We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRAVO!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Grand Opera

Florida Grand Opera
8390 NW 25th Street, Doral Education Center, Miami, FL 33145
+1 305-854-1643
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 123 attractions in Miami
Type: Operas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Florida Grand Opera, celebrating its 73rd season, stands as one of the most established performing arts organizations in Florida.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“BRAVO!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I must preface my review by stating that I am not an opera expert just an opera lover. I ENJOY the entire experience.......the gifting of the composers, the amazing music, the talented performers, the creativity of the sets.........some are more elaborate, others simpler, some are tragic and some are funny........but the wonderment of the experience never wears out for me.

My aunt and I have been season subscribers of FGO for close to six years now. Our first experience with opera here in Miami was while the productions were still being presented at the Dade County Auditorium where we enjoyed a wonderful presentation of Carmen. Then in 2006. the new opera house was inaugurated as the new home for FGO.

The Sanford and Dolores Ziff Opera House is not the Metropolitan in NYC but I wholeheartedly applaud FGO's attempts at bringing opera to Miami. Seasoned opera connoisseurs may disagree with me but I so enjoy my novice forays into the world of opera. Absolutely, the cost of construction was over the top, exceeding the initial budget and the building is not without it's issues but I still celebrate having opera here in Miami.

LAstly, the pre-production presentations by Justin Moss are a must! He is knowledgeable, witty and delightful to hear, and makes each piece come alive with his descriptions.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A place that adds to Miami's prestige and a beautiful place to visit. Also some people feel it is expensive...NOT TRUE..you can get tickets from $20 to many of their performances.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Spread your wings and try something new. The Florida Grand Opera never disappoints!! It is amazing that Miami offers world class opera. Well done FGO!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Romeo & Juliette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great venue, Great performance! Buy a subscription for as little as $10-12 per performance!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not always for real Opera lovers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

FGO, like much of the art scene in Miami, is suffering from under-funding. Many of the performances were superb productions with near top level performers, but the temperamental Miami audience does not seem to appreciate some of the more adventurous productions. The retirement of the tireless long time master, will undoubtedly make significant changes....time will tell how. The controversially named "Opera House" is a remarkably unremarkable incredibly costly building with shoddy finishes and materials, the overpowering garish curtain and cheap lighting may be appreciated by "Music Hall" or burlesque audiences.Unfortunately the building and its gauche name detract from being a "GRAND OPERA"

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Grand Opera also viewed

 

Been to Florida Grand Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Grand Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Florida Grand Opera to your Saves list
;