We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room but very bad bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Miami River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Miami River Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Miami River Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   437 SW 2nd Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Formerly Miami River Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Miami B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic room but very bad bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is located nicely and has a wonderful ambiance - as if it came from a Garcia Marquez novel. It is clean and people are helpful. However, there is two problems - The bed was extremely used so we ended up with aching backs. Also, the place is not well isolated - so you would hear people speaking in the hallway when being in the room - and vice versa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    39
    21
    27
See reviews for
25
67
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hummelstown
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I checked in the evening of October 18th and the Inn looked abandoned (sign was hanging and some letters were missing). There were more than 100 stray cats outside of this location. When I initially entered, the place smelled like urine. No TV in the room. When the 17 year old girl who was at the desk showed us the pool area (mold all around it along with the hot tub) and the eating kitchen where the continental breakfast would be served had huge ants outside the door and crawling up the wall. My son and I went for a walk that evening to look for a store and one block up there was hobo taking a bath down to his underwear with a water jug. The area was not a good area. The next morning when I woke up there was a milipede (looked like a small snake) in the shower. I did not sleep under the bedding because at this point I was scared. There were repairs in the wall that needed badly repaired. I was disappointed and I did not sleep that night. I hope things improve for any future guests!!

Room Tip: Repair inside and out, Get rid of the bugs. Cannot change the location which is not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The B&B is located in 'Little Havana' in Miami it is surrounded by an iron fence and you must call someone to unlock the pad lock so you can get in when you first arrive. After that you have a key and have to get out of the car, unlock the padlock drive your car through and get out of the car to lock it again. The area is very rough with gang graffiti on the street signs, so its not a great feeling being outside of your car at night. My first room had carpenter ants crawling on the walls and floor, so I was moved to a second room. I felt itchy during the night and the next morning I found a small, brown, hard shelled bug in my bed. A further search of the mattress revealed no infestations, but I was still upset, the Manager said he would investigate. They moved me to a third room, spent the 2nd night in that room and was awaken at 4:00A.M. by cats fighting outside my window. The property contains many stray and sick looking cats wondering around. I did not see any cats inside the Inn, but saw cat hair and fur balls on the carpet. The place needs a great deal of cleaning, maintenance and better management. I would never recommend this Inn as a place to stay no matter what the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Ok Ive read several several reviews and am alittle disappointed in some of the reasons that people wouldnt stay here again. I actually live a few blocks away and stay here as an escape to the busy city life....For those who say the neighborhood is "rough" are probably little rich people who get scared of their own shadow, the homeless people outside are usually extremely drunk and can barely stand up half the time and if you give them a dollar they make sure no one messes with your car (i buy a six pack and let them share it) they watch my car.....the lobster/crab shack across the street has an opening next to it to go to a nice sitting area that you can see the river or you can go like a block away to the park which the whole thing sits on the river theres a bar/grill a few blocks down (finnegans on the river) very nice place to hang out when not at the inn. i agree the breakfast sucks but HELLO YOUR IN MIAMI great food everywhere! the people who cant look past the "cats" and extremely old building should have just spent the money the obviously have instead of trying to be cheap and then crying that the place isnt what the expected!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and were ready for a good night sleep. Unfortunately, when we got to our room and sat down we were attacked by fleas, not just one or two but a bunch. We did manage to get moved to another room in another building and only killed a few fleas - probably on our clothes from that first room.

This place is dirty, carpets stained, crud on the floors and corners in the bathroom, light bulbs missing from the lamps and cracked walls and ceilings, not to mention the traffic from the elevated bridge right outside our window - 15 feet...

Breakfast left a lot to be desired - generic yogurt, rcie crispies and corn flakes, big bowl of grape jelly, no jam, marmalade, etc. Got to say that the home made nut bread was pretty good. Cats were everywhere - rubbing all over us when we were outside eating breakfast.

Bottom line, we got what we paid for. We should have paid an additional $10 for a hotel.

Room Tip: try a different location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere different away from South Beach and like funky vintage then this is a great place to stay. It's helpful if you have a navigation system as it's a little tough to find at night. Old fashioned charm and a real historic group of buildings which is very rare these days. Beautiful grounds in a compound which is safe as you are near a very poor neighborhood. Never had a problem over the several years I've stayed there.
Why pay $300 a night when you can stay in Miami for half that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

After the crowds, traffic, and noise around Miami, the Miami River Inn was a wonderful surprise! Set into a lively neighborhood and close to the Miami River, with a park nearby and some very good restaurants within walking distance, the Inn is a quiet oasis of older, well kept buildings surrounding a lush tropical garden. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, our rooms were well appointed, comfortable, and clean, the kids loved chasing lizards around the grounds, and the cats reminded us of Hemingway's Key West. Though full, as evidenced by the number of guests (from around the US and the world!) that we met either at the lovely breakfast served in the garden or later in the day during our daily swim in the pool, we felt as if we had the place to ourselves. Thanks to the staff for their recommendations, as the eating establishments and activities suggested only added to our visit. Walking over the drawer bridge and traveling on the "people-mover" (worth the ride just for the sights, particularly the lights of the city at night) added to our fun and we would have missed both (and a few great meals) without their suggestions. We will definately visit again.... we loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Miami River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Miami River Hotel

Address: 437 SW 2nd Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Formerly Miami River Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Miami River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Historic Miami River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Miami River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.