We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something on the menu for everyone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe

Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe
846 Lincoln Rd, South Beach, Miami, FL 33139 (Downtown)
1-305-534-3600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 101 nightlife in Miami
Type: Jazz Bars
Attraction Details
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Something on the menu for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

They offer a huge selection including breakfast all day. The middle east platter was delicious and had enough for two to share. The breakfast special was a large portion as well, served with fresh squeezed oj or fresh apple juice. My unexpected favorite was the kids Mac n cheese (tasted from my son's dish). The best I've ever had! Their mojitos are delicious. The jazz/blues band was in the process of setting up and were very nice to let our boys ask them questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect place for a quick bite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

andrew recomended this place it was awesome i lovd there grilled chicken

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding music, cocktails, and chocolate soufflé”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We went to the Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe the night Sammy Figueroa's band performed. What an outstanding evening! The music couldn't have been better! The band truly deserves its Grammy nominations! Since we already had dinner somewhere else, we opted just for cocktails and desert. The cocktails were excellent and the desert, a large chocolate soufflé for two, was absolutely delicious!
Now, the place is not ideal as a venue for music since it was not built for this purpose. The band is crammed in a corner, partly obscured by a large column. Still, the sound is unimpeded since the place is relatively small. The room itself is not oozing elegance either, but the music, the cocktails, and the soufflé more than make up for the shortcomings. Try it. It's worth it!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“(:”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

YUM ate here 3 times!! the fondue is a must! very fresh and the food came very quickly! ENJOY!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food & decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 via mobile

I had lunch here with some friends. The middle eastern platter and spinach/goat cheese salad was delicious. Very nicely decorated and music at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe to your Saves list