We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT for Ultra & Miami Music Week on a budget!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Sun Hotel

Save Saved
You added Miami Sun Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miami Sun Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 NE 1st Avenue, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 130 hotels in Miami
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“PERFECT for Ultra & Miami Music Week on a budget!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Compared to the price of any other hotel in Miami this is worth it! You get what you pay for here, so don't expect room service and fancy hotel rooms! For the amount of time you will be in the room the price is awesome!

The hotel doesn't care if extra people stay in your room, and there is no complaints for partying - why would you want to stay ANYWHERE ELSE (Unless your rich and cost of room doesn't matter)

As for the reviews about the bad neighborhood - your in downtown Miami what part of town did you want to stay in? Honestly though my whole time in Miami (9 days) I never once felt scared for my life walking around downtown Miami at night sometimes by my self!!!!

BEST PART - it was 3 blocks from the Ultra Music Festival grounds, and super close to some of the best Miami Music week parties (walking distance because you WILL NOT get a cab in Miami that week!)

Basic Room - Awesome Personable Service - Crap load of money saved on Hotel - WIN!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    11
    9
    67
See reviews for
9
40
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

do not stay at this hotel. I was there only for one night and five days later I am covered, absolutely covered with bed bug bites! I had to throw away my luggage and get everything i owned cleaned and treated. Do not stay here, even if you already booked.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the world over
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I just called this hotel to ask for a late check in since my flight was getting in late. The manager on duty said not with out 48 hour notice, I booked the hotel yesterday.She then informed me that if I am not there by 6pm she will cancel my reservation and still bill me the 70 dollars for the room that she said she will sell to someone else tonight. Please fill this page with Appropriate reviews.

I am Livid...

Room Tip: Pay ten bucks more go anywhere else this place is ran by lawyers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The dirtiest, smallest rooms, very very bad condition.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miami Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Sun Hotel

Address: 226 NE 1st Avenue, Miami, FL 33132
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Miami Sun Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An economy Hotel located in Downtown Miami. The Miami Sun Hotel is located 2 Blocks from Bayside Market, Hard Rock Cafe, American Airlines Arena, Bayfront Park and the Port of Miami. The Miami Sun Hotel is just 8 miles from South Beach, steps away from shopping, the "Diamond" District/Seybold Building, Courthouses, Miami Art Museum and centrally located to access other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, Tingo, Budget Places, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Miami Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.