole thing sits on the river theres a bar/grill a few blocks down (finnegans on the river) very nice place to hang out when not at the inn. i agree the breakfast sucks but HELLO YOUR IN MIAMI great food everywhere! the people who cant look past the "cats" and extremely old building should have just spent the money the obviously have instead of trying to be cheap and then crying that the place isnt what the expected!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and were ready for a good night sleep. Unfortunately, when we got to our room and sat down we were attacked by fleas, not just one or two but a bunch. We did manage to get moved to another room in another building and only killed a few fleas - probably on our clothes from that first room.

This place is dirty, carpets stained, crud on the floors and corners in the bathroom, light bulbs missing from the lamps and cracked walls and ceilings, not to mention the traffic from the elevated bridge right outside our window - 15 feet...

Breakfast left a lot to be desired - generic yogurt, rcie crispies and corn flakes, big bowl of grape jelly, no jam, marmalade, etc. Got to say that the home made nut bread was pretty good. Cats were everywhere - rubbing all over us when we were outside eating breakfast.

Bottom line, we got what we paid for. We should have paid an additional $10 for a hotel.

Room Tip: try a different location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Miami River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Miami River Hotel

Address: 437 SW 2nd Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Formerly Miami River Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Miami River Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Historic Miami River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Miami River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.