We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“near our cruise ship” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Miami Sun Hotel to your Saves list
Miami Sun Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 NE 1st Avenue, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“near our cruise ship”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

The lobby was nice. The room was very plain but clean. The two women at the front desk were very helpful and made our stay OK. It was only for one night before the cruise we were taking. Why spend more money just to skeep.

Room Tip: The cab driver from the airport tried to rip us off. Make sure u get a flat rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    14
    13
    82
See reviews for
11
46
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

I had serious doubts about how clean the place was. The window and room looked rundown, only the lobby is nice and some of the staff were nice but the rest is not good. The elevator seems that its going to break down at any moment, it was scary. I couldnt wait to get out of there, to be honest.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I was recently in Miami for the Phish New Year's Eve Run and I can't say anything terrible about this place! It is in a wonderful location, the rooms are extremely small, but if you're only sleeping there...no big deal! The daytime desk clerk is such a lovely peraon, she was so welcoming! Every hotel could always be a little cleaner, but these people tried their best! I thank you for having a great place to stay for one of the best weekends of my life! Cheers!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

I stayed at this hotel last week. I can tolerate basically anything, but this hotel has bed bugs. The beds are not only horribly uncomfortable (they squeak every time you move), but there are bed bugs. We stayed there two nights. It's definitely one of the cheapest options in Miami, but I would not recommend it unless you are willing to deal with bed bug bites. The location is very good; there are homeless people nearby but that is to expect in Miami. The wifi worked well in our room on the second floor (didn't work in the lobby). The bathroom had a toilet and a shower (shower was updated but very small, someone over 200 pounds probably wouldn't fit). The bathroom door also didn't have a lock. The sink was in the room. One window was painted shut. The other opened but looked like the glass could fall out any second. The room was very small; just two twin beds & a small table, mini fridge & microwave. We layered the beds with 6 layers of sheets and slept in long clothes but we were still horribly bitten. When we approached one of the ladies at the reception desk for more sheets she told us "we ain't got a problem with no bed bugs" Unfortunately, yes there is a problem with bed bugs.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

This hotel, is extremely straight forward with what you pay for. It is, a cheap hotel downtown. As a young adult, it was perfect for me and my friends who were on a budget.

Although the bathroom was small, it was clean, and seemed to be redone recently. The shower head was brand new.

We booked a room with one double bed, which was broken, but I didn't have trouble sleeping any nights. There also was enough floor space for two other friends to sleep in our room some nights during our 4 day stay.

The women who worked the front desk were awesome, and help us avoid the 40 dollar a day lot fee for parking next door. Right across the street is a parking garage she told us to utilize, and we ended up paying 40 dollars for our entire 4 day stay.

Most of the pictures posted for this hotel are not up to date at all. The lobby and outside of the hotel has been redone. The rooms also seem to have been redone as well.


Honestly my worst experience was with the elevator which simply took awhile and was outdated.


In addition, LOCATION was amazing. We were able to walk anywhere we needed. Although the area felt somewhat dangerous at times, people kept to themselves, and it was always safe to walk in pair. As for the homeless people, the entire area surrounding the hotel was populated with them, so it really had nothing to do with the Miami Sun.

All and all this hotel is very straight forward with what you pay for. If you have a higher expectation for a cheap hotel downtown, plan your trip farther in advance to save money and stay at one of the neighboring hotels.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Pretty much everything about the place was terrible.

The problems went from bad to worse:
1. The bathroom was tiny. I'm 110 pounds and I barely fit in the place.
2. The temperature control on the shower was broken. Took a shower for barely a minute before I had to jump out.
3. The fridge door is essentially un-openable. My poor beer and coffees froze after being trapped in the fridge.
4. Parking is available? Complete bull. We paid 40$ for one night to park next to the hotel.
5. Everything about the room was old and filthy with broken furniture.

And if all this isn't bad enough, here's the worst part: BED BUGS.
My entire family woke up the next morning to find ourselves with bed bug bites everywhere.

Ruined our entire vacation did this hotel.

Don't make the mistake we made: don't spend a night in hell.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel unless you hate yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

This was the most horrible experience I have ever had when it comes to Hospitality.

The owner of the hotel Susanne was beyond rude.
She refused to be accommodating what so ever. I wanted to pay with another credit card but she refused saying that if she will do that, she will charge me a $100 fee for the change!!!
Is that even legal?

Stay far far away from this place unless you want to deal with emotional blackmailing and insults

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Sun Hotel

Address: 226 NE 1st Avenue, Miami, FL 33132
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Miami Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An economy Hotel located in Downtown Miami. The Miami Sun Hotel is located 2 Blocks from Bayside Market, Hard Rock Cafe, American Airlines Arena, Bayfront Park and the Port of Miami. The Miami Sun Hotel is just 8 miles from South Beach, steps away from shopping, the "Diamond" District/Seybold Building, Courthouses, Miami Art Museum and centrally located to access other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Miami Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.