We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion Club

Mansion Club
1235 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami, FL 33139
1-305-532-1525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 102 nightlife in Miami
Type: Bar/ Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: http://www.miamibeach411.com/nightlife/mansion.htm
Helsinki
1 review
“Not worth the money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were visiting Mansion during holiday. We met a guy who gave us "free vip bracelets" to the club, and decided to have a look around. The Vip Bracelets turned out to be only a "vip acces" to the club - meaning we didn't have to stand in the queue. The cover charge was 15 dollars for ladies and 30 for guys (bye bye, free night).

Only one of the clubrooms was open, and it was pretty small. Lots of lonely men standing around. We were shouting to each others ears but the music was so loud that it was completely impossible to have any kind of conversation. The music was good, though, thanks to a great DJ.

The credit card minimum charge was 50 dollars, and we decided to get some cash from the ATM (charge was 7 dollars). We ordered 2 beers - 26 dollars. We gave the bartender 40 dollars and got back 5?! When we complained, she said that the receipt was wrong and the beers actually cost 30 dollars and gave us 5 dollars more. Yeah...

The place wasn't crowded at all, it was dark, miserable and way too loud. You can get much better parties for free. The only good thing was a talented DJ.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    43
    24
    17
    39
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A bit expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went to Mansion while being on holidays for our last night in Miami. We are used to good clubs in the UK and really wanted to have a good night.
Hardwell was playing on that Saturday and it was very very cool music... Great entertainment with girls hanging from the ceiling and such... The venue is big and was enough crowded for a good overall feel but the sound system doesn't allow everyone to feel the bass... we were upstairs and the speakers were facing the crowd at the bottom of the club so we didn't have a really good sound in the back.
I think the overall experience would have been great if we didn't have to pay so much money to get in as well as for the drinks. In other words, money really tainted it all! It was one of the most expensive 4 hours of my life.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome NYE party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

An old theater refurbished and revamped to open into a massive dance venue at the heart of South Beach. The balconies wrap around the dance space so everyone can catch a glimpse of the DJ orchestrating the party. NYE tickets were $100 for women and twice that for men, but the dancing girls spinning from hoops dangling above the crowd and beats by Carl Cox made the night one to remember.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“Its a front”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We bum rushed the bouncers once. Four of us made it through the bouncers 40's in hand and all.
It was like an Armand Van Helden video.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kicked the legend DJ Shadow of stage...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I just wanted to salute you for being absolute a-holes! Well done kicking one of the pioneers of the dj-scene off stage, you really outdone yourself...
And btw there's such thing as "too future" music. It might be too experimental for you, but it can never be "too future". The stuff DJ Shadow played is music of the present electronic scene. And as you prob don't know there's more to the electronic scene than just commercial house & trance.
So what's next? Are you hiring all the well known DJs just to have the joy in kicking them off stage? Are you going to kick off Carl Cox too for playing "too future" music too?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mansion Club also viewed

 

Been to Mansion Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.