We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They put the GRAND in Grand Opera!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Grand Opera

Florida Grand Opera
8390 NW 25th Street, Doral Education Center, Miami, FL 33145
+1 305-854-1643
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 120 Attractions in Miami
Type: Operas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Florida Grand Opera, celebrating its 73rd season, stands as one of the most established performing arts organizations in Florida.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“They put the GRAND in Grand Opera!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are in Miami during opera season (November-April), try to catch one of the productions. They are excellent and bring in some of the top opera talent in the world.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cultural”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very beautiful theater with nice view from most of the seats. Definitely recomend center orchestra if you want the full experience.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“BRAVO!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I must preface my review by stating that I am not an opera expert just an opera lover. I ENJOY the entire experience.......the gifting of the composers, the amazing music, the talented performers, the creativity of the sets.........some are more elaborate, others simpler, some are tragic and some are funny........but the wonderment of the experience never wears out for me.

My aunt and I have been season subscribers of FGO for close to six years now. Our first experience with opera here in Miami was while the productions were still being presented at the Dade County Auditorium where we enjoyed a wonderful presentation of Carmen. Then in 2006. the new opera house was inaugurated as the new home for FGO.

The Sanford and Dolores Ziff Opera House is not the Metropolitan in NYC but I wholeheartedly applaud FGO's attempts at bringing opera to Miami. Seasoned opera connoisseurs may disagree with me but I so enjoy my novice forays into the world of opera. Absolutely, the cost of construction was over the top, exceeding the initial budget and the building is not without it's issues but I still celebrate having opera here in Miami.

LAstly, the pre-production presentations by Justin Moss are a must! He is knowledgeable, witty and delightful to hear, and makes each piece come alive with his descriptions.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A place that adds to Miami's prestige and a beautiful place to visit. Also some people feel it is expensive...NOT TRUE..you can get tickets from $20 to many of their performances.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Spread your wings and try something new. The Florida Grand Opera never disappoints!! It is amazing that Miami offers world class opera. Well done FGO!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Grand Opera also viewed

 

Been to Florida Grand Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Grand Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.