We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great place for music lovers in Miami Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe

Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe
846 Lincoln Rd, South Beach, Miami, FL 33139 (Downtown)
1-305-534-3600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 104 Nightlife in Miami
Type: Jazz Bars, Bars
Attraction details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Really great place for music lovers in Miami Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We've been coming to the Van Dyke since 2008. There's a lot of live music in SoBe but this is a little different.
The Van Dyke is housed in one of the prettier buildings on Lincoln Road and is a popular restaurant in it's own right. Upstairs though, it's a music lounge - a sort of chilled out Ronnie Scott's (if you've been there). There is a live act on most nights and it's mostly jazz influenced. Shows are usually 9pm 'till late but people drift in and out often staying an hour or two. We're keen so we always stay for the whole show.
You don't get tickets, just show up. It's not large but you can get a table and sit all night or just stand at the bar. They serve food also and this is a good idea if you are intending to stay a while. There is no cover charge as such but they charge $5 per head if you get table service. Absolute peanuts compared to the quality of the shows.
We've always had a great time here. If you like a little soul and R & B, try to see Maryel Epps. We've seen her twice here and can't believe such a great performer plays such an intimate venue.
This really is a genuine venue for music lovers. It's fun ('cos it's Miami !)but you never feel taken advantage of. The food's good too. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    0
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Friendly music club.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Enjoyed our evening in this small friendly music club. Excellent bands and very reasonable $5.00 cover charge for table seating and drinks prices . We did not eat but saw that the food looked good also. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great music upstairs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I did't ate here, just came for the music. I heard there's some great blues and jazz band here every evening and thought to check it out.
It was amazing, besides paying $5 each person to sit down at a table. But after a night drinking and enjoying the great band of Biscuit Miller, the bill wasn't so bad after all. The restrooms were ok, and the variety of drinks very well. I even saw that there was still food coming out of the kitchen at 10.30 pm!

If you're around and want to hang somewhere different that the 'hipsters', make sure to come here!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Food Great Service and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a great place. We happened upon this place by mistake. What fun. Terrific for people watching. Had a MedSampler dish with Humus and Veggies and was enough for 2. Beer was great, service was superb, and prices were reasonable for South Beach! FUN FUN FUN...would go back again. Thanks for the great dinner, and service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great for people watching!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a place we return to whenever we come to Miami! Van Dykes is situated along Lincoln Boulevard which is perfect for shopping or just strolling along sightseeing. Take a seat outside and enjoy watching Miami at its best....there's plenty to see that's for sure! The food is delicious and the choice is plentiful. Staff very friendly and happy to make recommendations from the menu.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.