We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is great, besides short menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Houston's

Houston's
17355 Biscayne Blvd., Miami, FL 33160
305-947-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 3,659 Restaurants in Miami
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything is great, besides short menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I am a frequent at the Coral Gables location, this location doesnt have sushi. Still great quality food. The water view is very nice. Very hard to get a table on weekend nights but it is worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    89
    23
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Mandatory Stop in North Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I always go to Houston's when in Miami and have never been disappointed.
They seem to be able to maintain their quality of food and service year in and year out.
Try the Ribs and try their 1/2 chicken. Both are great as are their steaks and when they have it on the menu, the pork chop.
Reasonable price.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mediocre Steak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

To be a ( very expensive ) Steak House, the Menu and the quality of the food is mediocre...
Not even a T-BONE is available !

I am Italian... ( on vacation...) I wonder why the place was PACKED !
Probably beacause most of people have not taste at all .. I know it...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“First time to Houston's did not meet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I've visited my fair share of upscale restaurants and had really high expectations for my first visit to Houston's from everything I've been told. Unfortunately, the experience simply did not live up to those expectations. I visited with my father and brother on a Wednesday night in the middle of Summer and it was PACKED! Over an hour and 15 minutes wait at 7pm for 3 people. The bar area near the hostess was also absolutely packed for happy hour. One of the first things I noticed was how loud the place is. The dining hall and the bar area are not separated from each other so the overall noise becomes too much for an upscale establishment.

Once we were finally seated, we began with the Chicago-style Spinach Dip with salsa and warm tortilla chips. The spinach dip was truly delicious and had the perfect consistency. For an entree I ordered the Hawaiian Rib-Eye with pineapple sesame ginger marinade. I asked for medium heat but was brought medium-rate heat. Considering that I had already waited so long to be seated and for the food to come, I simply made do and enjoyed it. The delicious marinade was enough to make me forget the medium-rare aspect. While I enjoyed the steak, it was on par with any casual dining steak. Nothing to blow me away or live up to an upscale experience. For dessert we shared the delicious Warm Five-Nut Brownie.

One aspect of the visit to Houston's that really left me sour was the poor service. Our waitress was rather nonexistent throughout the meal. She never came over to refill our waters or bring us bread before the meal. After the entrees were brought over, she never came to check on us and see if we needed anything. It seems like the staff were given too many tables to deal with and simply couldn't handle it. I'm accustomed to the staff experience at places like Texas de Brazil where your glass never goes empty and plates are cleared promptly

Considering the $$$ price for Houston's, I unfortunately have to say it wasn't worth it. The experience did not live up to all the hype. I much rather prefer Cheesecake Factory where you get very good service (almost always) and great food. For great steak and great service, I'll stick with Texas de Brazil.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Prime Rib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I went to Houstons at Aventura, nice place amazing bay view, reslly nice and professional service andvthe great moment of the night, THE DELICIOUS PRIME RIB!!! Dessert is not that good but i ranked with 5 Stars

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston's also viewed

 

Been to Houston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.