We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ceviche to die for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill

Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill
3067 Grand Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)
+1 305-444-0216
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 3,717 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Coconut Grove
Cross street: Matilda Street
Oregon, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ceviche to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We loved the food and the personal service they offer. Lovely clean restaurant with delicious food and good prices for Miami. You must try this restaurant if you are in Coconut Grove. Very relaxing atmosphere and easy find.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    183
    48
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Ceviche was okay, other stuff better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We've eaten ceviche in many places, all over North America and we often make our own. Notwithstanding the name, Jaguar's ceviches were good but not outstanding. We tasted 6 of the available 9 varieties and while a number of them were very interesting (particularly the swordfish), none of them made us sit up and take notice.

On the other hand, some of the other food was outstanding. The grilled octopus was superb - among the best I've ever had. And the salsa and chips were very different, and super-tasty, albeit pretty spicy.

Service was prompt and helpful, and the Sangria was particularly excellent - something I can't say about a lot of other places.

Finally, the restaurant is extremely popular, busy and noisy. If you want an intimate dinner - go somewhere else. On the other hand, for a fun evening with friends and good food, we'd highly recommend Jaguar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful ceviche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I loved this place the service was wonderful and the ceviche outstanding. We hit happy hour by accident and were pleasantly surprised at the selection on the menu. Would highly recommend.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“3 visits in two days…….”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Coconut Grove has a village like feel to it with lots of little restaurants, shops, and bars crowding the streets. It's very walkable, so our first night, fresh off a plane from London we wandered out of our hotel to find a bit of dinner. Within a block or so we spotted what looked like a restaurant with tables spilling out onto the pavement, lit with welcoming fairy lights and headed that way. As it was a warm evening we opted to sit outside. The food is Latin and Mexican in influence, with ceviche being a house specialty. I opted for the Oriental Tuna Ceviche. Fresh from the sea sashimi grade tuna with avocado, cilantro, scallion, soy sauce, jalapenoes….best ceviche I have ever had. My husband had grilled salmon with black beans and rice. It was so good we took my sister there for lunch the next two afternoons! Believe it or not, I stuck with ceviche every time we went, but tried the crab and corn cakes, some seafood tacos and a mango salad, all sensational. Service was good, but nothing special, but the food and drink more than made up for it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow, the reviews nailed this place. Very good place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We ate here Jan 3rd based upon the recent tripadvisor reviews.

We were very impressed. We had a lunch fish sandwich and salad with 2 spoons. Kids had kids meals. The sandwiches and salads were wonderful, filled with flavor, and fine portions. The spoons were delicious. I wish i ordered a larger portion of the ceviche.

Prices are premium, meaning that they are proud of their creations. But i was satisfied with the quality they served and walked away full.

Great choice if you are in area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.